Whether you were born and raised in the great state of Kansas, or you just moved here yesterday, you’re going to need car insurance. Luckily, you don’t have to break the bank to get it. For cheap car insurance that will cover all of your basic needs, get a free quote from Cheap Insurance.
Quick Kansas Car Insurance Facts
All Kansas drivers need car insurance. There’s no way around it. Here are some quick facts about car insurance in Kansas:
- The average 12-month car insurance premium for Kansas registered vehicles is $1,427.
- Kansas does not use a points system against driver’s licenses for traffic violations. Instead, any individual convicted of three major traffic violations in a 12-month period will automatically have their driver’s license either revoked or suspended.
- The state of Kansas does not require drivers to have collision or comprehensive coverage.
- Estimated annual miles Kansans drive: 29,787,177,000.
- Occupants who use seat belts decreased injury by 30.6%.
- 26% of accidents in the state are caused by inattentiveness.
Minimum Kansas Car Insurance Coverage
It’s important to have insurance to ensure that you are protected in the event of a car accident. However, you may be overpaying for protection that you don’t really need. Cheap Insurance is a licensed car insurance broker that helps you cover all of the basics without overpaying for more.
Kansas state law requires that drivers have a few major types of coverage: bodily injury liability, property damage liability, personal injury protection (PIP or no-fault), and
Let’s examine the minimum requirements for auto insurance according to Kansas state law in more detail:
- Mandatory minimum bodily injury coverage per individual in Kansas is $25,000.
- Mandatory minimum bodily injury coverage per accident in Kansas is $50,000.
- Mandatory minimum property damage coverage per accident in Kansas is $25,000.
Personal Injury Protection:
- $4,500/person for medical expenses
- $900/month for one year for disability/loss of income
- $25/day for in-home services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial, or cremation expenses
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expenses
Uninsured Motorist Protection:
Getting Cheap Car Insurance In Kansas
You know you don’t want to overpay, but how do you go about actually getting cheap car insurance? It’s not as hard as you might imagine. Here are our insider tips to getting car insurance coverage that won’t burn a hole in your wallet:
- Start with the minimum: Understanding your state’s minimum requirements will help to find car insurance that will legally allow you to drive while cutting out the fluff.
- Do your homework: Don’t just go with the first car insurance provider you find on Google. Research many different companies and their rates to find the best price.
- Drive safe: A history of car accidents, speeding tickets, or DUIs will negatively impact your car insurance rate. Drive safely and defensively to qualify for more competitive rates.
Kansas Car Insurance Discounts
Some insurance companies and states offer discounts to military personnel, government employees, and students with good grades. Here are some discounts you may qualify for in the state of Kansas:
- Good Driver: Drivers in Kansas who have clean driving records for the past three to five years qualify for lower rates.
- Good Student: Teens and students under 25 with good academic records may qualify for a discount.
- Defensive Driving Discount: In Kansas, drivers who willingly complete a defensive driving course can get up to 5% off on their insurance.
What is the average car insurance cost in Kansas?
For a minimum liability policy, the average cost is $583 per year. For a full coverage policy, the average cost is $2,043 per year.
How much is car insurance per month in Kansas?
For a minimum liability policy, the average cost is $49 per month. For a full coverage policy, the average cost is $170 per month.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Kansas?
Driving without insurance is a class B misdemeanor that can come with a fine of up to $1,000 and six months in jail for a first offense. Repeated offenses are classified as class A misdemeanors and can come with higher fines, longer jail time, and the loss of one’s driver’s license.
What is driving like in Kansas?
About 10.9% of Kansas drivers were uninsured as of 2019. That same year, Kansas experienced 361 fatal car crashes, 13,353 crashes that caused injury, and 51,205 crashes that only caused property damage.
How can I save money on my car insurance policy in Kansas?
There are tons of ways to save money on your insurance policy. Here are just a few to get you started:
- Talk to your car insurance provider about insuring more than one vehicle for multi-car discounts.
- Figure out which discounts you qualify for.
- See if your car insurance provider gives discounts for having safety features installed in your car.
- Find out if payment installment plans are available.
- Learn about increasing your deductibles to decrease your premium. Based on your situation, this could be right for you.
How do I register my car in Kansas? Kansas titling and registration services are processed at the county treasurer’s motor vehicle office. Be sure to bring a copy of a passed Motor Vehicle Examination inspection and proof of insurance. Property taxes may apply, and vary by county.
Other Types of Coverage
While you must have the minimum state-required coverage to drive, some other types of coverage might be good for you to have. Here are a few different options:
Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMC)/Underinsured Motorist coverage (UIM)
Medical Payments Coverage
Physical Damage Coverage
Additional kinds of coverage
Endorsements and Riders
- Towing and road service
- Rental car reimbursement
- Gap insurance
Cities We Cover In Kansas
Cheap car insurance isn’t a dream, it’s a possibility for you and your family. Cheap Insurance offers affordable coverage for motorists in Kansas. You may be able to get cheap insurance coverage if you live in one of the following cities:
Enter your Zip Code and get a
FREE QUOTE TODAY!