Welcome to Nebraska, birthplace of the Reuben sandwich, Kool-Aid, and Carhenge. If you call Nebraska home, you know that driving in some bigger cities can be more dangerous and more expensive.
Getting cheap car insurance is definitely possible in Nebraska—you just need to know where to look. Cheap Insurance offers affordable coverage that allows you to drive legally without overpaying for fluff.
Quick Nebraska Car Insurance Facts
A few facts about car insurance and driving in Nebraska:
- There are over 2.2 million registered vehicles in Nebraska, and 1.3 million licensed drivers.
- The more populated cities, such as Omaha (476,000 residents) and Lincoln (284,000) are going to have the highest insurance rates, simply because there are more vehicles on the road. The rest of the state will be substantially cheaper, as the next biggest city after Lincoln only has around 50,000 residents.
Minimum Nebraska Car Insurance Coverage
Having car insurance can be pricey, but it’s for your own protection. Even if you drive safely and are never the cause of an accident, someone else’s reckless driving could impact you and your finances.
To protect you and everyone else on the road, the state government requires all Nebraskans to have at least a minimum amount of car insurance coverage to drive.
Here are the requirements that drivers must have according to Nebraska state law:
- The mandatory minimum for bodily injury coverage per person in Nebraska is $25,000.
- The mandatory minimum for bodily injury coverage per accident in Nebraska is $50,000.
- The mandatory minimum for property damage coverage in Nebraska is $25,000.
Getting Cheap Car Insurance In Nebraska
Trying to find cheap car insurance in Nebraska? Here are some pointers:
- Start with minimum requirements: If you want to pay the least possible amount each month, getting car insurance that just fulfills your state’s mandatory minimums is a way to keep the prices low.
- Shop, shop, shop: With the ease and convenience of the internet at your fingertips, you can get quotes from many different companies. Use rate-comparing websites to find deals and get an idea of the average prices paid in your state.
- Drive defensively: Drivers with clean driving records get offered the best rates. Avoid speeding tickets and accidents to get lower rates.
Nebraska Car Insurance Discounts
There are many discounts available to drivers in Nebraska, especially those who show themselves to be safe and responsible. Your car insurance provider won’t always tell you when you’re eligible, so be proactive and call.
Here are a few common discounts:
- Good Driver: Driving safely pays off. You could get up to 20% off for having a clean driving record with no DUIs or recent insurance claims.
- Good Student: Student drivers can benefit too. Those who have a GPA of 3.0 or higher may get a discount.
- Continuously Insured: If you have been insured for at least six consecutive months, you may be able to get a discount on your insurance.
What is the average car insurance cost in Nebraska?
Minimum coverage: $486 per year. Full coverage: $2,248 per year.
How much is car insurance per month in Nebraska?
Minimum coverage: $41 per month. Full coverage: $187 per month.
What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Nebraska?
If you drive without insurance in Nebraska, both your registration and your license can be suspended, and you’ll have to pay a fine of at least $100 for the first offense.
What is driving like in Nebraska?
Compared to other states, Nebraska ranks somewhere near the middle regarding how dangerous it is to drive in the state. However, Nebraska does have a fairly high DUI rate, as 39% percent of car crashes involve alcohol.
How can I save money on my car insurance policy in Nebraska?
Saving money on your insurance policy can be a breeze. Here are our top tips:
- Ask about multi-car discounts.
- See if your car insurance provider offers discounts for the installation of safety features.
- Consider paying with an installment plan.
- Increase your deductible.
What do I need to do to register my car in Nebraska?
- Registration can be done at your local county office of the Nebraska DMV. A full listing of county stations by map may be found here.
- New registrations require passage of an emissions inspection program and clear title to the car. New residents have 30 days to transfer their vehicle registrations after establishing residency.
Other Types of Coverage
There are many different types of coverage. While you’re only required to carry the legal minimum, you can add some of these types to your policy as well:
- Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UMC)/Underinsured Motorist coverage (UIM)
- Medical Payments Coverage
- Physical Damage Coverage
- Additional kinds of coverage
- Endorsements and Riders
- Towing and road service
- Rental car reimbursement
- Gap insurance
Cities We Cover In Nebraska
When you’re ready to stop overpaying and get cheap car insurance, give us a call. If you live in one of the cities below, we would love to connect you with your new car insurance provider.
Enter your Zip Code and get a
FREE QUOTE TODAY!