Fausto Bucheli Jr


January 13, 2023

Edited By

John Davey
SR22 Car Insurance in Mississippi

Here at, we bring you everything you need to know about SR-22 car insurance in Mississippi State.

Mississippi is the birthplace of Elvis and blues music. The “Magnolia State” is full of history and natural scenery, making it a desirable vacation destination for couples, families, and history enthusiasts.

Whether you’re on holiday or a resident of Mississippi, car accidents can happen in an instant and many are the result of careless driving.

If you are found to be driving under the following circumstances in Mississippi, you will be identified as a reckless or high-risk driver and you may need SR-22 insurance:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI).
  • Driving without car insurance.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Driving with a suspended license.

In this article, we take a closer look at everything you need to know about SR-22 insurance, how to obtain it in Mississippi, and which drivers need it.

What Is SR-22 Insurance and What Does It Mean for You as a Driver in Mississippi?

Although it’s sometimes referred to as ‘financial responsibility insurance’, SR-22 is not an insurance policy at all.

It’s a certificate that you will have to attach to your auto insurance policy if you are identified as a high-risk driver.

If you do not purchase SR-22 insurance when required to, it can result in harsh penalties, including the suspension of your license and vehicle registration.

It verifies that you have enough minimum auto liability coverage in place at any given time, and it is proof of future financial responsibility.

An SR-22 informs the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in your state that you have the minimum amount of liability insurance required by law.

Once the state in which you live has approved the form, you are issued a certificate that you must carry around with you at all times.

Drivers who are required to file an SR-22 usually find that their insurance premiums increase.

The reason for this is that insurance companies usually regard irresponsible drivers as being a high risk to insure.

What Is Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage?

Liability insurance is the most basic and affordable car insurance you can buy and it’s required in most states.

Although each state in the U.S. has its own set of minimum liability requirements, there are always three key aspects that need to be included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

If you are found to be at-fault in an automobile accident, minimum liability insurance helps cover the costs of the other driver’s property and bodily injuries.

The minimum auto liability insurance requirements in Mississippi are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person.
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident.
  • $25,000 property damage liability coverage.

This is commonly referred to as 25/50/25 liability insurance.

As already mentioned, if you don’t have minimum liability insurance, it could result in the immediate suspension of your driving privileges and, depending on your driving history, the penalty may even include jail time.

How to File a Mississippi SR-22 Insurance Form

The SR-22 filing must be done by your current insurance company with the DMV. To get SR-22 insurance in Mississippi, you need to request it from your auto insurance carrier and pay the fee.

If you have been convicted of traffic offenses, you’ll be required to file the form for a specified length of time in Mississippi, which is typically three years. Your required filing period may vary based on your violation and circumstances.

Throughout your filing period, you must maintain your policy. If your policy is canceled and your coverage lapses while you have an active SR-22 form, your license may be suspended and you may need to restart the SR-22 filing period.

You can get an online SR-22 insurance quote in no time at all by simply entering your zip code at the top of this page.

Key Point: What Types of SR-22 Insurance Are There? 

If you live in a state that requires SR-22 insurance, the certificate that you apply for will depend on your circumstances.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance

If you do not own a car but still drive a friend or family member’s car, you will need to file for Non-owner SR-22 insurance. This is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to drive on occasion (e.g., a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).

Owner SR-22 insurance

This insurance is for drivers who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who does own a car.
  • Want to reinstate their driver’s license.

Owner/operator SR-22 insurance

If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry Owner/operator SR-22 insurance.

Which Is the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Mississippi?

Finding a car insurance company that will be willing to file your SR-22 insurance certificate with the Mississippi DMV may prove to be challenging.

Fortunately, we have done some of the hard work for you. Here is a cost comparison of the monthly premiums for five counties in Mississippi that are served by Direct Auto.

Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Mississippi

ProviderHinds CountyHarrison CountyDeSoto CountyRankin CountyJackson CountyAverage
Direct Auto$197$201$211$248$250$221

Never settle for the first quote that you receive. Always shop around for car insurance to save on your annual car insurance premiums.

You can get a completely customized car insurance quote for your SR-22 car insurance.  All you have to do is enter your zip code at the top of this page to find the information you need.

Cheap Car Insurance in Mississippi for Drivers with Clean Driving Records

We’ve looked at the monthly insurance premiums of a few companies to give you an idea of what drivers with a clean driving record pay for their car insurance, compared to what drivers who have a poor driving record pay.

Drivers with a clean driving record may find that they pay lower premiums on their car insurance than drivers who are reckless and who often commit traffic violations.

Drivers with a clean driving record are those who:

  • Have not been the cause of any car accidents.
  • Have committed no traffic offenses.
  • Have a good credit score.
  • Have no speeding tickets.
  • Have no reckless driving charges.
  • Have no DUI convictions.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Good Drivers (Clean Driving Records) in Mississippi

ProviderHinds CountyHarrison CountyDeSoto CountyRankin CountyJackson CountyAverage
Liberty MutualN/A$254.00$227.00$239.00$214.00$233.50

Cheap Car Insurance in Mississippi for High-Risk Drivers

Insurance companies use the term “high risk” to describe drivers who are more likely to make a claim against their car insurance policy.

As already mentioned above, some of the offenses that may lead to being considered a high-risk driver in Mississippi include:

  • Reckless driving.
  • Speeding tickets.
  • Driving without meeting the minimum liability coverage requirements.
  • Unpaid insurance policy premiums.
  • Receiving a DUI conviction.

Key Point: Understanding a DUI Charge in Mississippi 

A DUI charge is typically based on blood alcohol content (BAC). The BAC is the measure of alcohol in a person’s bloodstream.

When a police officer administers a breathalyzer test, the reading he/she sees is the measurement of the person’s BAC. You are over the legal limit if:

  • You are 21 years or older with a BAC of 0.08% or more.
  • You are under 21 years old with any measurable amount of alcohol.
  • You hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and have a BAC at or over 0.04%.

If you test under the 0.08% level, you can still face penalties. According to Mississippi law, you are considered driving while impaired (DWI) if you are driving with a BAC of between 0.05% and 0.08%.

Refusing a Chemical Test

If you are stopped by a police officer who suspects that you have been drinking, you will be asked to take a breathalyzer test.

Under Mississippi law, if you are driving a motor vehicle, you have given what is known as implied consent to be tested by an officer if you are suspected of drinking and driving.

Refusal to take the test will result in the immediate revocation of your driver’s license, even if you have not been drinking. It could also result in your arrest.

The revocation will stay in effect for anywhere from 180 days to three years, depending on your driving history.

If you are a high-risk driver, Mississippi insurance companies may increase the cost of your car insurance.

Here is a cost comparison of the monthly average premiums for five counties in Mississippi for bad drivers.

Cheap Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers in Mississippi (DUI, Traffic Tickets)

ProviderHinds CountyHarrison CountyDeSoto CountyRankin CountyJackson CountyAverage
Direct Auto$166.00$161.00N/AN/AN/A$163.50

We found that drivers with a clean driving record pay a monthly average premium of $181.35, whereas the average monthly premium for bad drivers is $210.84.

SR-22 insurance is the most expensive kind, with an average monthly premium of $221.

How To Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Mississippi

Although you will end up paying higher rates as a high-risk driver with an SR-22 certificate in Mississippi, you can still save money. Here’s how:

  • Consider usage-based car insurance: If you seldom use your car, rather opt for an insurance policy with premiums that are based on how many miles you drive per month.
  • Raise your deductibles: A deductible is an amount that you will need to pay out of pocket before your insurance will kick in. If you are able to pay more for expenses yourself, your insurer will lower your premiums.
  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Choose an insurance company that offers great prices on your other insurance needs as well.
  • Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: You could get a significant discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Mississippi

Let’s take a look at some of the frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance in Mississippi:

What are the minimum liability requirements in Mississippi?

The minimum auto liability insurance requirements in Mississippi are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability coverage per person.
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident.
  • $25,000 property damage liability coverage.

What happens if you get pulled over without insurance in Mississippi?

Driving without insurance is a misdemeanor. If you violate the applicable auto insurance law once, you’ll be fined $1,000. In addition, your driving privileges will be suspended either for one full year, or until you can prove that you’ve purchased the mandatory car insurance.

How do you get an SR-22 in Mississippi?

You’ll need to inform your insurance company of your license status and then ask them to file an SR-22 form for you.

Before you can request to file, though, you need to pay your license reinstatement fee and finalize any legal processes related to your conviction. There’s usually quite a bit of paperwork involved for which you will have to pay a small filing fee.

It’s possible that your insurer simply won’t cover your SR-22. If you’re a repeat offender or have a bad driving record, the company might deem you too much of a financial risk. They also might set your premiums very high.

Can you get rid of an SR-22?

The higher insurance rates that usually result from driving violations can be reduced if you maintain a clean driving record for a period of time specified by your auto insurance company.

What are the penalties for violating traffic laws in Mississippi?

Penalties can include fines, license suspension, vehicle registration suspension, and jail time. Additionally, as already mentioned, your auto insurance rates may increase.

Rates vary with different car insurance companies, but you can find affordable car insurance by simply entering your zip code at the top of this page.

What happens if I move from Mississippi to a state that requires SR-22 insurance?

If you’re a driver in Mississippi and you’re moving to a state that requires SR-22 insurance, you may need to have SR-22 insurance in your new state.

If you’re moving to a new state and need to get SR-22 insurance, you’ll need to get it from an insurance company that offers SR-22 insurance in your new state.

The form will need to be filed with your new state rather than with Mississippi.

Do You Want to Find Cheap Car or SR-22 Insurance in Mississippi?

Are you unhappy with the cost of your monthly auto insurance rates and you want to find out what other insurance companies in Mississippi are charging?

Fortunately, you’ve come to the right place.

Get a personalized car insurance or SR-22 quote with us by entering your zip code at the top of this page and selecting the option best suited to your personal needs.

At, we’ve got you covered!