Enter your Zip Code and get a
FREE QUOTE TODAY!

It may be the driest state in the nation, but Nevada is still home to millions of people. It’s a great place to call home—and a great place to take to those open, desert roads. 

You can’t drive in Nevada legally without car insurance, but it sure can be expensive. If you’re searching for good, cheap car insurance that will get you on the road, then Cheap Insurance may be right for you.

Quick Nevada Car Insurance Facts

Learn a little more about car insurance and driving in our great state

  • Nevada is the first state to issue an operating license to Google’s driverless cars
  • Make sure not to let your auto insurance policy lapse in Nevada. 
    • Failure to maintain an active policy can result in immediate registration suspension and a fine between $250 and $1,000.
nevada-cheap-car-insurance

Minimum Nevada Car Insurance Coverage

Car insurance keeps you safe by making sure you have protection in the event of a car accident. Even if you’re really careful, there is still a chance someone else’s reckless driving may impact you. Each state chooses how much insurance they require drivers to have. 

Below is the minimum amount of car insurance coverage drivers must carry in Nevada

  • The mandatory minimum for bodily injury coverage per person in Nevada is $25,000.
  • The mandatory minimum for bodily injury coverage per accident in Nevada is $50,000.
  • The mandatory minimum for property damage coverage in Nevada is $20,000.

Getting Cheap Car Insurance In Nevada

With a bit of time and effort, it’s possible to find cheap car insurance that will fit into your budget. Follow these tips to get started: 

  1. Use legal minimums as a springboard: Car insurance providers are legally bound to offer you these minimums, and getting the minimum coverage will also be the cheapest. Of course, you may want more than the bare minimum, but it’s a good place to start. 
  2. Be picky: You can easily end up overpaying by going with the first quote you get. Compare rates from multiple companies to find the best deals.
  3. Drive safely: When you accrue speeding tickets and other negative marks on your driving record, your insurance premiums shoot up.

Nevada Car Insurance Discounts

Everyone likes a discount. In Nevada, drivers can get plenty of discounts based on how they drive and what safety precautions they are taking. Not all insurance companies will automatically give you the discounts you’re eligible for, so be sure to ask your car insurance provider what you can get.  

Good Driver: A clean record with no DUIs, tickets, or insurance claims can get you up to 30% off in the past few years. 

Good Student: Kids who study hard are seen as lower risk, more responsible drivers by insurance companies. Having a 3.0 GPA or above can get you a discount. 

Driver Education: Drivers age 50 and up can receive a discount for completing a state driver education program.

FAQ

What is the average car insurance cost in Nevada?

Minimum coverage: $1,032 per year. Full coverage: $3,061 per year

How much is car insurance per month in Nevada?

Minimum coverage: $86 per month. Full coverage: $255 per month.

What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Nevada?

Driving in Nevada without insurance coverage is a crime. There is no grace period, so even if your coverage has only lapsed by one day, you’ll still be considered liable. The penalty for the first offense is the loss of one’s registration and a fee of $250–$1,250 to get it back. Repeated offenses come with heavier fines and the suspension of your license.

What is driving like in Nevada?

Nevada ranks as one of the better states to drive in. The dry climate means fewer dangerous rainstorms (which are more likely to cause accidents). Unfortunately, Nevada does have a high rate of car theft and a high rate of car accidents in downtown Las Vegas.

How can I save money on my car insurance policy in Nevada?

We put our heads together and came up with a list of ways to save: 

  • Have more than one car? Put them on the same policy to get multiple-car discounts.
  • Keep your record clean so that you can qualify for good driver discounts.
  • Ask your insurer if they offer discounts for having safety features installed. 
  • Explore installment plans as a means of payment. 
  • Up your deductible to reduce your monthly premium.

How does car registration work in Nevada?

  • Nevada local county assessors handle new vehicle registrations. A full listing of offices may be found here
  • New residents must transfer their registration within 30 days of becoming a resident. A Nevada Emission Vehicle Report may be required.

Other Types of Coverage

Depending on your circumstances, the minimum amount of car insurance coverage may not be enough. There are other types of coverage you can get, although not required, that can help you be protected and prepared, such as: 

Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMC)/Underinsured Motorist coverage (UIM)

Medical Payments Coverage

Physical Damage Coverage

Additional kinds of coverage 

Endorsements and Riders

  • Towing and road service
  • Rental car reimbursement 
  • Gap insurance

Cities We Cover In Nevada

If you’re serious about getting the best possible cheap car insurance, then the place to start is with a quote from Cheap Insurance. We can help you find coverage in one of these cities:

Average Annual Premiums in Nevada = $1,223 | via Insure.com

Enter your Zip Code and get a
FREE QUOTE TODAY!