Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance For Kentucky
Here at Cheap Insurance.com, we bring you everything you need to know about SR-22 car insurance in Kentucky.
If you live in the state of Kentucky and you are convicted of a serious traffic violation, you do not need to file an SR-22 certificate.
However, you do need to have minimum liability auto insurance.
What Is Minimum Liability Car Insurance?
Minimum liability auto insurance is the least amount of coverage you must pay for any damages you cause in the event of an accident and is based on your state’s laws.
Failing to carry the minimum liability insurance required by your state can lead to expensive fines, and you could be held personally liable for bodily or property damage if you cause an accident.
Minimum liability insurance includes:
- Bodily injury liability coverage which covers other people’s physical damages in an accident.
- Property damage liability coverage which covers damages to the other driver’s property.
In Kentucky, minimum liability insurance includes:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident.
- $25,000 property damage.
What Is SR-22 Insurance?
If you earn too many points for moving violations or you’re convicted of a major driving violation, your license could be temporarily suspended or revoked.
You may be required to obtain an SR-22 certificate as proof of insurance coverage before you can get back on the road in most states.
An SR-22 isn’t actually insurance, but it shows insurers that you have enough auto insurance liability coverage.
Some, but not all, states require you to obtain an SR-22 certificate if your driver’s license has been revoked or suspended, and you want to drive again.
Kentucky is one of the states that does not require you to file an SR-22 after you have been convicted of a serious traffic violation.
In most states, an SR-22 certificate stays on your driving record for up to three years. However, breaking traffic laws can extend an SR-22 requirement for a period of up to five years.
You may be required to submit an SR-22 insurance certificate to your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in order to get your suspended or revoked driver’s license reinstated. You’ll also have to pay any applicable fees to your state.
Depending on the state you live in, you may need to get SR-22 insurance if you:
- Are caught driving without a license or insurance.
- Have a driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) conviction.
- Have a license suspended due to excessive accidents or moving violations.
- Owe outstanding court-ordered child support payments.
- Incur multiple, repeated driving offenses in a short time frame.
- Are applying for a hardship or probationary driving permit.
If you allow your SR-22 certificate to lapse, your driver’s license could be suspended.
Does Kentucky Require SR-22 Insurance?
As we mentioned above, Kentucky is one of the handful of states that doesn’t require special documentation after you’ve had your license suspended.
However, you still have to prove to the Kentucky DMV that you have the minimum required insurance to stay on the road.
If you move to another state that does require an SR-22 certificate, you’ll need your insurer to file one for you.
In Kentucky, you can have your license revoked or suspended for the following violations:
- A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI or DWI).
- Driving without car insurance.
- Having committed repeat traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets.
- Numerous at-fault accidents.
- A fatal at-fault accident or one that results in injuries.
- Reckless or dangerous driving.
- Failure to pay fines from tickets.
- Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol test.
Moving Violations versus Non-moving Violations
The state of Kentucky’s traffic fines and penalties vary based on the type of moving or non-moving violation you committed.
The most common moving violations include:
- Speeding or driving too slowly.
- Disregarding road signs and signals.
- Failing to signal properly.
- Passing incorrectly or preventing another driver from passing.
Non-moving violations include:
- Illegally parking in a spot reserved for the handicapped.
- Illegally blocking or parking in front of a fire hydrant.
- Parking in front of an expired meter.
- Parking in a no-parking zone.
In most U.S. states, an SR-22 form is required after a driver has been convicted of a DUI, was caught driving without insurance, or committed another serious violation.
In Kentucky, however, traffic offenses result in fines, penalties, or jail time.
Key Point: Kentucky Traffic Fines and Penalties
The State of Kentucky’s Point System
The SR-22 system monitors drivers who fail to take out minimum liability insurance and who commit serious traffic violations.
The state of Kentucky has a point system in place to keep track of poor driving behavior and to curb dangerous driving.
Each traffic offense is given a value of 3 to 6 points that is recorded on your driving record and used to monitor your driving behavior.
If you accumulate too many points on your record, you could have your license suspended. The Kentucky point system identifies certain high-risk drivers that may be habitually negligent.
When a driver has accumulated 12 points (7 points if they are under the age of 18) within a two-year period, their privilege to operate a motor vehicle may be suspended.
Individuals are given an opportunity to meet with a hearing officer prior to any suspension. Failure to appear for the hearing results in a driving suspension for:
- 6 months for the first 12 points.
- 1 year for the second 12 points.
- 2 years for any subsequent accumulation of 12 points.
Points accumulated under the Kentucky point system expire two years from the date of conviction.
However, the conviction entry remains part of the driver’s record for a period of five years from the conviction date.
|Point Value||Violation Type|
|0||10 mph or less over speed limit on limited access highway|
|0||15 mph or more in CMV (out-of-state conviction—no points, but listed as a serious offense)|
|3||11-15 mph over speed limit on limited access highway|
|3||15 mph or less over speed limit on any non-limited access highway|
|3||15 mph over speed limit in CMV (commercial motor vehicle)|
|3||Stop violation (electric signal, railroad crossing, stop sign)|
|3||Failure to yield|
|3||Wrong way in one-way street|
|3||Too fast for conditions|
|3||Too slow for conditions|
|3||Failure to illuminate headlights|
|3||Failure to dim headlights|
|3||Improper lane usage|
|3||Improper use left lane/limited access highway|
|3||Failure to comply with instructional permit requirements/regulations|
|3||Failure to yield right-of-way to funeral procession|
|3||Any other moving hazardous violations|
|3||Texting while driving|
|4||Following too closely|
|4||Driving on wrong side of roadway|
|4||Changing drivers in a moving vehicle|
|4||Vehicle not under control|
|4||Failure to yield to emergency vehicle|
|6||16-25 mph over speed limit on any road or highway|
|6||Commission of moving hazardous violation involving and accident|
|6||Combination of any two or more moving hazardous violations in any one continuous occurrence|
|6||Failure to stop for school or church bus|
|Hearing—immediate suspension||Attempting to elude police officer|
|Hearing—possible suspension||26 mph over speed limit on any road or highway|
In Kentucky, traffic offenses are categorized as violations, misdemeanors, or infractions, according to the severity of the infringement.
Kentucky Felony Traffic Violations
The most serious offenses are referred to as felony traffic violations in Kentucky and they can result in severe penalties. This may include jail time, fines, and the loss of driving privileges.
The most common felony traffic offenses in Kentucky are DUI convictions, hit and run accidents, and reckless driving.
A first offense for any of these crimes can lead to a jail sentence of up to one year and a fine of up to $1,000.
Repeat offenders can face harsher penalties, especially if the violation leads to damage to property, severe bodily injury, or death.
In addition to criminal penalties, those convicted of felony traffic offenses may also be subject to civil penalties, such as increased insurance rates or the suspension of their driver’s license.
Traffic Misdemeanors in Kentucky
Kentucky traffic misdemeanors are offenses punishable by a fine or jail time, but they are less severe than felony offenses.
Some of the more common traffic misdemeanors in Kentucky include driving without a license, driving with a suspended or revoked license, and speeding.
Misdemeanors are punishable by a fine of up to $500 or jail time of 12 months.
However, the court may order a more lenient sentence if it finds that the driver is guilty, but does not pose a danger to the public.
Jail time is a possibility for some traffic misdemeanors. For example, driving with a suspended or revoked license can result in up to 30 days of jail time.
Kentucky misdemeanor traffic offenses may also lead to license suspensions or revocations.
Traffic Infractions in Kentucky
Infractions are minor violations of Kentucky’s traffic laws and regulations, such as failing to follow road rules, speeding, or running a red light.
Most traffic infractions may be penalized by fines and points on the offender’s driver’s license.
However, motorists who commit multiple traffic infractions over a short period may face even more severe penalties and consequences, including an increase in insurance rates.
How Do Traffic Violations Affect Insurance Premiums in Kentucky?
Drivers with violations such as speeding tickets and DUIs tend to pay more expensive premiums for car insurance since they are considered to be high-risk drivers.
In Kentucky, the increase in your auto insurance premiums will depend on the number and severity of the misdemeanors.
We’ve looked at a number of car insurance companies to compare the rates of good drivers to those who have been found guilty of repeated driving violations.
This is how much drivers in Kentucky with a clean driving record can expect to pay for car insurance:
Cheapest Car Insurance for Good Drivers (Clean Driving Records) in Kentucky
|Provider||Jefferson County||Fayette County||Kenton County||Boone County||Warren County||Average|
Here’s how much drivers in Kentucky can expect to pay if they are considered to be high-risk drivers:
Cheap Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers in Kentucky (DUI, traffic tickets)
|Provider||Jefferson County||Fayette County||Kenton County||Boone County||Warren County||Average|
DUI Convictions in Kentucky
While you may not have to worry about filing SR-22 insurance if you get a DUI in Kentucky, there are other severe penalties you will have to face if you are caught.
If it is your first offense, you face one or more of the following:
- 48 hours to 30 days in jail.
- A fine of $200 to $500.
- Suspension of your license for 30 to 120 days.
If it is your second offense you face one or more of the following:
- 7 days to 6 months in jail.
- A fine of $350 to $500.
- Suspension of your license for 12 to 18 months.
How to Pay a Traffic Violation Ticket in Kentucky
Offenders who have been issued a traffic violation ticket in Kentucky will be required to pay the fine within 30 days to avoid additional penalties.
In Kentucky, ticket payments may be made online, by mail, or in person at the local county clerk’s office in the district where the ticket was issued.
To pay a traffic ticket online, you can visit the Kentucky Court Information System (CIS) website and enter the required information from your traffic violation ticket into their system.
You can make the necessary payment using a credit card or electronic check.
Offenders who opt to pay their traffic ticket via mail can send their payment to the address listed on their ticket.
The payment must be enclosed along with the name, date of birth, and driver’s license number or vehicle information of the offender.
The ticket or case number of the ticket should also be included.
To pay a Kentucky traffic ticket in person, visit the local county clerk’s office and ask to make the payment.
You can pay in cash, or with a money order, personal check, or credit card.
FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Kentucky
Is SR-22 insurance required in Kentucky?
SR-22 car insurance is not required in Kentucky, but all motorists must carry minimum liability coverage insurance.
Instead of SR-22 insurance, Kentucky has a point system for drivers who commit traffic misdemeanors.
What happens if you get caught driving without insurance in Kentucky?
All owners of motor vehicles in Kentucky are required to carry minimum liability coverage.
If you are caught without having insurance, the vehicle owner, as well as the vehicle driver, are subject to a fine of between $500 and $1,000, up to 90 days in jail, or both.
How does a driving violation affect my auto insurance premiums in Kentucky?
If you’ve been convicted of a driving violation in Kentucky, you may be considered a high-risk or a nonstandard driver, which may result in your car insurance rates increasing substantially.
If you’re unable to get car insurance because an auto insurance company sees you as a high-risk driver, you can apply for a policy through the Kentucky Automobile Insurance Plan (KY AIP).
What happens if my auto insurance lapses in Kentucky?
When driving around Kentucky, it is important to have your insurance card with you at all times.
Even if you’re not on the road, you should bear in mind that your policy needs to be kept up to date.
The Kentucky Insurance System regularly checks that all registered motor vehicles in the state maintain liability coverage with minimum amount requirements of 25/50/25.
If your car is identified as uninsured, it is considered to be a Class B misdemeanor, and the penalties can be severe.
What happens if my car license is suspended in Kentucky?
License suspension is a common punishment in Kentucky for a wide range of offenses, including driving under the influence and even failing to pay your taxes.
If you’re caught driving with a suspended license in Kentucky, you’re subject to a prolonged suspension period, severe fines, and even jail time.
How do I reinstate my car license in Kentucky?
Unlike other states, Kentucky does not require an SR-22 filing for driver’s license reinstatement.
Here’s what you’ll have to do to regain your driving privileges in Kentucky:
- Wait until your license suspension period ends.
- Appear in court and present an insurance policy that is paid for and valid for at least six months.
- Retake the necessary driving exams if your license has been suspended for more than one year.
- Pay the $40 reinstatement fee.
How long is a license suspension in Kentucky?
For a first offense, the suspension will range from 30 to 120 days.
For a second offense, the suspension will range from 12 to 18 months. Third-time offenders will face a suspension of two to three years. For fourth-time offenders, the duration is five years.
Are You Looking for Cheap Car Insurance in Kentucky?
Whether you are a Kentucky resident or you are planning to relocate there, at CheapInsurance.com we can help you get an insurance policy tailored to your needs and pocket.
You can get a personalized auto insurance quote with us by simply entering your zip code at the top of this page.