Average Annual Premiums in Georgia = $1,694  | via Insure.com

Cheap Insurance Georgia

Cheap Insurance Georgia

Driving in Georgia: Statewide Stats

Insurance Facts

Be sure to explore every option for cheap insurance Georgia has available, because the cost is going up! The average 12-month insurance policy for a Georgia driver was $1,305 in December of 2011, but has risen to $2,201 as of December 2013!

78% of Georgians commute by car each workday, with an average commute time of 27 minutes each way. With a population of just under 10 million residents in the state, that’s a lot of people on the road! On top of that, around 16% of drivers are uninsured, which has increased insurance rates a great deal over the last few years.

State Car Insurance Requirements

  • The minimum property damage liability is $25,000 per accident.
  • The minimum bodily injury liability$25,000 for one individual, and $50,000 for an accident.
  • Uninsured motorist coverage is not required, but it highly recommended as the rate of uninsured drivers has climbed steadily throughout the state

Did you know?

  • Gainesville, Georgia is known as the chicken capital of the world, and it is technically illegal to eat chicken with anything but your fingers within the city limits.
  • Georgia law states that members of the state assembly cannot be ticketed for speeding while the state assembly is in session (lucky them!)
  • State law also mandates that Donkeys may not be kept in bathtubs, you may not carry an ice cream cone in your back pocket on Sundays and, in Acworth, Georgia all citizens must own a rake.
  • Georgia is home to the oldest skate park in the nation.
  • Georgia is the home of CNN, the federal CDC, and Coca-Cola.
  • Be sure to lock your doors! The top three stolen cars in Georgia for 2011 were the 1996 Honda Accord, 1996 Chevrolet Pickup (full size), and 2000 Honda Civic.

Helpful Resources

DMV website

The Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS) handles most driving and vehicle issues – their website may be found here.

DUI Information

There were 27,903 DUI arrests last year and 301 drunk driving fatalities (25% of total traffic deaths), and these numbers continue to rise. Mothers Against Drunk Driving considers the state to have excellent enforcement, but it currently pushing legislation to require ignition interlock devices for first time offenders.

Currently, penalties for a first-time DUI offense include license suspension/revocation, required DUI school, possible jail time, and fines that can add up to thousands of dollars. Furthermore, a DUI conviction stays on your driving record for your entire life.

More info on DUI, and enforcement can be found here.

Registration Information

Georgia vehicle registrations are conducted at the local county tax commissioner’s offices. A full map with listings may be found at the bottom of the webpage found here.

Georgia residents have 7 days to register a new vehicle, and new residents must register their vehicles within 30 days of becoming a resident. Failure to register within such a time period may result in a fine of up to $100.

The Bottom Line

Georgia is growing at a rapid rate, which means more cars on the road. Because of its diverse economy, the state attracts residents from all over the world. If you are new to the state, or have lived there your entire life, it might be a good time to re-shop your insurance policy, as rates have been fluctuating a great deal as the state’s population grows and the demographics shift. Call us today to speak to a live agent who can guide you through the process, and ensure that you are getting the lowest possible rates.

We Have Your Town Covered!

Average Annual Premiums in Georgia = $1,694  | via Insure.com

Have questions about auto insurance in your state? Want a quote for car insurance? Start with your zipcode for a fast, free quote.

OR speak to an agent:

(844) 334-6206

Request Auto Quote

Not Convinced?

Local Georgia agencies we can beat in price.