Fausto Bucheli Jr


January 10, 2023

Edited By

John Davey

Find Out How To Get Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance For Arkansas

Here at, we’ll help you find the cheapest SR-22 insurance quotes in Arkansas.

Cheap Car Insurance in Arkansas

Even if you are driving with caution, an accident can take place in an instant, often resulting in damage to your vehicle and that of the other party involved.

No matter who is at fault for causing the accident, having the right car insurance is important to help you cover unexpected costs.

Most states require that drivers have standard car insurance, but if you commit certain serious traffic violations you may find that you also need an SR-22 certificate.

If, for example, you are found to be guilty of driving under the influence (DUI) or you drive without car insurance, you could be cited for an SR-22.

If you are not sure what the implications of an SR-22 are, or how you go about getting the certificate, read on because in this article we cover the essential facts about SR-22 insurance in Arkansas.

What Exactly Is SR-22 Car Insurance and What Does It Mean for You?

Although an SR-22 certificate is referred to as ‘insurance’, it’s not really an insurance policy at all.

Instead, SR-22 is a certificate that your auto insurance company will file with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Arkansas.

This certificate is an official form that you will need to carry around with you to prove that you have enough car insurance to meet the minimum auto liability coverage requirements of Arkansas State.

Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability Coverage

Auto liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or the injury/death of a third party while driving.

Each U.S. state has different minimum liability requirements, but there are always three essential elements that are included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

Drivers in Arkansas are required to carry liability auto insurance. The state’s mandated minimum liability insurance requirements are as follows:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 for property damage liability per accident.

Drivers failing to meet these state minimum requirements can be fined or their license may be suspended.

Over and above the standard liability coverage that every driver must carry, there are some drivers who will also need an official certificate to guarantee that they have enough insurance to cover the minimum requirements—an SR-22 certificate.

Who Needs SR-22 Insurance and How Long Do They Need It For?

Each state in the U.S. has its own set of violations for which an SR-22 certificate is needed.

In Arkansas, traffic violations are deemed to be civil or criminal. Civil traffic offenses are the least serious types of traffic offenses and penalties typically include community service or defensive driving courses.

In Arkansas, the following serious traffic offenses will require SR-22 coverage:

  • DUI.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Driving without insurance coverage.
  • Driving with a suspended license.

Minor violations such as being issued a speeding ticket or involvement in a standard accident will not require a driver to file for SR-22 insurance.

It’s important, however, to remember that your insurance rate after a ticket or accident may increase to some extent, but the increase on your premiums if you have to get SR-22 insurance will be much higher.

You are usually required to carry SR-22 insurance for a period of up to three years in Arkansas.

How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas?

If your license has been revoked or you have committed one of the violations mentioned above, your insurance company will need to file an SR-22 form with the Arkansas DMV on your behalf.

Some insurance providers are not willing to do this as they may consider you to be a high-risk driver.

Once you receive an SR-22 certificate, you may have to pay higher auto insurance rates than before. But you don’t have to go through the hassle of finding cheap SR-22 insurance yourself.

All you have to do is enter your zip code at the top of this page and you will see that we have done the hard work for you.

Insurers will only file an SR-22 form if a driver or policyholder requests it. This is an indication of a driver’s high insurance risk, which can inevitably increase the cost of auto insurance.

Not only that, but some insurance companies may even choose to not cover you if they deem you too high of a risk to insure.

You will be required to keep your SR-22 certificate for a minimum period of 36 months (3 years) in Arkansas. However, this may vary depending on the severity of your conviction.

You will need to take the following steps to file for SR-22 insurance in Arkansas: 

Find an insurer

Many insurers won’t file SR-22 forms, as drivers requiring one tend to be labeled high-risk, meaning they’re considered more likely to file a claim.

If your current insurer refuses to issue an SR-22 form for you, you’ll have to find a provider that will.

Do your research and let the team help you find an insurer that files SR-22 certificates in Arkansas.

Pay the SR-22 fee

Once you’ve found an insurer to file your SR-22, pay the fee so the form can be processed and filed on your behalf. In Arkansas, filing fees range from about $15 to $25.

Verify minimum liability coverage

Before your insurer will file your SR-22 form, you’ll need to buy liability coverage that meets or exceeds the state requirements of Arkansas.

Submit your SR-22

Once your fee has been paid, your insurer will file your SR-22 with the Arkansas DMV. When the application is confirmed, your insurer will notify you by mail that your SR-22 form has been accepted.

It’s important to note that if you allow your SR-22 insurance to lapse, your insurance provider is required to report this to the Department of Licensing.

An SR-22 certificate proves that you have sufficient auto insurance. A lapse in cover would mean that you are not insured.

If you decide to change your policy or insurance company, make sure you do not have any periods of time without coverage.

Types of SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas

When you apply for SR-22 insurance, you will need to specify the exact type of SR-22 insurance you need, depending on your circumstances.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance

There are certain situations where you will need to have SR-22 insurance even if you don’t own a vehicle. 

For example, if you are driving someone else’s car or a rental, you will still need Non-owner SR-22 insurance.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to drive on occasion (e.g., a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).

Owner SR-22 insurance

Owner SR-22 insurance is for Arkansas drivers who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who does own a car.
  • Want to reinstate their driver’s license.

Owner/operator SR-22 insurance

If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry Owner/operator SR-22 insurance.

Which Is the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Arkansas?

As we’ve mentioned earlier, when you get an SR-22 certificate, your car insurance costs will increase as you are now considered to be a high-risk driver.

It’s important to never settle for the first auto insurance quote that you get. We recommend that you shop around and find the cheapest SR-22 car insurance.

Let’s take a look at a few of the cheapest SR-22 car insurance rates in Arkansas.

According to our research, Direct Auto provides the cheapest SR-22 car insurance in Arkansas, with average monthly premiums of just $159.

Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance

ProviderPulaski CountyBenton CountyWashington CountySebastian CountySaline CountyAverage
Direct Auto$186$147$158$149$157$159
Bristol West$314$285$278$268$279$285

Besides shopping around for the cheapest SR-22 insurance, it’s best to get a completely personalized insurance quote. We all have different needs and budgets.

Most good insurers will tailor your insurance quote to your needs. You can get a customized SR-22 auto insurance quote by entering your zip code at the top of this page.

Key Point: What Affects the Cost of Car Insurance?

Car insurance companies usually look at your driving record, past claims, and vehicle model when deciding on insurance rates.

In Arkansas, auto insurance companies will also look at the following factors:

  • Age.
  • Credit.
  • Education.
  • Occupation.
  • Gender.
  • Marital status.
  • Zip code.
  • Driving history.
  • Car make and model.
  • Coverage level.
  • Deductible.

How Does an SR-22 Impact Your Insurance in Arkansas?

We’ve looked at the auto insurance offered by various insurers for high-risk drivers to give you an idea of what you can expect to pay if you have been cited for serious traffic offenses:

Cheap Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers in Arkansas (DUI, Traffic Ticket)

ProviderPulaski CountyBenton CountyWashington CountySebastian CountySaline CountyAverage
Direct Auto$186.00$147.00$158.00$149.00$135.00$155.00
Bristol West$314.00$285.00$275.00$268.00$255.00$279.40
The General$379.00$328.00$328.00$319.00$301.00$331.00

Remember, don’t settle for the first quote that you find for your car insurance, especially if you are a high-risk driver. Shop around and get a personalized quote that suits your needs.

Enter your zip code at the top of the page for a free auto insurance quote.

How to Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas

Although you will end up paying higher rates as a high-risk driver with an SR-22 certificate in Arkansas, you can still save money and pay relatively cheap car insurance prices. Here’s how:

  • Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, choose an insurance policy with premiums that are based on how many miles you drive per month.
  • Raise your deductibles: A deductible is the amount of money that you will need to first pay out of pocket before your insurance will kick in. If you are willing to pay more for expenses yourself, your insurer will lower your premiums.
  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Choose insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one company.
  • Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: You could get a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.

Apart from SR-22 Insurance in Arkansas, What Else Do You Need to Have?

Arkansas law only requires minimum liability insurance coverage to drive legally in the state, but driving with this cover alone is not recommended.

If you are involved in an accident, the costs for repairs and medical attention tend to be much higher than the cover provided with minimum liability coverage.

Some of the common options for additional coverage include:

Comprehensive coverage: This will pay out for vehicle damages caused in non-collision circumstances such as theft or weather-related events.

Collision: If you are involved in a collision, this cover will pay out whether the collision is with another vehicle or a stationary object.

Medical payments: If you are in an accident, this coverage will help pay toward the medical expenses for both you and those in your vehicle. This coverage is available regardless of fault.

Roadside assistance: This coverage helps if you need a tow, have a flat tire, have a dead battery, or if your car has broken down for any other reason.

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Arkansas

To help you find cheap SR-22 car insurance in Arkansas, we’ve rounded up the most frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance:

What is minimum liability car insurance in Arkansas?

The state’s mandated minimum insurance requirements in Arkansas are as follows:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 for property damage liability per accident.

What is an SR-22 in Arkansas?

In Arkansas, an SR-22 form needs to be submitted to the DMV. Once the form has been filed, you will receive an SR-22 certificate which you will need to have with you when driving.

This certificate is only needed if you have committed a serious traffic violation.

How do I get an SR-22 Certificate in Arkansas?

Your insurance provider will need to file an SR-22 form with the Arkansas DMV for you. As a high-risk driver, they may not be willing to do this.

If this is the case, you will need to find another insurer who will file the SR-22 form for you.

Who has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Arkansas?

According to the research that we did recently, the cheapest average insurance rate for drivers who need SR-22 insurance was from Direct Auto at $159.

How long do Arkansas drivers need SR-22 car insurance for?

The minimum required time that you need to keep your SR-22 certificate up to date is for three years, or 36 months.

It’s important to remember that you cannot have a break in insurance cover while you have an SR-22 certificate in place.

If you are found without insurance, your driver’s license will be suspended. Your license will remain suspended until you are insured. Driving with a suspended license is a crime.

How much car insurance do I need?

If you are insuring a new car, it is in your best interests to take out collision and comprehensive coverage which, unlike minimum liability coverage, covers damage to your car in the event of an accident.

However, if you are driving an older car that does not have much value, minimum liability insurance may be all that you need.

It is for these and other reasons that you are advised to do your research before deciding which car insurance is right for you.

Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in Arkansas?

Trying to find the cheapest SR-22 car insurance to suit your needs and your pocket is time-consuming and can be difficult.  Why not let us do the hard work on your behalf? is here to help you find cheap SR-22 insurance. All you have to do is enter your zip code at the top of this page to get the process started.