How To Find Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance For Oregon
In this article, we outline everything you need to know about SR-22 car insurance in Oregon.
Oregon gets 41 inches of rain, on average, per year—3 inches more than the U.S. average annual rainfall.
Portland is known for its wet weather and has, on average, 164 rainy days per year.
When driving on wet roads at high speeds, drivers may not be able to control their cars properly and they may skid, causing a collision.
Most states require that drivers have standard liability insurance, but SR-22 car insurance is something that you may also need at some point.
If, for example, you have to reinstate your driver’s license after it has been suspended or revoked, you may need to get SR-22 insurance from your insurer.
In this article, we will cover everything you need to know about SR-22 car insurance in Oregon.
What Is SR-22 Car Insurance and What Does It Mean for You?
SR stands for ‘Safety Responsibility’. An SR-22 is not an actual “type” of insurance, but a form that is filed with your state.
An SR-22 is a certificate of “future responsibility” needed by some states in the U.S. because it verifies that you have minimum auto liability insurance.
Your car insurance company will file the SR-22 certificate with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Oregon.
This certificate is an official form that you will need to carry around with you to prove that you have enough car insurance to meet the minimum auto liability coverage requirements of Oregon State.
Key Point: What Is Minimum Auto Liability Coverage?
Minimum liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or the injury/death of a third party while driving.
Each U.S. state has different minimum liability coverage requirements, but there are always three essential elements that are included:
It is illegal to drive without liability coverage in Oregon and the minimum insurance a driver must have is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury to others.
- $20,000 per accident for third-party property damage.
- $15,000 forpersonal injury protection.
- $25,000 per person uninsured motorist coverage and $50,000 per accident.
These insurance requirements are typically referred to as 25/50/20. Drivers failing to meet these state minimum requirements can be fined or their license may be suspended.
There are some drivers that will also need to carry SR-22 insurance to prove that they have enough insurance to cover these minimum requirements.
If you haven’t been ordered to carry SR-22 insurance and don’t have a revoked or suspended driver’s license, then you don’t need an SR-22 certificate.
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance and How Long Do They Need It For?
Each state in the U.S. has its own set of traffic violations for which an SR-22 certificate is needed.
Drivers who are required to obtain an SR-22 are considered “high risk” and have to prove they have at least the minimum amount of auto insurance required by Oregon law.
Drivers in Oregon must maintain their SR-22 filing for three years. However, your filing period can be longer depending on the severity of your traffic violation.
You are not likely to need an SR-22 after getting your first speeding ticket. Oregon State only requires an SR-22 for specific traffic offenses, or accidents that cost more than a certain amount.
Drivers in Oregon often need SR-22 insurance after:
- Driving without insurance.
- Reckless driving.
- Receiving a DUI or DWI conviction.
- Refusing a breathalyzer.
- Repeated traffic violations.
- An at-fault accident resulting in injuries or death.
Since each of these violations results in you being deemed a “high-risk” driver, insurance companies are likely to charge you more in premiums to offset what they consider to be the added risk of covering you.
The state of Oregon will notify you when you can cancel your SR‑22 insurance.
Once the expiration date arrives, it’s your responsibility to tell your car insurance company that you no longer require an SR-22.
Your auto insurance company will then take the necessary steps to cancel your SR‑22 insurance and notify the state when this has been done.
Failure to maintain your SR‑22 insurance in Oregon for the required period of time can result in additional fines and having your license and/or vehicle registration suspended.
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Oregon?
To get SR-22 insurance in Oregon, you will have to inform your insurance provider that you need the form filed with the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Once you’ve paid the appropriate filing fee, your insurer will file the form directly with the Oregon DMV.
Each insurer charges a different rate for SR-22 insurance, and some do not offer SR-22 insurance at all.
In this case, you will need to find an alternative insurance provider, and the rate will likely be higher than that of a standard car insurance policy.
There are three steps you will need to take before you can get your SR-22 certificate in Oregon:
- Your insurer will file proof of insurance on your behalf: The insurer will file the SR-22 form directly with the Oregon DMV.
- Pay the SR-22 fee: When your SR-22 form is filed, the authorized insurer will charge you a flat fee of between $15 and $50.
- Receive confirmation: Once the SR-22 form has been processed, both the Oregon DMV and your insurer should send you a letter confirming that you have insurance coverage and can legally drive again.
It’s important to note that if you allow your SR-22 insurance to lapse, your insurance provider is required to report this to the Department of Licensing.
Once you have your SR-22 certificate in place, it’s important to avoid having any lapses in your insurance coverage.
An SR-22 certificate proves that you have sufficient car insurance. A lapse in cover would mean that you are not insured.
If you decide to change your policy or insurance company, make sure you do not have any periods of time without coverage.
Types of SR-22 Insurance in Oregon
When you apply for SR-22 insurance, you will need to specify the exact type of SR-22 insurance you need, depending on your circumstances.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance
Many people who live in big cities like Portland choose not to buy cars, but they may still want to drive even though they do not have their own vehicle.
If you are one of these people and you’re also a high-risk driver, you still need to get car insurance.
You’ll have to submit proof of that insurance to the state in the form of a non-owner SR-22 certificate.
If you drive a car you do not own, you will need to file for this non-owner car insurance, which is aimed at drivers who:
- Don’t plan to own a car.
- Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
- Still want to drive on occasion (e.g., a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).
Owner SR-22 insurance
Owner SR-22 insurance is for Oregon drivers who:
- Already own a car or plan to buy one.
- Share a household with someone who does own a car.
- Want to get their license reinstated.
Owner/operator SR-22 insurance
If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry owner/operator SR-22 insurance.
Which Is the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Oregon?
When you get an SR-22 certificate, your car insurance premiums will increase as you are now considered a high-risk driver.
Instead of settling for the first auto insurance quote that you get, we recommend that you shop around and find the cheapest SR-22 car insurance.
Let’s take a look at a few of the cheapest SR-22 car insurance rates in Oregon.
According to our research, Liberty Mutual provides the cheapest SR-22 car insurance in Oregon, with average monthly premiums of just $217.
|Provider||Average||Multnomah County||Washington County||Clackamas County||Lane County||Marion County|
Besides shopping around for the cheapest SR-22 insurance, it’s best to get a completely personalized insurance quote. We all have different needs and circumstances.
Most good insurers will tailor your insurance quote to your needs.
Enter your zip code at the top of this page for a free SR-22 auto insurance quote.
Key Point: What Affects the Cost of Car Insurance?
Car insurance providers usually look at your driving record, past claims, and vehicle model when deciding on auto insurance rates.
In Oregon, car insurance companies will also look at the following factors:
How Does An SR-22 Impact Your Car Insurance Premiums In Oregon?
We’ve looked at the auto insurance rates offered by various insurers for low-risk drivers, to compare them to the rates they offer to drivers who have been convicted of driving-related traffic offenses.
This is how much drivers in Oregon with a clean driving record can expect to pay for car insurance:
|Provider||Multnomah County||Washington County||Clackamas County||Lane County||Marion County||Average|
Here’s how much drivers in Oregon can expect to pay for car insurance if they are considered high-risk drivers:
|Provider||Multnomah County||Washington County||Clackamas County||Lane County||Marion County||Average|
Remember: Don’t settle for the first quote that you find for your car insurance, especially if you are a high-risk driver.
Shop around and get a personalized quote that suits your needs—all you need to do is enter your zip code at the top of this page.
How to Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Oregon
Although you will end up paying higher rates as a high-risk driver with an SR-22 certificate in Oregon, you can still save money. Here’s how:
- Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, choose an insurance policy with premiums that are based on how many miles you drive per month.
- Raise your deductibles: A deductible is the amount of money that you will need to first pay out of pocket before your insurance will kick in. If you are willing to pay more for expenses yourself, your insurer will lower your premiums.
- Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Choose insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one company.
- Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: You could get a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.
Apart from SR-22 Insurance in Oregon, What Else Do You Need to Have?
Oregon law only requires minimum liability insurance coverage to drive legally in the state, but driving with this cover alone is not recommended.
If you are involved in an accident, the costs for repairs and medical attention tend to be much higher than the cover provided with minimum liability coverage.
Some of the common options for additional coverage include:
Comprehensive cover: This will pay out for vehicle damages caused in non-collision circumstances such as theft or weather-related events.
Collision: If you are involved in a collision, this cover will pay out, regardless of whether the collision is with another vehicle or a stationary object.
Medical payments: If you are in an accident, this coverage will help pay toward the medical expenses for both you and those in your vehicle. This coverage is available regardless of fault.
Roadside assistance: This coverage helps if you need a tow, have a flat tire, have a dead battery, or if your car has broken down for any other reason.
FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Oregon
To help you find cheap SR-22 car insurance in Oregon, we’ve rounded up the most frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance:
What is an SR-22 in Oregon?
If an Oregon driver has his or her license suspended, or is convicted of a serious traffic violation, the driver must provide proof of financial responsibility by filing an SR-22.
This will certify that the driver has the minimum amount of liability insurance for a certain period of time.
In Oregon, an SR-22 form needs to be submitted to the DMV. Once the form is submitted, you will receive an SR-22 certificate which you will need to have with you when driving.
This certificate is only needed if you have committed a serious traffic violation.
How do I get an SR-22 Certificate in Oregon?
Your insurance provider will need to file an SR-22 form with the Oregon DMV for you. As a high-risk driver, they may not be willing to do this.
If this is the case, you will need to find another insurer who will file the SR-22 form for you.
How much does SR-22 cost in Oregon?
The cost of an SR-22 certificate comes in addition to the price of your auto insurance. It can vary based on your driving history, your age, and other factors, but the filing fee rarely exceeds $50.
However, the cost of filing is separate from the financial impact that needing an SR-22 form has. Your premiums are likely to increase when you have an SR-22.
Liberty Mutual offers the cheapest SR-22 insurance at an average cost of $217 per month, while Dairyland is the most expensive with an average rate of $1,504 per month.
Who has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Oregon?
According to the research that we did recently, the cheapest insurance rate for drivers who need SR-22 insurance is Liberty Mutual at an average cost of $217 per month.
How long do Oregon drivers need SR-22 car insurance?
The minimum required time that you need to keep your SR-22 certificate up to date, is for three years, or 36 months.
It’s important to remember that you cannot have a break in insurance cover while you have an SR-22 certificate in place.
If you are found without insurance, your driver’s license will be suspended. Your license will remain suspended until you are insured. Driving with a suspended license is a crime.
How do you know when your SR-22 is over?
Once your state-mandated filing period is up, you can contact the Oregon DMV to confirm your completion.
After this confirmation, you are legally allowed to contact your insurance provider to inform them that the filing is no longer necessary.
Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in Oregon?
Here at CheapInsurance.com we know how time-consuming it can be to find a company that offers the cheapest SR-22 insurance, so why not let us do the job for you?
Simply enter your zip code above and get a personalized car insurance quote today!