Colorado Insurance Facts
The average 12-month auto insurance premium in Colorado, as of December of 2013 was $1,558. This is slightly higher than the national average, so it pays to search all the options for cheap insurance Colorado offers.
Despite having a universal car insurance requirement, official estimates believe that between 11.5 and 15% of registered Colorado vehicles are uninsured. Penalties range from a minimum of a $500 fine and license suspension to as much as a $1,000 fine, 8-month license suspension and 40 hours of community service.
Home to 5.2 million residents (3.8 million of whom are licensed drivers), Colorado is the 22nd most populous state in the nation, with 61% of its population residing in the Denver-Aurora-Boulder Statistical Area.
There are almost as many cars as there are people! Recent statistics show 4.5 million registered vehicles, which makes sense because so much of the state is rural. If you don’t live in one of the major cities, and need to get anywhere, you’ll need a car.
The Colorado State Patrol, which responds to 30% of all traffic crashes statewide and 70% of all fatal accidents, reported 446 traffic deaths in 2011 (more recent statistics are still being populated). Many highway traffic deaths are attributed to a combination of steep Colorado Rocky Mountain roads and big rigs recklessly traversing the state.
Cheap Car Insurance Facts in Colorado
The average 12-month auto insurance premium in Colorado, as of December of 2013 was $1,558.
Despite having a universal cheap car insurance Colorado requirement, official estimates believe that between 11.5 and 15% of registered Colorado vehicles are uninsured. Penalties range from a minimum of a $500 fine and license suspension to as much as a $1,000 fine, 8-month license suspension and 40 hours of community service.
State Car Insurance Requirements
Did you know?
The Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles operates under the Department of Revenue.
Cheap car insurance Colorado vehicle registrations are conducted by the county DMV offices. A full listing of Title and Registration Offices may be found, alphabetically by county, here.
Registration is required within 60 days of vehicle purchase, or within 90 days of becoming a Colorado resident. Requirements include proof insurance, emissions compliance, a VIN verification, current Colorado vehicle title and payment of taxes and fees.
MADD reported over 25,000 DUI arrests in 2012 (1 for every 150 drivers in the state). Total taxpayer subsidy for drunk driving exceeded $700 million in 2012. Also check what the different penalties by state for driving without insurance.
Penalties for a (first-time) DUI conviction in Colorado include the following:
The Bottom Line
Known for its gorgeous scenery, its many ski/snowboarding resorts, fishing, camping, and panoramic vistas, Colorado attracts millions of tourists each year. And many decide to stay! Colorado’s population has been in steady growth since 1860. To know more about what is the average cost of cheap car insurance Colorado, then you can call to our experts.
If you are a new resident, or have lived in The Centennial State your whole life, it may be time to review your auto insurance. Call us at the number above, or head to one of our city pages below for local help. Either way, you’ll be able to have a licensed professional review your needs or your current policy, and ensure you are paying the lowest possible rates.