has put together expert tips and quote comparisons to help you find affordable car insurance in Virginia.

Virginia is an “at-fault” car accident state, and drivers are financially responsible for any accident they cause.

The majority of Virginia drivers do this by buying auto insurance, and state law requires minimum amounts of coverage.

The average car insurance cost in Virginia is $207 per month or $2,485 annually.

However, keep in mind that what you pay for car insurance will depend on factors in your unique driving profile, including:

  • Driving history.
  • Credit rating.
  • Marital status.
  • Age.
  • Gender.
  • Vehicle type.
  • Insurance provider.
  • Location within the state.
  • Coverage type.
  • Set deductible.

To help you find the best deals on car insurance in the state, we’ve compared quotes from car insurers in these Virginia counties:

  • Fairfax County.
  • Prince William County.
  • Virginia Beach City/County.
  • Loudoun County.
  • Chesterfield County.

To help you find the cheapest car insurance in Virginia, we’ve compared quotes from these car insurers:

  • Clearcover.
  • Nationwide.
  • Midvale.
  • Grange.
  • Mercury.
  • State Auto.
  • Liberty Mutual.
  • Elephant.
  • Bristol West.
  • CSAA.

Because the cost of car insurance is dependent on your unique driving profile, we’ve gone a step further and compared the cost of Virginia auto insurance for these types of drivers:

  • Good drivers (those with a clean driving record).
  • Young drivers (those aged between 16-25).
  • Bad drivers (those with a history of traffic violations).

Is It Legal to Drive without Car Insurance in Virginia?

Although it’s legal to drive without car insurance in Virginia, every driver must either purchase insurance before driving a car or pay a special $500.00 per year fee to drive uninsured.

The $500.00 per annum payment is an uninsured motor vehicle fee to register a vehicle without insurance.

The $500.00 fee does not provide coverage for your vehicle. It simply allows you to operate a motor vehicle uninsured for the next 12 months without additional penalties.

If you get into an accident without insurance, it can make the auto claim process a bit more complicated.

Getting caught without car insurance if you have not paid the $500.00 fee can result in penalties, including fines and the temporary suspension of your driver’s license.

The penalties include:

  • A registration restriction.
  • $45.00 reinstatement fee.
  • Proof of insurance requirement.
  • Proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 form) for three years.
  • Additional $600.00 noncompliance fee.
  • Driver’s license restriction.

You must either have insurance coverage, temporarily deactivate your license plate, or pay the $500.00 uninsured registration fee if you wish to avoid penalties for illegally driving uninsured in Virginia.

cheap car insurance in virginia

How to Protect Yourself from Undue Car Accident Charges

To get the most coverage for yourself in the event of a car accident, we recommend you carry auto insurance with the optional personal injury protection (PIP) policy attached to it.

Personal injury protection, also known as no-fault insurance, helps cover expenses like medical bills, lost wages, or funeral costs after a car accident, no matter who is at fault.

It will be more expensive, but it will pay for itself should you ever get into a car accident.

Plus, with the PIP add-on, it will be far easier for you to get compensation quickly after your accident.

As long as you can present your receipts to the insurance company, they should pay you out with no problem.

Choosing appropriate car insurance that caters to your particular needs depends, among other factors, on your budget and the extent to which you use your car.

Types of Car Insurance

Minimum Liability Car Insurance

Minimum liability insurance is the least amount of coverage you must have for any damages you cause.

If you drive every day, a minimum liability plan may not provide you with enough cover.

Liability insurance includes:

  • Bodily injury liability: covers other people’s physical injuries in an accident.
  • Property damage liability: damage to the other driver’s property is covered.
Liability coverage

Liability coverage pays for damages to another vehicle, its driver, and passengers when you cause an accident, or to you when another driver causes an accident. Liability insurance does not pay for damage to the insured’s car.

Uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage

Uninsured motorist coverage means that a driver’s insurance company will cover damages and injuries caused by another driver who doesn’t have insurance.

Personal injury protection (PIP)

Several states have made PIP coverage mandatory in an effort to reduce the number of lawsuits following car accidents. PIP covers medical expenses and other costs for the insured driver and his or her passengers, regardless of who caused an accident.


If a driver has collision coverage, his or her insurance company will pay for damage to the driver’s vehicle in the event of a collision, regardless of fault.


Comprehensive coverage is optional coverage designed to cover theft or damage caused by something other than a collision, such as weather, fires, floods, and vandalism. Comprehensive coverage also covers damage caused by hitting an animal while driving, which can be very important in some states.

Minimum Liability Insurance in Virginia

Minimum liability insurance is popular because you pay much cheaper car insurance premiums. However, it only covers the other driver’s injuries and property damage.

It does not include protection for damage to your vehicle or injuries sustained by you or your passengers.

The low coverage limits could end up costing you more in the long run if you are the cause of an accident.

It may also be worthwhile to compare the difference in price between minimum liability insurance and full coverage insurance.

While each U.S. state will have different minimum liability insurance requirements, it always addresses three key points:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person: This covers medical bills, legal fees, or lost wages you might be required to pay to an individual third party.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident: This is the maximum amount your insurer will pay out for medical bills, legal fees, or lost wages in the event of an accident, regardless of how many people are injured.
  • Property damage coverage per accident: This is the maximum amount your insurer will pay for repairs or a replacement if you cause damage to another person’s property.

Minimum Coverage requirements in Virginia are:

  • $30,000 per person for bodily injury.
  • $60,000 per accident for bodily injury.
  • $20,000 per accident for property damage.

If you’re found to be at fault in a car accident and do not meet the minimum liability insurance requirements, you will be held personally responsible for paying the other party’s medical bills, legal bills, and lost wages.

As a major part of your liability insurance, bodily injury insurance covers medical bills for people other than the policyholder who are injured during an accident.

Virginia is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who is responsible for the collision is also responsible for paying for any resulting expenses, either through their car insurance provider or out-of-pocket.

This basic coverage pays for medical bills, vehicle damage, and other costs of drivers, passengers, and pedestrians who incur losses from a car accident you cause, up to coverage limits.

We have found that on average, the cost of a minimum liability car insurance policy in Virginia is $118.23 per month.

Nationwide offers the cheapest rates for minimum liability coverage, which costs on average $80.80 per month.

Cheapest Minimum Liability Car Insurance in Virginia
ProviderFairfax CountyPrince William CountyVirginia BeachLoudoun CountyChesterfield CountyAverage
Liberty Mutual$134.00$139.00$126.00$128.00$151.00$135.60

Find Cheap Comprehensive Car Insurance in Virginia

Unless you have significant savings, it would be beneficial to have comprehensive car insurance to cover you in the event of the following scenarios:

  • Theft or theft of parts.
  • Non-crash damage (e.g., natural disasters, fire, flooding).
  • Broken windshield.
  • Car damage from hitting an animal.

Repairing car damage can amount to thousands of dollars.

Without comprehensive car insurance, you risk finding yourself in a situation where you can’t drive your car because you can’t afford to get it repaired.

To help you find the cheapest comprehensive car insurance in Virginia, we’ve compared the rates offered by six insurers.

We found that the cheapest comprehensive Virginia insurance companies are:

  • Nationwide with average rates of $89.60.
  • Midvale with average rates of $126.20.
  • Grange with average rates of $129.20.
Cheapest Full Coverage Insurance in Virginia
ProviderFairfax CountyPrince William CountyVirginia BeachLoudoun CountyChesterfield CountyAverage
State Auto$178.00$159.00$155.00$130.00$152.00$154.80

Cheap Car Insurance in Virginia for Drivers with Clean Driving Records

The best way to prevent an increase in your annual premium is to maintain a clean driving record free of traffic violations and accidents.

Insurance companies regard drivers with a clean record as reliable and offer them more affordable rates.

Drivers with a clean driving record are in a good position to find cheap car insurance. Car insurance companies consider good drivers to be people who:

  • Have not been the cause of any car accidents.
  • Have no traffic offenses.
  • Have a good credit score.
  • Have no speeding tickets.
  • Have no reckless driving charges.
  • Have no DUI convictions.

As an incentive, many car insurance companies offer a good driver discount on your car insurance rates, saving you more money.

Some car insurance companies will offer an additional discount if you have completed an accredited defensive driving course.

We looked at the average car insurance rates offered by car insurance companies in Virginia for good drivers. The three cheapest car insurance companies for good drivers are:

  • Nationwide with average rates of $85.00 per month.
  • Midvale with average rates of $123.80 per month.
  • Clearcover with average rates of $124.00 per month.
Cheapest Car Insurance for Good Drivers in Virginia
ProviderFairfax CountyPrince William CountyVirginia BeachLoudon CountyChesterfield CountyAverage
Liberty Mutual$143.00$149.00$137.00$136.00N/A$141.25

Cheap Car Insurance in Virginia for High-Risk Drivers

Drivers with incidents on their record—such as an at-fault accident or a DUI (driving under the influence)—pay higher insurance rates.

Drivers with prior traffic violations are regarded by insurance companies as being a higher risk to insure than those who have a clean traffic record.

Insurance companies believe high-risk drivers are more likely to make future claims against their auto insurance policy.

Some of the offenses that may lead to someone being considered a high-risk driver include:

  • Receiving a DUI conviction.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Speeding tickets.
  • Being found at fault in a major accident.
  • Having too many points on your driving record.
  • Driving without meeting the minimum liability coverage requirements.
  • Unpaid child support payments.
  • Unpaid insurance policy premiums.
  • A poor credit rating.

Cheap Auto Insurance in Virginia with Bad Credit

Your credit score factors into your risk profile in most states, even though it has nothing to do with your ability to drive safely.

Drivers with a poor credit score are seen as being more of a risk and they pay a lot more on their insurance policy.

  • The cheapest car insurance company for high-risk drivers is Progressive with average rates of $119.80 per month.
  • The most expensive car insurance company for high-risk drivers is Bristol West with average rates of $295.75 per month.
Cheapest Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers in Virginia
ProviderFairfax CountyPrince William CountyVirginia BeachLoudoun CountyChesterfield CountyAverage
Liberty Mutual$199.00$245.00$185.00$188.00$223.00$208.00
Bristol West$353.00N/A$281.00$269.00$280.00$295.75

Cheapest Car Insurance in Virginia for Young Drivers

Since young drivers have less experience behind the wheel, insurers tend to charge them higher rates compared to more mature drivers.

A full coverage policy is recommended for teen drivers if they can afford it.

Teens tend to get into accidents more often than adult drivers, so they’re more likely to benefit from having repairs on their car covered.

A minimum coverage policy, though it is much cheaper, could ultimately cost more if a teen gets into a serious accident and has to pay for repairs completely out-of-pocket.

Good student and driver safety course discounts can help young drivers reduce their rates, as can staying on a parent’s policy for as long as possible.

On average, most drivers will see their rates drop as they get older, with a significant decrease once they turn 25 years old.

We’ve compared the cost of car insurance for young drivers to help you save on auto insurance costs.

The cheapest car insurance for young drivers is Elephant with average rates of $155.00 per month.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Young Drivers in Virginia
ProviderFairfax CountyPrince William CountyVirginia BeachLoudon CountyChesterfield CountyAverage
Liberty Mutual$282.00$283.00$248.00$265.00$302.00$276.00
Bristol West$440.00$362.00$350.00$335.00$349.00$367.20

Need Cheap Car Insurance in Other States?

Out-of-state insurance is illegal in almost all U.S. states and is considered to be insurance fraud. This means that your car insurance must be registered in the state you live in.

Some of the penalties for committing insurance fraud include:

  • Up to five years in prison.
  • A $50,000 fine.

If you plan to move from Virginia, you will need to find a new car insurance company in the state you move to.

You will usually have a 90-day grace period to cancel your car insurance and get car insurance in your new state.

To find the best insurance rates in other U.S. states, read our articles below:

Top Tips for Finding Affordable Car Insurance

Take Note of Lender Requirements

If your car is financed or leased, your lender is likely to require that you have liability insurance, comprehensive coverage, and collision insurance.

In fact, most car dealerships won’t let you drive the car off the lot until you can prove you have full coverage car insurance.

Full coverage car insurance protects your lender if you’re in a car accident or your car is stolen and you can no longer afford to meet your monthly payments.

Key Point: Full Coverage Car Insurance

Full coverage car insurance is made up of three different types of car insurance policies:

  • Comprehensive coverage: This type of insurance will compensate you if your car is totaled due to a non-accident-related event (e.g. fire, flood) or if it’s stolen.
  • Collision coverage: This type of auto insurance will compensate you if your car is totaled or damaged in a car accident.
  • Liability insurance: This type of insurance covers you for damage you may cause to another person’s property or injury/death you may cause while driving.

If you lose your required insurance coverage, your lender could add single-interest insurance to your loan in order to protect themselves.

You should avoid allowing your car insurance to lapse because single-interest car insurance is much more expensive than standard car insurance.

Key Point: How Can I Lower My Car Insurance Rates for Full Coverage Insurance?

There are a couple of ways that you can ensure cheap auto insurance:

  • Most insurance companies offer a bundling option, which allows you to combine your auto insurance with other products such as home insurance, life insurance, and other car insurance policies you have.
  • Another option is to increase your auto insurance deductible. This is the amount of money you would have to pay out-of-pocket before your insurance would kick in. By increasing your deductible, you are essentially taking on more risk, but you can save significantly on your monthly premium.

Compare Quotes from Different Car Insurance Companies

Even if you think you’ve found a good deal on car insurance, it’s always a good idea to shop around for a lower rate.

You can do this yourself, but going through an insurance agent can save you time and money.

The only way to be completely certain that you’re getting the best rates on your car insurance is to compare quotes from multiple insurers.

You can do this yourself, but it is time-consuming. You’ll need to phone each car insurance company or fill out an online form for them to give you a quote.

To save time, you can go through a licensed insurance agent or compare quotes from different insurance providers by using our online quote finder.

Top Car Insurance Companies in Virginia

1. Nationwide

Over the last 90 years, Nationwide has grown from a small mutual auto insurer owned by policyholders to one of the largest insurance and financial services companies in the world.

Nationwide offers car insurance coverage in 46 states and a portfolio comprised of a variety of standard and add-on insurance options.

They also offer usage-based insurance, also known as pay as you drive.

Usage-based insurance is a type of car insurance whereby the costs are dependent upon the type of vehicle used, measured against time, distance, behavior, and place.

Nationwide has an A+ rating from the BBB and AM Best.

2. Bristol West

Founded in 1973, Bristol West’s national footprint makes it one of the top ten biggest insurance companies in the U.S.

Bristol West was originally created to provide high-risk drivers with affordable insurance policies and has since expanded its services to all types of drivers.

Some of the benefits offered by Bristol West include:

  • Multiple policy bundling discounts.
  • Personalized car insurance policies.
  • Rideshare coverage.
  • Medical payments.
  • Gap coverage.
  • Towing and roadside assistance.
  • Rental car reimbursement.

Car Insurance in Virginia FAQs

Is Virginia a no-fault state?

No. Virginia is an “at-fault” state, meaning that if you are hurt in a car accident you can recover costs from the driver who caused the accident.

Can you buy a car without insurance in Virginia?

Drivers are not required to purchase auto insurance on a vehicle registered in Virginia.

However, if you do not purchase auto insurance, you are required to pay an uninsured motorist fee of $500.00 per year.

What car insurance discounts are available in Virginia?

You can get car insurance discounts in Virginia based on how you drive, the car you own, and your relationship with your insurance company.

In Virginia, car insurance companies consider factors such as employment, credit rating, as well as residential and marital status when setting premiums.

That means there are discounts available for being married, and owning a home.

Do I need to buy underinsured motorist coverage in Virginia?

There is no legal requirement in Virginia to purchase underinsured motorist coverage, but it can prove to be valuable protection.

Underinsured motorist coverage provides protection in an accident in which the at-fault driver doesn’t have any or enough insurance to cover all the damages.

This kind of coverage is a relatively inexpensive add-on to a regular auto insurance policy and can prove to be beneficial in the case of an accident.

How much is car insurance in my city in Virginia?

Where you live affects your car insurance rates. Drivers who live in more populated areas are regarded as being at a higher risk for an accident than those who live in quieter, rural areas.

Can someone sue you for a car accident if you have insurance in Virginia?

In Virginia, you sue the individual even if they have car insurance.

If you are sued by another driver, your car insurance will represent you in court and pay for any damages up to the amount of insurance you’ve purchased.