Florida’s minimum coverage requirements are $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL) provided you have a valid Florida license plate. The state of Florida requires every vehicle with four or more wheels to maintain Florida Auto Insurance coverage. When you register your vehicle you must have proof of Florida coverage. Your insurance rate is based on many factors including your driving record, your age, where you live, and the kind of car you drive. It is important to shop around for the best cheap car insurance Florida has to offer.
If you have been in a crash or convicted of certain offenses, the Florida DMV may request you purchase additional auto insurance coverage such as bodily injury liability coverage. Bodily injury liability (BIL) carries a minimum of 10/20. This means the insurance company will pay out $10,000 per person for injuries you cause to the other person, or people, but not more than $20,000 total. Most companies will also offer optional coverage such as collision, comprehensive, and uninsured and under insured motorist coverage.
PIP or Personal Injury Protection insurance covers your injury-related expenses irrespective of who was at fault in the accident. Covered benefits include some reimbursement for necessary medical expenses, lost wages, lost services, and funeral expenses.
The average cost of car insurance in Florida is $1,098 per year. The least expensive county is Liberty County, with average rates of $836. The most expensive is Miami-Dade with$2,198 a year. As you are searching for the best deal, you may run across specific wording like, “Florida Coverage.” Florida coverage just means an insurance policy delivered or issued for delivery in Florida by an insurance company licensed by the Florida Department of Financial Services.
If you have recently located to Florida from a different state, you cannot keep your current policy. Minimum required insurance must be supplied through a Florida, as stated earlier, and most insurance companies have Florida agents that are licensed to issue policies in Florida. You can ask your current agent to transfer your current insurance to Florida when you register your vehicle in Florida. It is very important to maintain continuous coverage because The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is can suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle license plate and registration, until proof of Florida insurance is provided. If you license is suspended, a reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations, will need to be paid, as well as document proof of current Florida insurance.
Adherence to the regulations of Florida coverage is very important because driving privilege is suspended for no insurance; there is no provision in the laws for the issuance of any sort of temporary or restricted driver license. To avoid a driving privilege suspension, surrender the vehicle’s license plate and registration at any Florida driver license or Tax Collector office, prior to canceling your insurance policy.
Even if you are only a part time resident of Florida, you still have to abide by the Florida regulations. Anyone who has a vehicle in Florida for more than 90 days during a 365-day period must purchase personal injury protection and property damage liability insurance coverage. This still applies even if the 90 days are consecutive. Even if you have multiple cars, and some are not even driven regularly, you are still responsible for having the minimum amount of cheap car insurance Florida requires. If your car has a valid Florida tag, then you must maintain continuous Florida insurance on the vehicle. Even if you drive the car in a different state, as long as it has Florida registration tags, you must carry “Florida Coverage.”
If you are moving out of the state of Florida, do not cancel your insurance until you have registered in your new state of residence. Once you are registered in the other state, you can cancel your Florida insurance. Many times you can even maintain the same carrier, and they can switch you simultaneously with registration change. At first glance it may seem Florida insurance is difficult to comply with, but take the time to do a little research and find a good agency that can help make it easy to maintain cheap car insurance Florida style.