Fausto Bucheli Jr


December 7, 2022

Edited By

John Davey

When you want to find out all about cheap SR-22 insurance in Connecticut, will provide you with all the answers you need.

Cheap SR-22 Insurance Connecticut
Connecticut is known for its beautiful fall foliage, nationally-ranked museums, and for being the home of ESPN.
There are plenty of fun activities to enjoy there, such as cross-country skiing, sailing, or hiking through the beautiful fall foliage.

Whether you’re on holiday or you’re a resident, accidents happen when you’re least expecting them and they can take place in an instant.

If you are found to have committed the following driving violations in Connecticut, you will be identified as a reckless or high-risk driver and you may need to file for SR-22 insurance:

  • Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI).
  • Driving without car insurance.
  • Driving with a suspended license.

What Is SR-22 Insurance and What Does It Mean for You as a Driver in Connecticut?

‘SR’ stands for Safety Responsibility.

Although it’s sometimes referred to as ‘financial responsibility insurance’, SR-22 is not an insurance policy at all.

It’s a certificate that you will have to attach to your auto insurance policy if you are identified as a high-risk driver.

Your SR-22 certificate is a document that is registered with the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles.

It verifies that you have enough personal liability coverage in place at any given time.

Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability Coverage 

Auto liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property, or the injury/death of a third party while driving.

Each U.S. state has different minimum liability requirements, but there are always three key aspects that are included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage liability coverage per accident.

The minimum auto liability requirements in Connecticut, which are commonly stated as the 25/50/25 rule, are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury liability per person.
  • $50,000 bodily injury liability per accident.
  • $25,000 property damage per accident.

Key Point: Minimum Liability Insurance Is Mandatory

It’s against the law in Connecticut to drive a vehicle if you do not have the necessary minimum liability auto insurance coverage.

Traffic Violations in Connecticut

Each state has its own list of traffic violations for which SR-22 insurance, or an SR-22 certificate, may be needed.

In Connecticut, some of the most common traffic violations include:

  • Speeding.
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI).
  • Receiving multiple tickets within a certain period of time.
  • Improper lane usage.
  • Following too close.
  • Running stop signs.
  • Running red lights.
  • Reckless driving.

Like many other states across the nation, Connecticut has a points system to help improve driving habits and ensure safe driving.

The number of points a vehicle owner gets for traffic violations depends on the severity of the offense. Accruing too many points on your driver’s license can result in:

  • Your car insurance carrier increasing your rates.
  • The suspension of your driver’s license.

If you incur six points, you can expect a warning letter from the Connecticut DMV. If you accumulate 10 or more points, your license will be suspended for 30 days.

If you get a further 10 points, you’ll lose your license for up to 24 months. The points remain in effect for 24 months after the date that they were added to your license.


Operating a vehicle under the influence attracts penalties such as:

  • A minimum fine of $500.
  • Two days in jail and four days of public service.
  • Mandatory IID installation—a car breathalyzer mouthpiece that you blow into for a few seconds before driving to test your blood alcohol level.

Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut?

Most states require SR-22 insurance for drivers whom they deem to be high-risk or reckless.

Connecticut uses SR-22 insurance to ensure that high-risk drivers meet and maintain their minimum liability requirements for auto insurance.

Since minimum liability requirements differ from one state to the next, they also have different rules relating to SR-22 insurance.

Your SR-22 insurance must be able to cover these liability expenses in the case of an accident.

If you fail to meet Connecticut’s minimum requirements, you will lose your license again and have to resume the SR-22 application process.

It is compulsory for all drivers who have a suspended license in Connecticut to file for SR-22 insurance before they can have their licenses restored.

High-risk drivers are also mandated to apply for Connecticut SR-22 insurance, especially those who have a history of being ticketed for not carrying minimum liability coverage.

If you fail to maintain SR-22 coverage at any point during your probation period, your auto insurer will contact your state’s local DMV to inform them you’re uninsured.

When this happens, you will be granted a brief period of respite to present proof of insurance.

In Connecticut, you are usually required to maintain an SR-22 certificate with your car insurance company for one year.

Failure to do so will result in your car insurance company reporting you to the state and your driving privileges may be immediately suspended or revoked.

The period of time you require an SR-22 insurance certificate in Connecticut will depend on how severe your violation is, ranging from one to three years.

How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut?

If you have been convicted of a traffic violation, your car insurance provider will need to file an SR-22 form on your behalf.

In Connecticut, your auto insurance company will do this digitally. You will need to take the following steps to get an SR-22 certificate in Connecticut:

  • Find an authorized insurance provider: Not all insurance carriers are able to file an SR-22 certificate for you. If you already have car insurance, check with your provider whether they will issue you an SR-22. If they won’t, you will need to find an insurer that does.
  • Pay the SR-22 filing fee: Your insurer will charge you a filing fee for managing the SR-22 form on your behalf. This is a one-time fee. It costs between $15 and $25 to file an SR-22 form in Connecticut, depending on the auto insurance company that you are with.
  • Verify your minimum liability insurance coverage: In order for your insurer to file the SR-22 form, you’ll need to buy liability insurance that meets or exceeds Connecticut’s state mandates.
  • Let your insurer submit your SR-22 form on your behalf: Your insurer should submit your SR-22 form with the Connecticut DMV and provide you with verification once the form has been filed.
  • Wait for confirmation: Once the state of Connecticut has accepted your SR-22 form, you should receive a confirmation letter from your car insurance company. You will then be legally eligible to drive again.

It’s important to note that if you allow your SR-22 insurance certificate to lapse, your insurance provider is required to report it to the Connecticut DMV.

Types of SR-22 Car Insurance in Connecticut

SR-22 insurance forms fall into two categories under Connecticut law:

  • Owner SR-22 policy.
  • Non-owner SR-22 policy.

Owner SR-22 insurance

Owner SR-22 insurance is for Connecticut drivers who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Want to reinstate their driver’s license.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance

If you do not own a car, but still want to drive a car, you will need to file for non-owner car insurance. This is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to drive on occasion (e.g., a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).

Which Is the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Connecticut?

Finding a car insurance company that will be willing to file your SR-22 insurance certificate with the Connecticut DMV can be challenging.

Fortunately, we have done some of the hard work for you.

Here is a cost comparison of the monthly premiums for five counties in Connecticut that are served by Bristol West and Progressive.

Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Connecticut

ProviderFairfield CountyHartford CountyNew Haven CountyNew London CountyLitchfield CountyAverage
Bristol West$690$744$888$690$630$728

Never settle for the first quote that you receive. Always shop around for car insurance to save on your annual car insurance premiums.

In fact, you can get an SR-22 insurance quote from All you have to do is enter your zip code at the top of the page.

Key Point: What Makes Up Your Car Insurance Quote? 

Car insurance companies usually look at your driving record, past claims, vehicle make, vehicle model, and vehicle age when deciding on car insurance rates.

In Connecticut, car insurance companies will also look at the following factors:

  • Where you live.
  • Your marital status.
  • Your employment status.
  • Your credit history.
  • The miles you drive every year.
  • Any extra driving courses you took.
  • Where you keep your vehicle parked during the day and at night.

How Does an SR-22 Certificate Impact Your Car Insurance Coverage in Connecticut?

We’ve looked at the car insurance rates offered by the best car insurance companies for low-risk drivers, to compare them to the rates they offer to high-risk drivers who have been convicted of driving-related violations.

This is how much drivers in Connecticut with a clean driving record can expect to pay for car insurance:

The cheapest insurance provider is AAA Insurance at an average of $183.00

Cheapest Car Insurance for Good Drivers (Clean Driving Records) in Connecticut

ProviderFairfield CountyHartford CountyNew Haven CountyNew London CountyLitchfield CountyAverage
Bristol West$505.00$546.00$655.00$506.00$470.00$536.40
AAA InsuranceN/A$176.00$190.00N/AN/A$183.00

Below are some estimated monthly premiums that high-risk drivers in Connecticut can expect to pay. The cheapest insurance provider is Progressive with an average of $217.40.

Cheap Auto Insurance for Bad Drivers in Connecticut

ProviderFairfield CountyHartford CountyNew Haven CountyNew London CountyLitchfield CountyAverage
Bristol West$636.00$775.00$818.00$637.00$640.00$701.20

How to Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Connecticut

Here are some tips that will help you get the best rate for your SR-22 auto insurance in Connecticut.

  • Maintain a good credit history: Many insurers use credit information to price car insurance policies. Drivers with better credit histories tend to make fewer claims, and pay less in car insurance premiums.
  • Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, opt for insurance that charges you based on how many miles you drive per month.
  • Raise your deductible: A deductible is the amount you pay out of pocket when you make a claim. If you raise your deductible, your insurer will likely reduce your premium.
  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Choose insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one company.
  • Pay your premium in full instead of monthly: Get a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.
  • Shop around for great car insurance rates: It’s a good idea to get at least three quotes from auto insurance companies so that you can decide which will be the cheapest insurance company to go with.

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Connecticut

To help you find cheap SR-22 car insurance in Connecticut, we’ve rounded up the most frequently asked questions:

Which Connecticut insurance companies offer the cheapest SR-22 insurance?

If you’re looking for cheap SR-22 car insurance in Connecticut, it’s best to compare quotes because carriers offer varying rates.

Based on our research, Progressive has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Connecticut, with an average rate of $247.00 per month.

Who needs SR-22 insurance in Connecticut?

An SR-22 is not required for every driving violation you commit.

Minor offenses generally won’t necessitate an SR-22, although they may result in higher car insurance rates if you’re issued speeding tickets or are involved in a standard accident.

SR-22 insurance is required for drivers who have either committed repeated driving offenses, or major driving violations such as driving under the influence.

Car insurance rates after having a DUI on your record may be significantly higher.

How long do I need to carry SR-22 insurance for?

The details of your conviction dictate how long you’ll need to carry SR-22 insurance in Connecticut. On average, drivers are required to hold on to it for three years.

How do you file SR-22 insurance in Connecticut?

The company that handles your car insurance can file an SR-22 with the state at your request.

Having an SR-22 added to your car insurance policy in Connecticut increases your annual premium, depending on the severity of your violation.

Since drivers requiring SR-22 insurance are considered high risk, some car insurance companies may choose not to cover you.

How do I find the right SR-22 insurance?

As with regular car insurance, it’s important to find the right policy and provider for your individual needs.

SR-22 insurance is not provided by all Connecticut insurance companies, and some have more expensive policies than others.

Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in Connecticut? is here to help you find cheap SR-22 and car insurance in Connecticut. All you have to do is enter your zip code at the top of this page to start the process.