Average Annual Premiums in North Carolina = $1,022  | via Insure.com

Cheap Insurance North Carolina

Cheap Insurance North Carolina

Driving in North Carolina: Statewide Stats

When shopping, residents should get as many competing quotes for cheap insurance North Carolina agents can offer. There are almost 8 million registered vehicles in the state of North Carolina as of 2012. The average annual cost for auto insurance in the state is $1,060 (quite a bit lower than most states).

Insurance Facts

Around 14% of drivers in North Carolina are uninsured, which normally results in higher insurance premiums, but because the state’s population is so spread out, without major traffic density, insurance rates remain lower than average.

North Carolina State Car Insurance Requirements

  • $30,000 per person for bodily injury
  • $60,000 per accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 per accident for property damage

More information on insurance requirements can be found at the State DMV page.

Did you know?

  • North Carolina has 100 counties
  • Over the past 50 years the state has successfully shifted its economy away from tobacco, textiles, and furniture, to a more diversified one that includes industries like engineering, biotech, energy, and finance.
  • NC has the second-largest state highway system in the country.
  • It is illegal to sing off key in the state!
  • In Elon, NC it is illegal to Rollerblade during daylight hours, on the roads, or on the bricks.
  • If you’re heading to Forest City by car, don’t forget to call City Hall before entering town. It’s illegal not to!

Helpful Resources

Department of Motor Vehicles.

The North Carolina DMV’s website is hosted by the Dept. of Transportation and includes all the most common services, like vehicle registration and drivers licensing.

For a list of local DMV offices, the website offers a searchable database.

DUI Information

According to Mothers Against Drunk Driving, there were 402 drunk driving fatalities in 2012 (representing 31% of all total traffic deaths). In 2013, there were over 24,000 DUI arrests in the state.

While North Carolina has some of the strictest drunk driving laws in the country, SR-22s are not required in the state, but if you have a filing in another state, and move to NC, you must maintain your SR-22 in the state where it was required.

If you are a repeat offender, state law allows the option for the city or county to seize your vehicle, sell it, and donate the proceeds to the local school system.

First time offenders will face the following penalties:

  • $200 fine.
  • 24 hours in jail.
  • license suspension of 60 days, up to 1 year.
  • repeat offenders will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed in their car.

The Bottom Line

While insurance rates in the state have remained low, North Carolina’s two largest metro areas (Raleigh and Charlotte) are among the top ten fastest growing in the nation. This means that, at least in those two areas, auto insurance rates will continue to climb. If you are one of the state’s many new residents, or a local who is looking to save money, give us a call! A licensed professional can take a look at your policy, guide you through the process, and ensure that you are paying the lowest available rates.

If you want to get in a touch with a local office, check out one of our city pages below!

We Have Your Town Covered!

Average Annual Premiums in North Carolina = $1,022  | via Insure.com

Have questions about auto insurance in your state? Want a quote for car insurance? Start with your zipcode for a fast, free quote.

OR speak to an agent:

(844) 334-6206

Request Auto Quote

Not Convinced?

Local North Carolina agencies we can beat in price.