Even good drivers make mistakes sometimes. If you’re in a situation where you’ve found yourself convicted of a serious driving offense, you may be ordered by the court, Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), or Texas DPS (Department of Public Safety) to start carrying SR-22 insurance.

If you’re in a situation where your driver’s license has been revoked or suspended, getting SR-22 insurance is a necessary step before you can get your driving privileges reinstated. You will also need to pay any fines or penalties, and possibly complete a court-ordered program or sentence.

While this can feel overwhelming at first, getting SR-22 insurance in Texas isn’t difficult—it just requires some preparation and knowledge.

When it comes to SR-22 insurance, we’ve got you covered. 

In this article, we’ll go through everything you need to know about SR-22 insurance in Texas including who needs it, how to get it, and how much it costs.

Unfortunately, SR-22 insurance usually means your insurance provider will raise your premiums because you’re seen as a high-risk driver. 

That’s why we’ve researched various insurance companies and their premiums to help you find the cheapest and most reliable SR-22 auto insurance in Texas.

What Is SR-22 insurance?

SR-22 insurance isn’t really a type of insurance, although it’s often referred to as such. Instead, it is an insurance certificate that proves financial responsibility. 

The certificate shows that you meet the minimum motor vehicle liability insurance coverage required by Texas law—after being found at-fault for high risk violations while driving.

The minimum auto liability requirements in Texas are:

  • $30,000 in liability coverage for each person injured.
  • Up to $60,000 per accident.
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident.
 

These liability requirements protect both the policyholder and third parties in the event of injury, death, or property damage.

Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability

 

Almost all U.S. states require a minimum amount of auto liability insurance. This coverage helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or injury/death of a third party while driving. 

 

There are three key components to auto insurance liability:

 

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

Although every driver in Texas needs to meet the minimum auto liability requirements, only drivers with an SR-22 form need to prove they meet these requirements. 

If you have a clean driving record and do not have a revoked or suspended license, you will not need to carry SR-22 documents.

Many people believe that an SR-22 certificate is applicable to people who have been convicted of a DUI or DWI. While this is true, there are several other instances where a person may need an SR-22.

Some other instances where a driver may need to carry SR-22 insurance include:

  • Driving with a suspended license.
  • Driving without a license.
  • Multiple traffic convictions in a short period.
  • Unpaid child support.
  • Driving without meeting the minimum insurance requirements in Texas.
 

How to Get an SR-22 in Texas

You’ll know if you need to get SR-22 insurance in Texas when you are ordered by the court or the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). 

Generally, this will happen after being found at fault after a car crash that caused bodily injury, receiving a DUI conviction, or other major traffic offenses.

Once you know you need to get SR-22 insurance, here are the steps you need to take to receive your certificate:

  • If you’ve been found guilty of a DUI or DWI, you may need to complete a court-ordered program before you can apply for your SR-22.
  • Get in touch with your car insurance company and find out whether they provide SR-22 insurance. If they do, they will file an SR-22 on your behalf. Your insurer will also likely increase the price of your monthly premium payments for your car insurance policy because you will be considered a high-risk driver.
  • If your car insurance company does not provide it, you will need to contact other insurance providers, find one that does provide SR-22 insurance in Texas, and get a new auto insurance policy.
  • You will need to pay any relevant fees and fines, including an admin fee of between $15 to $50 and a driver’s license reinstatement fee of $100.
  • Your insurance company will file an SR-22 with the Texas DPS on your behalf, or you can request the documents and file it yourself.
  • Once your documents have been processed, your insurer will automatically notify you or you can check the Texas DPS website to see your status.
 

How Does an SR-22 Impact Your Insurance in Texas?

While SR-22 insurance won’t automatically increase the cost of your auto insurance rates, you have to disclose to your insurance provider that you need an SR-22. 

Key Point: Auto Insurance Rates

 

Your auto insurance is the contract agreed to by you and your insurer. It protects you against financial loss in the event of an accident or damage. Your auto insurance rate is the amount you’ll pay monthly for the coverage, and it is influenced by factors such as:

 

  • Your age.
  • Your driving record.
  • Your location.
  • Your credit.
  • The value of your car.

Once you’ve notified your insurer, they will be alerted to the fact that an incident has taken place. The severity of the incident dictates how much your auto insurance rates will increase by.

Once insurance providers are aware that you’ve committed a traffic violation, it may be difficult to find car insurance companies that will provide coverage at a rate you can afford. 

Don’t assume that your current insurance company will offer you the best rate. Rather, compare quotes from various companies to try and find the cheapest insurance quote.

Luckily, we’ve done the hard work for you. In the section below, we compare auto insurance quotes for you so you can find a cheap car insurance provider with an SR-22 certificate. 

 

How Much Does It Cost to Get SR-22 Insurance in Texas?

Unfortunately, when you need to get SR-22 insurance, you’ll have to cover several additional costs along with your SR-22. These include:

  • Paying higher liability coverage premiums.
  • Paying higher car insurance coverage premiums.
  • Losing your good driver eligibility status and associated insurance discount.
  • You’ll need to pay a one-time fee to your insurance provider for filing with the DPS.
  • Paying any related fines.
  • A fee to the Texas DMV to reinstate your driver’s license.
 

We’ve put together a list of the prices offered by various providers to help you find the cheapest rate in the following Texas counties:

  • Harris County.
  • Dallas County.
  • Tarrant County.
  • Bexar County.
  • Travis County.
 

On average, the cheapest car insurance coverage in Texas is provided by Mercury, and the most expensive is provided by Bristol West: 

  • Mercury at $287.82
  • Progressive at $434.18
  • The General at $448.34
  • Bristol West at $504.5
 

The cost of car insurance with an SR-22 will depend on a number of factors, including:

  • Which county you live in.
  • Your age.
  • The severity and frequency of your traffic violations.
  • The insured value of your vehicle. 
 

Here is a full table that shows the various prices for coverage in each of the Texas counties:

Provider

Harris County

Dallas County

Tarrant County

Bexar County

Travis County

Average

The General

$472.00

$561.50

$423.30

$444.40

$340.50

$448.34

Progressive

$481.18

$519.14

$422.66

$392.47

$355.44

$434.18

Bristol West

$483.00

$574.17

$544.67

$424.00

$496.83

$504.53

Mercury

$290.00

$256.00

$327.30

$284.25

$281.55

$287.82

How Does an SR-22 in Texas Compare to the Other States?

There are only six states in America that don’t require SR-22 insurance after a high-risk traffic violation. They are:

  • Delaware.
  • Kentucky.
  • New Mexico.
  • New York.
  • North Carolina.
  • Oklahoma.
 

To show you how SR-22 insurance compares to other states, we looked at the cost of SR-22 insurance in these four states:

  • New York.
  • Texas.
  • California.
  • Florida.

 

Although New York doesn’t mandate that high-risk drivers need to have SR-22 insurance, New York insurance companies do offer it. This is done for people who have moved from another state that does require it. 

For example, if you are required to carry an SR-22 due to an incident in Texas, then move from Texas to New York, you will still be required to get SR-22 insurance in New York.

 

State

Average

New York

$408.37

Texas

$428.71

California

$377.30

Florida

$364.65

 

While most states require that high-risk drivers maintain SR-22 coverage for three years, in most instances Texas will only require that you maintain it for two years. 

Once you’ve fulfilled the requirement, you may be able to shop around for cheaper insurance.

Types of SR-22 Insurance for Texas Drivers

SR-22 insurance is sometimes referred to as “high-risk insurance” because the driver is considered a high risk for insurance companies due to their traffic violations. 

There are three different types of SR-22 insurance in Texas:

SR-22 non-owner’s certificate

This is for drivers who:

  • Do not own a car.
  • Do not live in the same house as someone who owns a car.
  • May drive a car on occasion (for example, a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).

 

Even if you don’t own a car, Texas law states that the driver must meet the minimum liability insurance requirements. This means you’re obligated to follow the law anytime you get behind the wheel of a car (although it might not be your car).

SR-22 owner’s certificate

Sometimes called “regular SR-22 insurance”, owner SR-22 insurance is for people who:

  • Own a car.
  • Live in the same house as someone who owns a car.
  • Have had their driver’s license revoked or suspended and want to reinstate it.

If your driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, you will first need to get SR-22 insurance before your license can be reinstated.

SR-22 operator’s certificate

Operator SR-22 insurance provides coverage for drivers who operate motor vehicles they do not own but have permission to operate. For example, if you’re required to drive as part of your job.

Alternatives to SR-22 Insurance in Texas

SR-21 insurance

Unlike SR-22 insurance, SR-21 insurance has nothing to do with being found at fault for committing a traffic violation. 

Instead, it’s a document you will receive from your insurance provider after being in a car accident. This will prove that you met the minimum auto liability requirements at the time of the accident.

SR-22A insurance

There are only three states that require you to carry SR-22A insurance if you’ve violated the terms of your SR-22 insurance, including Texas. The other two states are:

  • Georgia.
  • Missouri.

A court-ordered SR-22A certificate means that you’ll need to pay six months of your auto insurance premiums upfront, instead of paying monthly. 

It will generally raise the cost of your premiums, and paying six months of installments upfront may be a financial challenge for many people.

FR-44 insurance

FR-44 insurance is similar to SR-22 insurance, but it’s only issued in instances where a driver has been convicted of a DUI or DWI.

FR-44 insurance is only applicable in two states: 

  • Florida.
  • Virginia.

Having an FR-44 certification will double the usual liability coverage requirements of the state.

If you need to carry FR-44 insurance because of a violation committed in one of these states and you then move to Texas, you will need to obtain SR-22 insurance once you’re in Texas.

SR-50 insurance

SR-50 insurance is only issued for traffic violations committed in Indiana. If you have SR-50 insurance and move from Indiana to Texas, you will need to obtain SR-22 insurance.

 

FAQs about SR-22 Insurance in Texas

Does Texas have SR-22 insurance?

Yes. You may have to carry SR-22 insurance after being found guilty of one of the following traffic violations:

  • Driving with a suspended license.
  • Driving without a license.
  • Multiple traffic convictions in a short period.
  • Unpaid child support.
  • Driving without meeting the minimum insurance requirements in Texas.
 

How long is an SR-22 required in Texas?

Generally, SR-22 insurance is required for two years in Texas. Depending on the severity of your driving infringement, this may be longer. 

If you allow your SR-22 to lapse before the end date, you’ll be required to reinstate your SR-22 certificate and the period will start again from day one.

Why do I need an SR-22 in Texas?

If you are considered a high-risk driver, you will need to carry SR-22 insurance to prove that you’re meeting Texas’ minimum liability insurance requirements.

How do I get my SR-22 in Texas?

If you are ordered by the court, Texas DMV, or Texas DPS to get SR-22 insurance, you will need to find a car insurance company that offers it. 

Your insurer will send the documentation to the Texas PDS, and your insurer will issue you a certificate.

How do you get your license suspended in Texas?

Your driver’s license can be suspended in Texas for the following violations:

  • DUI/DWI.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Driving without car insurance coverage.
  • Driving without liability insurance coverage.
  • Failure to pay traffic tickets.
 

Your license can also be suspended for reasons not relating to driving, such as:

  • Vandalism.
  • Drug offenses.
  • Stealing gasoline.
  • Public intoxication.

 

If you have had your driver’s license suspended, you will need to obtain SR-22 insurance before you can reinstate your license.

Can I drive someone else’s car in Texas?

Texas law requires that all drivers meet the state’s minimum liability insurance requirements. 

Even if you don’t own a car, you will need non-owner SR-22 insurance or operator SR-22 insurance if you intend to drive another person’s car. 

If you don’t have SR-22 insurance, you cannot legally drive someone else’s car.

 

 

 

 

Disclaimer:

Cheap Insurance strives to keep all listed information accurate and up-to-date. The costs we provide shouldn’t be considered as the price or amount you will pay for any form of insurance provided by the auto insurance companies discussed on the CheapInsurance.com website. All information displayed on this website is presented without warranty and is nonbinding. Visitors to the CheapInsurance.com website should contact CheapInsurance.com, their insurance broker, or their financial provider for final pricing, offers, and quotes.

Methodology:

Our researchers sourced insurance quotes from auto insurance companies that operate in the regions we investigated. We used a standardized base profile for each section to compare auto insurance offers.

For the following sections:

  • SR-22 insurance


Base profile used:

Gender: Male

Marital Status: Married

Age: 32

Vehicle: The most popular sedan by sales in the state

Vehicle Year: 2017

Model Type: The most basic type/entry-level model.

Mileage: 12000 miles

  • Cheapest Car Insurance for Young Drivers


Base profile used:

 

Marital Status: Single 

Age: 20

Gender: Male

Vehicle: Drives the most popular sedan by sales in the state

Vehicle Year: 2017

Model Type: The most basic type/entry-level model.

Mileage: 12000 miles