Fausto Bucheli Jr


August 22, 2022

Edited By

John Davey
Cheap SR-22 Insurance in Tennessee

If you’re looking for cheap SR-22 car insurance in Tennessee, you’ve come to the right place!

Birthplace of the tow truck, Elvis’ Graceland estate, and a few famous brands of whiskey, Tennessee has a rich history to share.

It’s also home to over 95,000 square miles of road, which are considered to be some of the best in the country.

Although this isn’t the largest state, it has some of the most incredible drives. From mountainous terrain to flatter plains—Tennessee has it all.

But why would you need SR-22 insurance if you already have car insurance?

In this article, we’re going to take a dive into SR-22 insurance in Tennessee. Read on to learn all that you need to know about it, as well as the best insurance premiums available to you.

What Is SR-22 Car Insurance and Why Do You Need It?

SR-22 car insurance is not really insurance cover at all. Rather, it’s an official form that drivers who’ve committed serious driving violations need to carry with them at all times.

This SR-22 form proves that a high-risk driver has taken on the financial responsibility of meeting the minimum auto liability coverage requirements of the State of Tennessee.

Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability Coverage

Auto liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or the injury/death of a third party while driving.

Each U.S. state has different minimum liability requirements, but there are always three key aspects that are included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

If you do not have car insurance or another way of meeting your financial responsibilities following a car accident in Tennessee, you will face fines and lose the right to drive your vehicle.

In fact, a new law passed in 2017, says that uninsured drivers in Tennessee will pay fines and risk losing their vehicle registration if they are unable to demonstrate proof of financial responsibility.

While having car insurance is absolutely essential, SR-22 insurance proves to authorities that you have the minimum required car insurance in Tennessee.

Key Point: What Are Liability Limits?

Liability limits are the maximum dollar amount of damages (‘indemnity’) an insurance carrier will pay out on your behalf.

The required minimum limits of your liability car insurance in Tennessee are:

  • $25,000 for each injury or death per accident.
  • $50,000 for total injuries or deaths per accident.
  • $15,000 for property damage per accident.

Who Needs SR-22 Insurance and How Long Do They Need It For?

Each state has its own list of violations for which SR-22 insurance form filing is needed. In Tennessee, you will need SR-22 if you commit one of the following traffic offenses:

  • Driving without insurance or with a suspended license.
  • Causing a serious at-fault accident.
  • Failing to pay as ordered by a legal judgment.
  • DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol).
  • Refusing to take a breath test at the scene of a DUI stop.

Depending on how serious your traffic violation is, you may need SR-22 insurance in Tennessee for up to five years.

Within the five-year period, the SR-22 may be canceled provided it is not required for any other suspension.

Minor offenses are traffic violations that every driver commits at some stage in their driving career. If you have committed a minor offense, which is otherwise known as a common traffic violation, you generally won’t need SR-22 insurance in Tennessee.

Some minor offenses can include the following:

  1. A speeding ticket.
  2. Stop sign and traffic light tickets.
  3. Distracted driving tickets (using a cellular phone).
  4. Driving without a driver’s license in your possession.
  5. Failure to signal direction while driving.

A comprehensive list of traffic violations, including misdemeanors, is available on the Tennessee Government website.

Key Point: Traffic offenses

  • Most Tennessee traffic offenses are classified as Class C misdemeanors. These include speeding tickets for example.
  • Other violations that carry more severe penalties are classified as Class B misdemeanors. Reckless driving is a Class B misdemeanor.
  • Class A misdemeanors include reckless endangerment.

How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, if you have been convicted of a serious traffic violation, such as DUI (driving under the influence) or without insurance, you may be required to get SR-22 car insurance.

You can get SR-22 insurance by requesting it from your insurer or by starting a new policy with a new insurer.

It’s always good to shop around for car insurance quotes and to not stick with either the same insurer year-on-year, or with the first insurance quote that you get.

Your insurer will submit the SR-22 certificate to the Tennessee Department of Safety (DOS).

This will prove to them that you have car insurance that can cover another driver’s injuries or damages if you happen to be at fault during an accident.

Generally, insurance companies will charge around $25 to submit the SR-22 certificate to the DOS on your behalf.

Key Point:

There are specific minimums that apply to car insurance in Tennessee. Here we look at the three most important ones that will impact your car insurance portfolio:

Minimum time:

You will need to have an SR-22 in Tennessee for a period of between three to five years.

Minimum coverage:

You will need to maintain at least the minimum car insurance coverage required by Tennessee law, which is bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident; property damage liability of $15,000 per accident; and uninsured motorist bodily injury of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.

Minimum period:

If there is any gap in your SR-22 coverage, the clock will reset and you will need to start the process all over again.

What Types of SR-22 Insurance Are There in Tennessee?

When you apply for SR-22 insurance, you will need to specify the exact type of SR-22 insurance you need, depending on your circumstances.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance

If you do not own a car but still drive a friend or family member’s car, you will need to file for non-owner car insurance. This is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to drive on occasion (e.g. a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).

Owner SR-22 insurance

Owner SR-22 insurance is for Tennessee drivers who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who does own a car.
  • Want to reinstate their driver’s license.

Owner/operator SR-22 insurance

If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry owner/operator SR-22 insurance.

Where Can You Get the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Tennessee?

If your license has been suspended or revoked in the State of Tennessee and you want to get it reinstated, you’ll need to get SR-22 insurance through your car insurance company.

It’s important to note that not all car insurance companies are willing to insure who they consider to be high-risk drivers (people needing an SR-22 certificate).

Generally, those car insurance companies that are prepared to offer car insurance to someone needing an SR-22 certificate, will charge a higher car insurance premium.

Let’s take a look at a few of the cheapest SR-22 car insurance rates in Tennessee.

According to our research, Freedom National provides the cheapest SR-22 car insurance in Tennessee, with average monthly premiums of just $217:

ProviderAverage Monthly PriceMonthly Price in Shelby CountyMonthly Price in Davidson CountyMonthly Price in Knox CountyMonthly Price in Hamilton CountyMonthly Price in Rutherford County
Freedom National$217$299$233$214$99$241
Bristol West$493$807$580$428$199$454

How Does an SR-22 Impact Your Insurance in Tennessee?

We looked at the auto insurance rates offered by various insurers for low-risk drivers, to compare them to the rates they offer to drivers who have been convicted of driving-related offenses.

Mile Auto, which is a pay-per-mile insurer, offers the cheapest car insurance at just $51 per month on average.

This following table lists how much drivers with a clean driving record can expect to pay for car insurance in Tennessee:

ProviderAverageShelby CountyDavidson CountyKnox CountyHamilton CountyRutherford County
Mile Auto$51$56$60N/A$34$54
Liberty Mutual$153$173$193$150$89$159

As a high-risk driver, you will find the best deal with Certainly, which charges just $83 per month on average across Tennessee:

ProviderAverageShelby CountyDavidson CountyKnox CountyHamilton CountyRutherford County
Freedom Nation$212$275$233$214$99$241
The General$262$423$283$235$115$255
Bristol West$434$639$534$394$184$418

Get a personalized car insurance quote.

Why Is My Car Insurance Premium So High?

The amount of money you will pay for your car insurance premium is directly influenced by a number of very different factors.

Here’s a list of what commonly determines the bottom line on your car insurance policy in Tennessee:

Your driving record: If you have had accidents or traffic violations, it is likely that you will pay more than someone with a completely clean driving record.

How much you use your car: The more miles you drive and the more often you drive those miles, the more chance for accidents, and so your premium will increase accordingly.

Your location: Due to higher rates of vandalism, theft and accidents, drivers in urban areas pay more than those living in small towns and rural areas.

Your age: Mature drivers tend to have fewer accidents than younger ones, which means that their car insurance may be cheaper.

Your gender: Statistically, women get into fewer accidents than men and have fewer traffic violations overall, so women often pay less for car insurance.

The car you drive: The cost of your car is a key factor in what it costs to insure it. Any enhancements will attract a higher fee, as will the popularity of the vehicle for theft.

Your claims history: How often you have claimed from insurance will impact your insurance rates. This can drive up your car insurance premiums.

At the end of the day, we all pay different insurance rates and what we have provided in this article is a guide so that you can see who is generally the most affordable insurer per state.

Why not get a personalized car insurance quote for your car insurance today with

How Can I Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Tennessee?

Although you will end up paying higher rates for SR-22 insurance in Tennessee, you can still save money. Here’s how:

  • Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, opt for insurance that charges you based on how many miles you drive per month.
  • Raise your deductibles: If you do this, your insurer will likely reduce your premiums.
  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Opt for insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one company.
  • Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: Enjoy a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.

Apart from SR-22 Car Insurance in Tennessee, What Else Will You Need to Have in Place?

Collision and comprehensive Insurance. If you get into a car accident, or your vehicle is in any way damaged, collision and comprehensive insurance will settle the repair costs to your car.

Uninsured motorist coverage (UM). If someone crashes into you and they don’t have car insurance, uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your medical expenses.

If you have your car on lease or loan, you will most likely need collision and comprehensive cover in Tennessee.

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Tennessee.

To help you find cheap SR-22 car insurance in Tennessee, we at rounded up the most frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance:

Do I need Personal Injury Protection in Tennessee?

Personal injury protection (PIP) is a feature of auto insurance that covers the medical expenses related to a car accident.

PIP is not required or even available in Tennessee. Instead of PIP insurance, Tennessee car insurance companies will offer medical payments insurance which helps with hospital bills resulting from a car accident.

What is an SR-22 in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, an SR-22 form needs to be applied for and filed for any driver that has committed a serious traffic offense.

How do I get an SR-22 Certificate in Tennessee?

Your insurance provider must file an SR-22 form for you; however, as a high-risk client, they may be unwilling to do this and you’ll need to find another insurer.

How much more do I need to pay for SR-22 insurance in Tennessee compared to standard insurance?

In general, a policy with SR-22 is more expensive than standard insurance cover. A good driver can expect to pay around $110 per month, whereas a high-risk driver may look at premiums of around $230.

Who has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Tennessee?

According to our research, Freedom National offers the best option for cheap car insurance in Tennessee. Their average premium across good and high-risk drivers is $217.

For how long do Tennessee drivers need SR-22 car insurance?

The minimum required time for SR-22 insurance is five years for drivers convicted of a severe traffic offense. This period may be increased for more serious offenses.

Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in Tennessee?

Why not get a personalized car insurance quote for your car insurance today?