Fausto Bucheli Jr


January 23, 2023

Edited By

John Davey

Find Out How You Can Get Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance In Kansas

At, we’ll help you find the cheapest SR-22 insurance quotes in Kansas.
SR22 Car Insurance in Kansas

Even experienced drivers make mistakes on the road at times. If you’ve been convicted of a serious driving offense, you may be ordered by the court or the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to carry SR-22 insurance.

If you’re in a situation where your driver’s license has been revoked or suspended, getting SR-22 insurance is a necessary step before you can get your driving privileges reinstated.

You will also need to pay any fines or penalties, and you may have to complete a court-ordered program or sentence.

While this can feel overwhelming at first, when it comes to SR-22 insurance, we’ve got you covered.

In this article, we’ll go through everything you need to know about SR-22 insurance in Kansas, including who needs it, how to get it, and how much it costs.

Unfortunately, SR-22 insurance usually means an increase in your insurance premium because you will be considered  a high-risk driver

That’s why we’ve researched various insurance companies and their premiums to help you find the cheapest SR-22 auto insurance in Kansas.

What Is SR-22 Car Insurance and How Does It Impact You?

SR-22 insurance, also referred to as ‘financial responsibility insurance’, is not really an insurance policy at all.

Instead, SR-22 is a certificate that your auto insurance company will file with the Department of Motor Vehicles in Kansas.

This certificate is an official form that you will need to carry around with you to prove that you have enough car insurance to meet the minimum auto liability coverage requirements of Kansas State.

You may be required to obtain an SR-22 certificate as proof of insurance coverage before you can get back on the road.

Key Point: What Is Minimum Auto Liability Coverage? 

Auto liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or the injury/death of a third party while driving.

Each U.S. state has different minimum liability requirements, but there are always three essential elements that are included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

In the state of Kansas, the minimum liability requirements are:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 for property damage.

You will also be required to purchase personal injury protection (PIP) and underinsured/uninsured coverage.

Drivers failing to meet the state’s minimum requirements can be fined or their license may be suspended.

If you haven’t been ordered to carry SR-22 insurance and don’t have a revoked or suspended driver’s license, then you don’t need to carry an SR-22 certificate.

Which Drivers Need SR-22 Insurance and How Long Do They Need It For?

Each state in the U.S. has its own set of violations for which an SR-22 certificate is needed.

According to the Kansas Division of Vehicles, Driver Control Bureau, to reinstate your driving privileges, you may have to file an SR-22 if you:

  • Fail to provide proof of insurance during a traffic stop or accident.
  • Are arrested or convicted of certain driving offenses such as DUI.
  • Fail to comply with court-ordered requirements such as fine payments and mandatory license suspensions.
  • Have committed repeated traffic violations in a certain amount of time, including speeding tickets.
  • Have been the cause of numerous accidents.
  • Have caused a fatal accident or one that resulted in serious injuries.
  • Are cited for reckless or dangerous driving.
  • Have an assignment from a court order.
  • Failed to pay fines from tickets
  • Refused consent to breathalyzer or blood alcohol tests.

The state of Kansas requires that you maintain an SR-22 for at least one year. If the policy is terminated due to nonpayment or noncompliance, you could face additional penalties, including having your driving privileges revoked.

DUI Conviction in Kansas

One of the most common reasons for filing an SR-22 in Kansas is a DUI conviction.

This kind of traffic violation comes with other penalties on top of the SR-22 form requirement.

The chart below outlines what you could be facing if convicted of a DUI in the state of Kansas.

Consequences 1st Offense 2nd Offense 3rd Offense
License suspension30 days1 year1 year
Reinstatement fees$200$400$600
Ignition interlock device6 months to 1 year1 year2 years

The severity of these penalties can fluctuate based on what your blood alcohol content (BAC) is, according to the Kansas Highway Patrol. The above chart refers to convictions with a BAC of 0.08-0.1499.

As shown in the table above, an ignition interlock device (IID) will be required for your vehicle for a set period of time after a DUI conviction. An IID is a breathalyzer that stops your car from starting if it either detects alcohol on your breath or you fail to give a sample.

The time for this requirement varies and can be based on your BAC, age, and previous driving record. It is just one of the many steps you must take to reinstate your driving privileges.

There are also certain situations where you will need to have SR-22 insurance even if you don’t own a vehicle.

If, for example, you are driving someone else’s car or a rental, you will still need non-owner SR-22 insurance.

How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Kansas?

If your license has been revoked, or you have committed one of the violations mentioned above, your auto insurance carrier will need to file an SR-22 form with the Kansas DMV on your behalf.

Some insurers are unwilling to do this as they may consider you to be a high-risk driver. Once you’ve received an SR-22 certificate, you will most likely have to pay much higher car insurance rates than before you committed your violation.

You will need to take the following steps to file for SR-22 insurance in Kansas:

  1. Find an insurance provider: If you already have insurance, check with your provider whether they will issue an SR-22 form for you. If they won’t, you will need to find an insurer that does.
  2. Pay the SR-22 filing fee: Your insurer will charge you a filing fee for managing the SR-22 form on your behalf. This usually ranges between $15 and $50.
  3. Verify your coverage: Ensure that your standard auto insurance policy meets the minimum requirements of Kansas.
  4. Submit your SR-22 form: Your insurer should file your SR-22 form with the DMV and provide you with verification once the form has been filed.
  5. Wait for confirmation: Once the state has accepted your SR-22 form, you should receive a confirmation letter from the DMV and one from your auto insurance company.

It’s important to note that if you allow your SR-22 insurance to lapse, your insurance provider is required to report this to the Department of Licensing.

An insurance lapse is a period where you didn’t have insurance because your policy ended and you didn’t have new coverage to replace it. This can happen because:

  • You didn’t pay your premiums or the payment was late.
  • You forgot to renew the policy.
  • Your insurer canceled your policy due to, e.g., too many claims filed.
  • You did not accurately time the start and end of new and old policies.

A lapse in coverage may cause insurance companies to see you as a high-risk driver, even if you have a good driving record. It can also increase the cost of your future car insurance premiums.

To get the best insurance rate and make sure that you’re protected in a car accident, it’s best to keep continuous coverage. If you decide to change your policy or insurance company, make sure you do not have any periods of time without coverage.

Types of SR-22 Insurance in Kansas

When you apply for SR-22 insurance, you will need to specify the exact type of SR-22 insurance you need, depending on your circumstances.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance

If you drive a car you do not own, you will need to file for non-owner car insurance. This is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to drive on occasion (e.g. a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).

Owner SR-22 insurance

Owner SR-22 insurance is for Kansas drivers who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who does own a car.
  • Have had a license suspension and want to reinstate their driver’s license.

Owner/operator SR-22 insurance

If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry Owner/operator SR-22 insurance.

Which Is the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Kansas?

When you get an SR-22 certificate, your car insurance costs will increase as you are now considered a high-risk driver.

It’s important to never settle for the first car insurance quote that you get. We recommend that you shop around and find the cheapest SR-22 car insurance.

According to our recent research, Dairyland provides the cheapest SR-22 car insurance in Kansas, with average monthly car insurance premiums of just $187.

Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Kansas

ProviderJohnson CountySedgwick CountyShawnee CountyWyandotte CountyDouglas CountyAverage

Besides shopping around for the cheapest SR-22 insurance, it’s best to get a completely personalized insurance quote. We all have different needs and circumstances.

Most good insurers will tailor your insurance quote to your needs. Get your customized SR-22 car insurance quote by simply entering your zip code at the top of this page.

Key Point: What Affects the Cost of Car Insurance?

Car insurance companies usually look at your driving record, past claims, and vehicle model when deciding on car insurance rates.

In Kansas, car insurance companies will also look at the following factors:

  • Age.
  • Credit.
  • Education.
  • Occupation.
  • Gender.
  • Marital status.
  • Zip code.

How Does an SR-22 Impact Your Insurance in Kansas?

We’ve looked at the auto insurance rates offered by various insurers for low-risk drivers, to compare them to the rates they offer to drivers who have been convicted of driving-related offenses.

The monthly average for drivers with a clean driving record is $159.40. Here’s how much they can expect to pay for car insurance:

Cheapest Car Insurance for Good Drivers (Clean Driving Records) in Kansas

ProviderJohnson CountySedgwick CountyShawnee CountyWyandotte CountyDouglas CountyAverage

Here’s how much drivers in Kansas can expect to pay if they are considered high-risk drivers:

Cheap Car Insurance for Bad Drivers in Kansas (DUI, Traffic Tickets)

ProviderJohnson CountySedgwick CountyShawnee CountyWyandotte CountyDouglas CountyAverage

Remember, don’t settle for the first quote that you find for your car insurance, especially if you are a high-risk driver. By entering your zip code at the top of this page, you can get a personalized quote that suits your needs and budget.

How to Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Kansas

Although you will end up paying higher rates as a high-risk driver with an SR-22 certificate in Kansas, you can still save money. Here’s how:

  • Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, choose a policy with car insurance premiums that are based on how many miles you drive per month.
  • Raise your deductibles: A deductible is the amount of money that you will need to first pay out of pocket before your insurance will kick in. If you are willing to pay more for expenses yourself, your insurer will lower your insurance premiums.
  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Choose insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one insurance company.
  • Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: You could get a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.

Apart from SR-22 Insurance in Kansas, What Else Do You Need to Have?

Kansas law only requires minimum liability insurance coverage, PIP, and uninsured/underinsured insurance to drive legally in the state, but driving with this cover alone is not recommended.

If you are involved in an accident, the costs of repairs and medical attention tend to be much higher than the cover provided with minimum liability coverage.

Some of the common options for additional coverage include:

Comprehensive cover: This will pay out for vehicle damages caused in non-collision circumstances such as theft or weather-related events.

Collision coverage: If you are involved in a collision, this cover will pay out whether the collision is with another vehicle or a stationary object.

Medical payments: If you are in an accident, this coverage will help pay toward the medical expenses for you and those in your vehicle. This coverage is available regardless of fault.

Roadside assistance: This coverage helps if you need a tow, have a flat tire, have a dead battery, or if your car has broken down for any other reason.

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Kansas

To help you find cheap SR-22 car insurance in Kansas, we’ve rounded up the most frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance:

What is an SR-22 in Kansas?

SR-22 insurance in Kansas is a requirement for drivers who have committed severe traffic violations, such as a DUI and reckless driving. SR-22 is a form that confirms that a driver has enough insurance coverage to comply with the state’s minimum requirements.

In Kansas, an SR-22 form needs to be submitted to the DMV. Once the form has been submitted, you will receive an SR-22 certificate which you will need to have with you when driving.

This certificate is only needed if you have committed a serious traffic violation.

How do I get an SR-22 Certificate in Kansas?

Your insurance provider will need to file an SR-22 form with the Kansas DMV for you. As a high-risk driver, they may not be willing to do this.

If this is the case, you will need to find another insurer who will file the SR-22 form for you.

How much more do I need to pay for SR-22 insurance in Kansas compared to standard insurance?

In general, a policy with SR-22 is more expensive than standard insurance coverage. The reason for this is having committed one or more serious traffic violations, you are now considered to be a high-risk driver.

Who has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Kansas?

According to the research that we’ve conducted recently, the cheapest insurance rate for drivers who need SR-22 insurance is from Dairyland at $187.

For how long do Kansas drivers need SR-22 car insurance?

The minimum required time that you need to keep your SR-22 certificate up to date is for one year.

It’s important to remember that you cannot have a break in insurance coverage while you have an SR-22 certificate in place.

Driving without insurance will result in license suspension. Your license will remain suspended until you are insured. Driving with a suspended license is a crime.

What is the penalty for driving without insurance in Kansas?

The penalties for driving without insurance in Kansas include fines, registration and license suspension, and imprisonment. You can avoid these consequences by meeting Kansas’s proof of financial responsibility requirements.

Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in Kansas?

Are you looking for good deals on car insurance but don’t have enough time in your day to compare prices offered by different companies? Let us do the hard work for you.

You can get a personalized car insurance quote today by entering your zip code at the top of this page.

At, we’ve got you covered!