At, we’ve put together useful tips, valuable information, and price comparisons to help you find cheap car insurance in Arkansas.

Arkansas is nicknamed the ‘Natural State’ because of its beautiful rivers, mountains, and wildlife.

Acres of national forests, parks, and expansive lakes are just a few beautiful sights attracting millions of visitors each year.

Before you plan a trip to check out the scenery in Arkansas, make sure you have proper insurance.

It is a legal requirement for Arkansas drivers to have minimum liability car insurance before they take to the roads.

We have found that on average, the cost of a minimum liability car insurance policy in Arkansas is $208.75 per month.

Navigating the Natural State: 2024 Updates & Insurance Insights for Arkansas

Arkansas drivers, Here’s your guide to navigating the road ahead in 2024:

Arkansas Vehicle Code Changes:

  • Hands-free law: As of July 1st, 2024, holding a phone while driving is completely prohibited, even at stoplights. Bluetooth and hands-free devices remain acceptable. (Source: Arkansas Act 846 of 2023)
  • Medical marijuana updates: New regulations for medical marijuana patients are expected in mid-2024. Stay informed through the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission. (Source: Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission)
  • Teen driver restrictions: Graduated driver’s license program revisions are being considered, potentially impacting restrictions for first-time drivers. Follow updates from the Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles. (Source: Arkansas Department of Motor Vehicles)

Average Auto Insurance Rates in Arkansas (2024):

(Sources: The Zebra, Bankrate)

Company Minimum Coverage Full Coverage
State Farm $177 $448
Geico $189 $385
Progressive $192 $371
Farmers $207 $425
USAA $214 $432

Remember: Individual rates vary depending on factors like driving history, vehicle type, and location.

Rates vary on an individual basis, depending on your:

  • Driving history.
  • Credit history.
  • Marital status.
  • Age.
  • Gender.
  • Vehicle type.
  • Insurance provider.
  • Location within the state.
  • Coverage type.
  • Set deductible.

To help you find the best deals on car insurance in the state, we’ve compared quotes from car insurers in these Arkansas counties:

  • Pulaski County.
  • Benton County.
  • Washington County.
  • Sebastian County.
  • Saline County.

We’ve also compared quotes from these car insurers:

  • Dairyland.
  • Direct Auto.
  • The General.
  • Bristol West.
  • Traders.

Because the cost of car insurance is dependent on your individual driving profile, we’ve gone a step further and compared the cost of Arkansas car insurance for these types of drivers:

  • Good drivers (those with a clean driving record).
  • Young drivers (those aged between 16 and 25).
  • Bad drivers (those with a history of traffic violations).

What Is Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Arkansas?

Minimum liability insurance is the least amount of coverage you need to pay for any damages you cause in a car accident. Liability insurance typically includes:

  • Bodily injury liability coverage: This pays for other people’s physical damages in an accident.
  • Property damage liability coverage: This covers damages to the other driver’s property if you are involved in an accident.

Liability coverage helps to pay for property damage or bodily injuries that occur from a car accident you cause. It does not cover harm to you, your family, or your vehicle.

The minimum liability coverage requirements in Arkansas are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury (per person).
  • $50,000 bodily injury (per accident–multiple people injured).
  • $25,000 property damage.

Key Point: Is Minimum Liability Coverage Enough?

While it may suit your needs and your pocket to save money by getting only the minimum liability insurance required to comply with Arkansas law, this may not be adequate.

Let’s take a look at this in a bit more detail. The Arkansas minimum coverage for bodily injury liability is $25,000.

If you’ve caused a serious accident and the other party’s medical bills total $50,000, you’ll have to pay $25,000 from your pocket (the difference between $50,000 and $25,000).

Remember, liability insurance only protects third parties and doesn’t reimburse you if your car is stolen, damaged, or totaled.

Arkansas requires insurance for all vehicles that operate on or are parked on state roadways. If you drive in Arkansas, you’ll need to carry proof of insurance in your car at all times. You’ll need to present your proof of insurance when:

  • A law enforcement officer asks you for it.
  • You want to renew your vehicle registration.
  • The insured vehicle is involved in an accident.

Find Cheap Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Arkansas

To help you find the cheapest minimum liability car insurance in Arkansas, we’ve compared the rates offered by four insurance companies. We have found that on average, the cost of a minimum liability car insurance policy in Arkansas is $208.75.

Direct Auto offers the lowest insurance rates for minimum liability coverage, costing $94.60 on average per month.

Cheapest Minimum Liability Insurance in Arkansas

Provider Pulaski County Benton County Washington County Sebastian County Saline County Average
Direct Auto $109.00 $88.00 $94.00 $89.00 $93.00 $94.60
Dairyland $229.00 $193.00 $198.00 $202.00 $216.00 $207.60
The General $289.00 $251.00 $251.00 $245.00 $294.00 $266.00
Bristol West $314.00 $285.00 $258.00 $246.00 $231.00 $266.80

Cheap Car Insurance in Arkansas for Drivers with Clean Driving Records

“Good” drivers (drivers with a clean driving record) are in a favorable position to find cheap car insurance. Car insurance companies consider good drivers to be people who:

  • Have not been the cause of any car accidents.
  • Have committed no traffic offenses.
  • Have a good credit score.
  • Have no speeding tickets.
  • Have no reckless driving charges.
  • Have no DUI convictions.

To save you more money, many of the best car insurance companies also offer a good driver discount on your car insurance rates.

Some car insurance companies will offer an additional discount if you have completed an accredited defensive driving course.

We’ve looked at the average car insurance rates offered by Bristol West in Arkansas for good drivers. We found that on average, the cost of an insurance policy for good drivers in Arkansas is $334.60 per month.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Good Drivers (Clean Driving Records) in Arkansas

Provider Pulaski County Benton County Washington County Sebastian County Saline County Average
Bristol West $385.00 $347.00 $321.00 $311.00 $309.00 $334.60

Cheap Car Insurance in Arkansas for High-Risk Drivers

Car insurance companies use the term ‘high risk’ to describe drivers who are more likely to make a claim against their auto insurance policy.

Some of the offenses that may lead to being considered a high-risk driver, include:

  • Receiving a DUI conviction.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Speeding tickets.
  • Being found at-fault in a major accident.
  • Having too many points on your driving record.
  • Driving without meeting the minimum liability coverage requirements.
  • A poor credit score.
  • Unpaid child support payments.
  • Unpaid insurance policy premiums.

If you are a high-risk driver, Arkansas car insurance companies are likely to increase the cost of your insurance.

Let’s take a closer look at how much car insurance could cost for bad drivers in Arkansas.

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Arkansas (DUI, Traffic Tickets)

Provider Pulaski County Benton County Washington County Sebastian County Saline County Average
Direct Auto $186.00 $147.00 $158.00 $149.00 $135.00 $155.00
Bristol West $314.00 $285.00 $275.00 $268.00 $255.00 $279.40
The General $379.00 $328.00 $328.00 $319.00 $301.00 $331.00
Dairyland $422.00 $353.00 $361.00 $355.00 $346.00 $367.40
Traders N/A $254.00 N/A $244.00 $238.00 $245.33

Cheapest Car Insurance in Arkansas for Young Drivers

Young drivers are, by default, less experienced than older drivers. Their inexperience poses a higher risk to insurance companies, so their car insurance is often more expensive.

We’ve compared the cost of car insurance for young drivers to help you save on auto insurance costs. The cheapest option for young drivers is offered by Direct Auto at a cost of $109.40 on average per month.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Young Drivers in Arkansas 

Provider Pulaski County Benton County Washington County Sebastian County Saline County Average
Direct Auto $126.00 $103.00 $108.00 $103.00 $107.00 $109.40
GAINSCO $351.00 $260.00 $251.00 $275.00 $334.00 $294.20
Dairyland $263.00 $226.00 $231.00 $237.00 $249.00 $241.20
The General $407.00 $360.00 $360.00 $346.00 $416.00 $377.80
Bristol West $423.00 $393.00 $385.00 $364.00 $380.00 $389.00
Traders N/A $227.00 N/A N/A N/A $227.00

Out-of-State Car Insurance

Your car insurance policy will cover you for short trips out of state, but for long-term stays, you should check with your insurance carrier as you may need to update your policy to match your new residence.

You can’t live in one state and buy car insurance in another, so it makes sense to purchase car insurance in the state where you spend most of your time.

For short road trips of a few days or weeks, almost all car insurance policies will cover you anywhere in the United States, no matter how far you travel. This includes commuting from one state to another—for example, if you live in New Jersey and drive into New York City every day for work.

If you have the minimum legal coverage for your state and you have an accident while on an interstate trip, your insurance policy will function as though you’ve had the appropriate minimum amount of car insurance for the state in which the accident occurred.

Every state has its own definition of residency, but typically, if you live in a state for more than a few months, or live and work there full-time, you are considered to be a resident.

If you drive across international borders or move to another state, you should update your car insurance company accordingly.

Although the grace period will vary from one insurer to another, you usually have 30 to 90 days to cancel your car insurance and get car insurance in your new state.

To find the best insurance rates in other U.S. states, read our articles below:

Top Tips for Finding Affordable Car Insurance

Consider your cover type

If you have an older car that isn’t worth very much, minimum liability auto insurance rather than comprehensive cover could save you some money.

However, minimum liability car insurance might not offer the cover level you want.

Liability-only car insurance will cover damage to other vehicles or injuries to other people when you’re driving.

Comprehensive insurance covers damage to a car from instances other than accidents, like theft or fire, and is usually more expensive than minimum liability insurance.

If your car is financed or leased, your lender is likely to require that you have liability insurance, comprehensive coverage, and collision insurance.

If you lose your required insurance coverage, your lender could add single-interest insurance to your loan in order to protect themselves.  Single-interest insurance protects the lender, but doesn’t cover your losses in the event that the vehicle is damaged or destroyed.

You should avoid allowing your car insurance to lapse, because single-interest car insurance is much more expensive than standard car insurance.

Consider how you use your car

If you only drive to get to work, the grocery store, and social events, then most types of standard car insurance will meet your needs.

If, however, you have unique needs, you should check whether your car insurance company covers these requirements. Unique needs can include:

  • Multiple drivers sharing one car.
  • Using your car for ridesharing.
  • Using your car for deliveries.
  • Wanting to consolidate all of your insurance policies under one provider.

Compare quotes from different car insurance companies

Even if you think you’ve found a good deal on car insurance, it’s always a good idea to shop around for a lower rate.

The only way to be completely certain that you’re getting the best rates on your car insurance is to compare quotes from multiple insurers.

This can be quite time-consuming. You’ll need to phone each car insurance company or fill out an online form for them to give you a quote.

To save time, you can go through a licensed insurance agent or compare quotes from different insurance providers by using our online quote finder.

All you have to do is enter your zip code at the top of this page to find personalized car insurance quotes for your needs and budget.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Arkansas

The General

The General is an auto insurance provider that operates in multiple states across the U.S.

The company was originally founded in 1963 and specializes in car insurance coverage for high-risk drivers.

The General Automobile is a subsidiary of PGC Holdings Corporation (PGC), which is an affiliate of American Family Insurance.

PGC has been writing automobile insurance throughout the country for nearly 60 years. It is a leader in the low-cost auto insurance field and has a Better Business Bureau (BBB) rating of A+.

Bristol West

Founded in 1973, Bristol West’s national footprint makes it one of the top ten biggest insurance companies in the U.S.

Bristol West was originally created to provide high-risk drivers with affordable insurance policies and has since expanded its services to all types of drivers.

Some of the benefits offered by Bristol West include:

  • Multiple policy bundling discounts.
  • Personalized car insurance policies.
  • Rideshare coverage.
  • Medical payments.
  • Gap coverage.
  • Towing and roadside assistance.
  • Rental car reimbursement.

Car Insurance in Arkansas FAQs

What car insurance is required in Arkansas?

The following coverage is required by the state of Arkansas to legally operate a motor vehicle:

  • $25,000 bodily injury (per person).
  • $50,000 bodily injury (per accident–multiple people injured).
  • $25,000 property damage.

How much is minimum liability car insurance in Arkansas per month?

According to our research, the cost of minimum liability car insurance in Arkansas is $208.75 on average per month.

In Arkansas, does insurance cover you if you borrow a car?

Non-owner car insurance is liability coverage that protects you if you have an accident while driving someone else’s car.

In Arkansas, non-owner insurance pays for injuries and property damage that you cause others, but it won’t pay for damage to the borrowed car or your own medical expenses.

Is it legal to drive without car insurance in Arkansas?

It’s a crime to operate a vehicle without proper insurance in the state of Arkansas.

Being caught violating this law can result in an initial fine of between $50 and $500 and, depending on your driving history, jail time.

Your license and registration could be suspended for 60 days and may cost $500 for reinstatement.

How can I get affordable car insurance in Arkansas?

The two best ways to get affordable car insurance rates are:

  • Ask for available car insurance discounts.
  • Get quotes from different companies and compare them.

What is the best car insurance company in Arkansas?

The best insurance company may not have the cheapest car insurance rates, but may excel in another important area for you.

When choosing auto insurance, consider which aspect is most important to you—such as price, coverage offerings, or available discounts.

How Do I Find Cheap Auto Insurance in Arkansas?

To find the cheapest Arkansas car insurance, we recommend comparing insurance quotes from multiple companies.

This can be a time-consuming process, so why not let help you find the best deals? You can do this by simply entering your zip code at the top of this page and you’ll find the information you require quickly and easily.