Want the cheap car insurance Washington drivers are raving about?
With average insurance about $200 cheaper per year than the national average, Washington can be one of the least expensive places to drive a car. Car insurance Washington state may be as little as $400 yearly.
Still, getting the best deal on Washington car insurance can take some work.
Washington is a “no fault” car insurance state. While that means you are less likely to go to court over a car accident, it also tends to drive up the cost of insurance. To get preferred rates on Washington car insurance, you’ll need to do a little research first.
That starts by understanding exactly what you need and why.
Read on to discover the truth on cheap car insurance Washington saves money with.
How Much Car Insurance Do You Need In Washington State?
With a handful of other states around the country, Washington is a “no fault” car insurance state.
That means you will usually be required to hold some additional car insurance in the form of Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Instead of lodging a claim with the insurance company of whichever driver is at fault for an accident, you always start by making a claim with your own insurance company.
Basic car insurance in Washington state includes:
- Bodily Injury Liability: $25,000 per individual and $50,000 per covered vehicle accident
- Property Damage Liability: A flat $10,000
There are also three other forms of insurance that you can reject by submitting a waiver to your insurer:
- Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury Liability: Same amounts as standard Bodily Injury Liability above
- Underinsured Motorist Property Damage Liability: Same flat $10,000 amount as above
- Basic Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $10,000 per covered vehicle accident, optional
Washington stands out among no fault insurance states by allowing drivers to reject Personal Injury Protection if they wish. That said, since the basic amount of PIP coverage is so low, it can be a good idea to keep it on your policy. It pays for things like your own medical bills arising from a car accident.
Before you can register a vehicle in Washington, you must be able to show that you have this required amount of auto insurance. All basic policies will provide Bodily Injury and Property Damage coverage and offer you optional coverage amounts.
Car insurance policies with less coverage are invalid under Washington law.
How Can You Save Money On Car Insurance In Washington State?
For the cheap car insurance Washington drivers enjoy the most, you’ll definitely want to go online to compare car insurance. Policies can differ from one insurer to another. The best way to save money on car insurance over time is to start with a great deal.
Inexpensive car insurance Washington state approves of can become even easier to afford when you factor in some discounts. Car insurance providers in Washington state are allowed to offer discounts to customers who engage in responsible driving behavior.
Some of the most common car insurance discounts in Washington are:
- Safe driving discounts for drivers who avoid accidents and traffic citations for long periods of time
- Discounts for drivers who keep their vehicle maintained or who install new vehicle safety features
- Discounts for drivers who have multiple auto insurance or other policies with the same company
- Discounts for taking and passing a certified defensive driving course recognized by your insurer
Other factors that are less likely to change influence your insurance costs, too.
Around the country, many people have found they can save money on car insurance when they move to a community with fewer car accidents. Paying off debts and raising your credit score can also help.
Remember, you’re in control when it comes to the cheap car insurance Washington drivers choose. You can change your insurance provider any time as long as you don’t allow your auto insurance coverage to lapse.
If you don’t feel like you’re getting a good bargain on car insurance, compare car insurance quotes online.
What Happens If You Don’t Have Car Insurance In Washington State?
Washington state requires all motorists to hold at least the minimum car insurance defined by law.
Driving without insurance in Washington can lead to a fine of $550 or more. In fact, you’ll even face a minimum fine of $450 for failing to present proof of insurance when a law enforcement officer asks for it.
You may or may not be granted a grace period to get coverage after a first citation for driving without insurance. Continuing to drive without insurance can result in the suspension of your license or vehicle registration. Ultimately, your license may even be revoked.
Avoid the hassle. Find cheap car insurance Washington motorists appreciate by comparing quotes at Cheap Insurance. Start right now or contact us with any questions.
How Much Is Car Insurance Per Month In Washington State?
Monthly car insurance costs in Washington vary depending on if you go for basic or full coverage car insurance. The cheap car insurance Washington law mandates as the minimum is about $900 less expensive each year.
You should expect to pay about $34 per month for minimum car insurance. For full car insurance Washington state prices average about $108 monthly. Average Washington drivers fall somewhere in between these figures, but some pay as much as $115 each month.
The best way to save money on car insurance in Washington state is to compare car insurance policies from multiple providers before you decide.
How Much Does Car Insurance Cost In Washington State?
The cheap car insurance Washington allows can cost just over $400 a year. More expensive policies are well over $1,300. Some quotes have even gone over $1,400. While Washington is not one of the most expensive states for insurance, it is still vital to compare car insurance online.
Car insurance Washington state permits mandates a minimum level of coverage. Staying to the minimum can bring your costs down. You can also save money on car insurance by getting discounts directly from your car insurance company. Driving safe, installing safety features, and keeping your vehicle maintained can result in long-term savings.
What Is The Minimum Car insurance In Washington State?
When it comes to cheap car insurance, Washington minimum insurance is your best bet.
Minimum car insurance in Washington state includes coverage for Bodily Injury and Property Damage liability. For Bodily Injury, you need at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per covered traffic incident.
For Property Damage, you’ll need to hold a flat $10,000.
Car insurance Washington state recognizes can also include optional add-on insurance. The optional minimums for Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury and Property Damage are the same as those above. $10,000 in Personal Injury Protection is also optional. You can reject these by contacting your insurer directly.
What Is The Cheapest Car Insurance In Washington State?
Looking to save more money? When it comes to cheap car insurance, Washington beats out many of its neighbors in the Northwest. If you get the best deal, you may end up paying around $400 a year. That compares well to pricey “full auto insurance” policies costing an additional $900 annually.
There are lots of auto insurers in Washington, and none of them can guarantee the best price for everyone. The car insurance Washington state companies offer vary in price based on your driving record, vehicle, credit score, and more. That’s why checking out car insurance quotes online is key.