Looking for the cheap car insurance New Jersey loves the most?
Unlike so many other states out there, New Jersey makes an effort to make car insurance easier to understand. Instead of trying to figure out which policy options work best, insurance is broken down into two categories.
In their search for cheap auto insurance New Jersey drivers will hear about “Basic” and “Standard” policies:
Basic Policy: Provides the absolute minimum insurance New Jersey law requires
Standard Policy: Provides more coverage and lets you choose optional coverage
That means when you are looking for cheap car insurance New Jersey rules allow, you can always start by looking for a basic auto insurance policy. No matter who you purchase your basic policy from, you can be certain that it meets New Jersey requirements.
If you want to be more protected on the road, you can start with a standard auto insurance policy. That works more like other states, giving you many different coverage types and levels to choose from.
How much can you expect to pay for cheap auto insurance New Jersey trusts?
Let’s take a look at the most important facts about New Jersey car insurance and find out.
How Much Car Insurance Do You Need in New Jersey?
The lowest level of car insurance coverage in New Jersey includes:
Bodily Injury Liability: $15,000 per individual, $30,000 per covered traffic incident
Property Damage Liability: $15,000 per covered traffic incident
Personal Injury Protection(PIP): Flat $15,000 minimum per policyholder
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Bodily Injury: $15,000 per individual, $30,000 per covered traffic incident
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Property Damage: $5,000 per covered traffic incident, $500 deductible
New Jersey is one of a dozen “no fault” car insurance states. In these states, you make an immediate claim to your own insurance company when you are in an accident. Insurers pay for covered damage regardless of fault, which means necessary expenses are covered faster without having to sue.
Although no fault states tend to have more expensive car insurance, New Jersey is near the middle of the pack. It is usually ranked around #19 or #20 for highest car insurance considering all states and Washington, D.C.
How Can You Save Money on Car Insurance in New Jersey?
The easiest way to get cheap car insurance New Jersey supports is to go with a basic car insurance policy. The basic policy meets the minimum requirements and doesn’t offer any special features or extra coverage.
If you are looking for cheap auto insurance New Jersey recognizes, it is your first stop.
Another option New Jersey offers is to carry a Limited Tort insurance policy.
New Jersey car insurance can be either Limited Tort or Full Tort. With Limited Tort insurance, you are restricted in whether you can take another driver to court for your pain and suffering related to an automotive accident.
Even if you choose Limited Tort insurance, you still have the right to collect damages for your accident-related medical bills and other covered costs. Limited Tort insurance relates only to your ability to sue. If you are very severely injured, you do regain the right to sue.
If you select a basic car insurance policy in New Jersey, you’ll have the opportunity to purchase special insurance. For example, Comprehensive Coverage can reimburse you for repairs if your car is damaged by criminal activity or some weather events.
Optional policy add-ons can be expensive, so think carefully before you accept them.
What Happens if You Don’t Have Car Insurance in New Jersey?
Even if you can’t find cheap car insurance New Jersey prefers, it’s crucial to have a car insurance policy. Despite the fact it is only considered a traffic violation, the Garden State has some of the most severe penalties in the nation for driving without insurance.
Driving without insurance in New Jersey can result in:
- A fine of anywhere from $300 to $1,000 for a first violation, up to $5,000 for subsequent violations
- A $250 annual surcharge required for three years, which can be extended for subsequent violations
- A substantial number of points against your license for subsequent violations (zero for first violation)
- Optional community service at the discretion of a judge
- Driver’s license suspension, typically one year for the first offense and two years for subsequent ones
- Mandatory jail term for second offense (no mandatory imprisonment for first offense)
- Now you’ve got the facts on New Jersey auto insurance. It’s time to find the best car insurance for you.
With Cheap Insurance, you can quickly compare auto insurance offers from companies throughout New Jersey. No more guessing whether you really have the best deal on New Jersey car insurance.
Get started now or contact our team for more information. We look forward to helping you save more money on car insurance!
Who has the cheapest car insurance in New Jersey?
When it comes to cheap car insurance New Jersey has dozens of options. The cheap auto insurance New Jersey drivers prefer can come from major, nationally known brands or local companies based right in the Garden State. The trick is finding the best deal around.
Drivers in their 30s and 40s with a clean driving record and a safe, relatively new car tend to have the best car insurance in New Jersey. That said, almost anyone can find a good deal on New Jersey auto insurance if they go online and compare rates from many insurers at the same time.
How much is car insurance per month in NJ?
Monthly car insurance premiums can vary from person to person for many reasons. The average cost of auto insurance in New Jersey is just over $1,500 in a year. That works out to about $125 per month. The lowest cost basic insurance in New Jersey averages out to around $76 each month.
Finding cheap car insurance New Jersey law allows is easier because the state designates the lowest legal insurance amount as “basic” policies. You can easily compare basic car insurance in New Jersey between brands, helping you find the cheap auto insurance New Jersey drivers use to save money.
What is the average cost of auto insurance in New Jersey?
The average cost of auto insurance in New Jersey differs depending on whether you pick a “basic” or a “standard” car insurance policy. A basic policy represents the minimum required amount of insurance in New Jersey – it’s the cheap car insurance New Jersey drivers choose to save more.
On average, the minimum New Jersey insurance works out to about $76 a month. The maximum amount of auto insurance protection averages nearly $150 a month. The average cost among all policyholders is $125 a month. So, by choosing cheap auto insurance New Jersey motorists can enjoy savings of almost $600.
What is the minimum car insurance required in NJ?
Minimum car insurance in New Jersey is comparable to many states. Drivers must hold standard Bodily Injury liability of $15,000 per individual and $30,000 per covered traffic incident. Property Damage liability amounts to $5,000. The state’s “no fault” PIP requirement is $15,000.
New Jersey also requires Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage for both injury and property damage. The minimums are the same as for the standard coverage.
When hunting for cheap car insurance New Jersey motorists will see minimum coverage referred to as a “basic” plan. This is the top cheap auto insurance New Jersey residents use to lower premiums.