Fausto Bucheli Jr


November 30, 2022

Edited By

John Davey

Here at, we bring you everything you need to know about SR-22 car insurance in Oklahoma State.

SR-22 insurance in Oklahoma
In most states, you are required to file SR-22 insurance as proof of future financial responsibility if you commit a serious traffic violation. Oklahoma is one of six American states that do not require the filing of an SR-22 form.

Even after certain driving offenses have been committed, Oklahoma requires no proof of future financial responsibility.

This is because, in comparison with many other states, Oklahoma has stricter driving laws. However, all drivers in Oklahoma have to carry minimum liability insurance coverage.

What Is Minimum Liability Insurance Coverage?

Liability insurance is the most affordable car insurance you can buy and it’s required in most states.

Although each U.S. state has its own set of minimum liability requirements, there are always three key aspects that need to be included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

If you are found to be at-fault in an automobile accident, minimum liability insurance helps cover the costs of the other driver’s property and bodily injuries.

The minimum auto liability insurance requirements in Oklahoma are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person.
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident.
  • $25,000 property damage liability coverage.

This is also commonly referred to as 25/50/25 liability insurance.

If you do not comply with the minimum liability requirements, it could result in significant consequences.

The penalties range from vehicle registration suspension to the immediate suspension of your driving privileges, and may even include jail time.

What Is SR-22 and How Does It Work?

SR-22 is not actually insurance, but rather a certificate of financial responsibility that proves you are meeting your state’s minimum car insurance requirements.

An SR-22 informs the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in your state that you have the minimum amount of liability insurance required by law.

You may need an SR-22 form to reinstate your driver’s license if you have a DUI or you have driven around without car insurance.

Once the state has approved the form, you are issued a certificate that you must carry around with you at all times.

You will need an SR-22 certificate when you:

  • Are convicted for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. This is also known as a DUI (driving under the influence). Being convicted of a DUI or DWI (driving while intoxicated) is the most common reason a driver needs an SR-22 to keep their driving privileges.
  • Are found to have been at-fault in an accident and you have no insurance. If you cannot provide proof of insurance coverage, a financial responsibility requirement or SR-22 form will force you to obtain the proper auto insurance coverage.
  • Are in a position where your license has been suspended or revoked.
  • Have committed serious and/or repeated traffic offenses such as reckless driving. Driving recklessly may lead to you being convicted of a traffic violation, resulting in the need for an SR-22. Reckless driving includes speeding or ignoring road signs.

Drivers who are required to file an SR-22 usually find that their insurance premiums increase.

The reason for this is that insurance companies usually regard reckless drivers as being a high risk to insure.

Key Point: What Types of SR-22 Insurance Are There? 

If you live in a state that requires SR-22 insurance, the certificate that you apply for will depend on your circumstances.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance

If you do not own a car but still drive a friend or family member’s car, you will need to file for non-owner car insurance. This is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to drive on occasion (e.g., a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).

Owner SR-22 insurance

This insurance is for drivers who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who does own a car.
  • Want to reinstate their driver’s license.

Owner/operator SR-22 insurance

If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry owner/operator SR-22 insurance.

What Happens If I Move from Oklahoma to a State That Requires SR-22 Insurance?

If you’re a driver in Oklahoma and you’re moving to a state that requires SR-22 insurance, you may need to have SR-22 insurance in your new state.

If you move to a different state and need to get an SR-22 certificate, you will need to submit your application within the new state rather than in Oklahoma.

Where Can You Get Cheap Car Insurance in Oklahoma?

Although filing an SR-22 is not a requirement in Oklahoma State, you may find that your car insurance rates increase if you are considered to be a high-risk driver.

We’ve looked at the monthly insurance premiums of a few companies to give you an idea of what drivers with a clean driving record pay for their car insurance, compared to what drivers who have a poor driving record pay.

Cheap car insurance in Oklahoma for drivers with clean driving records

Drivers with a clean driving record may find that they pay lower premiums on their car insurance than drivers who are reckless and who often commit traffic violations.

Drivers with a clean driving record are those who:

  • Have not been the cause of any car accidents.
  • Have committed no traffic offenses.
  • Have a good credit score.
  • Have no speeding tickets.
  • Have no reckless driving charges.
  • Have no DUI convictions.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Good Drivers (Clean Driving Records) in Oklahoma

ProviderOklahoma CountyTulsa CountyCleveland CountyCanadian CountyComanche CountyAverage
Bristol West$280.00$271.00$276.00$290.00$253.00$274.00

Cheap car insurance in Oklahoma for high-risk drivers

Insurance companies use the term “high risk” to describe drivers who are more likely to make a claim against their car insurance policy.

As we’ve mentioned above, some of the offenses that may lead to being considered a high-risk driver in Oklahoma include:

  • Receiving a DUI conviction.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Speeding tickets.
  • Having too many points on your driving record.
  • Driving without meeting the minimum liability coverage requirements.
  • A poor credit score.
  • Unpaid insurance policy premiums.

If you are a high-risk driver, Oklahoma insurance companies may increase the cost of your car insurance.

Cheap Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers in Oklahoma (DUI, Traffic Ticket)

ProviderOklahoma CountyTulsa CountyCleveland CountyCanadian CountyComanche CountyAverage
Bristol West$340.00$331.00$338.00$352.00$309.00$334.00
The General$440.00$431.00$380.00$367.00$327.00$389.00

We found that drivers with a clean driving record pay a monthly average premium of $249.20, whereas the average monthly premium for bad drivers is $361.50.

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Penalties in Oklahoma

If you drive under the influence in Oklahoma you could face:

  • Penalties through the court.
  • Administrative sanctions.

Administrative sanctions include the restriction, suspension, or revocation of your driving privileges.

Before applying administrative sanctions, traffic authorities are required to give you notice of the action they intend to take against you.

They are also legally obligated to advise you of your right to contest the sanction by requesting an administrative hearing.

If you have been arrested for a DUI, you have the right to request an administrative hearing within fifteen days of the incident.

If you do not request the hearing, your driving privileges are automatically revoked.

The administrative hearing is independent of a criminal court case and is only used as a measure to consider the issues that could lead to your driving privileges being revoked.

Oklahoma has other driving laws related to driving in an unfit state.

In addition to a DUI—which means your blood alcohol concentration was 0.08 percent or higher—you can also be charged with driving while impaired (DWI) in Oklahoma, which is a lesser charge.

Law enforcement must prove that, in addition to your blood alcohol concentration being above 0.08 percent, you also showed evidence that you were unable to operate a motor vehicle safely or committed a traffic violation.

Criminal penalties for impaired driving offenses include:

  • Having your license revoked or suspended.
  • Jail time.
  • Probation.
  • Community service.
  • Monetary fines.
  • Compulsory alcohol education.
  • An ignition interlock device which tests for the presence of alcohol in your breath. If it detects alcohol, it prevents your car from starting.

Key Point: Understanding a DUI Charge in Oklahoma 

A DUI charge is typically based on the blood alcohol content (BAC). The BAC is the measure of alcohol in a person’s bloodstream. When a police officer administers a breathalyzer test, the reading he/she sees is the measurement of the person’s BAC.

You are over the legal limit if:

  • You are 21 years or older with a BAC of 0.08% or more.
  • You are under 21 years old with any measurable amount of alcohol.
  • You hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and have a BAC at or over 0.04%.

If you test under the 0.08% level, you can still face penalties. According to Oklahoma law, you are considered driving while impaired (DWI) if you are driving with a BAC of between 0.05% and 0.08%.

Refusing a Chemical Test

If you are stopped by a police officer who suspects that you have been drinking, you will be asked to take a breathalyzer test. Under Oklahoma law, if you are driving a motor vehicle, you have given what is known as implied consent to be tested by an officer if you are suspected of drinking and driving.

Refusal to take the test will result in the immediate revocation of your driver’s license, even if you have not been drinking. It could also result in your arrest. The revocation will stay in effect for anywhere from 180 days to 3 years, depending on your driving history.

DUI Penalties

If you refuse or fail a chemical test, you will have to deal with penalties from the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and any criminal charges filed against you.

You must satisfy all requirements set out by the court and/or the DPS before you can have your license reinstated.

The Cost of Traffic Violations in Oklahoma

As we mentioned earlier in this article, state laws in Oklahoma do not require proof of financial responsibility after a traffic violation has been committed.

Instead, Oklahoma law requires proof of future financial responsibility before a driver is allowed to legally get behind the wheel.

They enforce this law with the legal requirement that every driver must have minimum liability insurance before they can register or drive a car.

However, this doesn’t mean that there would be no financial penalty when a driving violation is committed.

While an SR-22 certificate might not be legally required, insurance providers usually increase their premiums following driving violations, because they consider you to be a high-risk driver.

Fortunately, this increase is not permanent. If you maintain a clean driving record for a period of time your policy premiums will eventually decrease.

If you have a DUI on your record, it may be in your best interest to head to the top of the page and enter your zip code to find the best insurance for your needs and budget.

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Oklahoma

Let’s take a look at some of the frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance in Oklahoma:

What are Oklahoma’s SR-22 requirements?

While most states require an SR-22 form to be filed after certain driving convictions, there’s a handful of states that don’t have an SR-22 requirement and Oklahoma is one of them.

Oklahoma drivers must have minimum liability insurance coverage and there are other laws in place that define the penalties for certain violations.

What are the minimum liability requirements in Oklahoma?

The minimum auto liability insurance requirements in Oklahoma are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability coverage per person.
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident.
  • $25,000 property damage liability coverage.

What takes the place of an SR-22 in Oklahoma?

While there’s no SR-22 insurance in Oklahoma, every driver must ensure that their driving license and vehicle documentation are in order.

The same goes for an insurance policy, as you are not legally permitted to drive without minimum liability car insurance in Oklahoma.

Can you get rid of an SR-22?

In Oklahoma, there are no SR-22 forms.

However, the higher insurance rates that usually result after driving violations can be reduced if you maintain a clean driving record for a period of time specified by your auto insurance company.

What are the penalties for violating traffic laws in Oklahoma?

Penalties can include fines, license suspension, vehicle registration suspension, and jail time. Additionally, as already mentioned, your car insurance rates may increase.

Rates vary with different car insurance companies, but you can find out more about these by simply entering your zip code at the top of this page.

What happens if I move from Oklahoma to a state that requires SR-22 insurance?

If you’re a driver in Oklahoma and you’re moving to a state that requires SR-22 insurance, you may need to have SR-22 insurance in your new state.

If you’re moving to a new state and need to get SR-22 insurance, you’ll need to get it from an insurance company that offers SR-22 insurance in your new state.

The form will need to be filed with your new state rather than with Oklahoma. Traffic offenses that could result in an SR-22 include:

  • A conviction for a DUI.
  • Driving without an insurance policy.
  • Driving without a valid license.
  • Involvement in a car accident where you were at fault.
  • Accumulation of multiple tickets over a period of time.
  • Failure to pay fines as required on tickets.

Do You Want to Find Cheap Car Insurance in Oklahoma?

Are you unhappy with the cost of your monthly insurance premiums and you want to find out what other insurance companies in Oklahoma are charging?

Fortunately, you’ve come to the right place.

Get a personalized car insurance quote with us by entering your zip code at the top of this page and selecting the option best suited to your personal needs.

A quick conversation with our national network of SR-22 experts can help you find great affordable solutions