Find Fast, Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance In South Carolina
If you’d like to find out about cheap SR-22 car insurance in South Carolina, you can read about it in this article.
South Carolina offers beautiful, sunny beaches, and cities with historic charm. From majestic mountains to magnificent waterfalls, there is plenty of natural beauty to enjoy.
Driving through this Southern state, you will see an abundance of palmetto trees which gives South Carolina its nickname, The Palmetto State.
If you are taking a tour through South Carolina, you may wish to find out if it is necessary to have SR-22 insurance in addition to auto insurance.
Fortunately, South Carolina SR-22 insurance is only a requirement for high-risk drivers.
This includes drivers who:
- Get their license suspended.
- Commit a serious traffic violation.
- Get caught driving without car insurance.
- Get convicted of a DUI.
- Cause an accident that results in fatalities or injuries.
Read on to find out all you need to know about the penalties for driving without car insurance and who needs SR-22 car insurance in South Carolina.
What Is SR-22 Car Insurance and Why Do You Need It?
SR-22 car insurance is not actually insurance cover. It’s an official form that drivers who’ve committed serious driving violations must carry with them at all times.
Having an SR-22 proves that, as a high-risk driver, you have taken on the financial responsibility of meeting the minimum auto liability coverage requirements of the state of South Carolina.
Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability Coverage
Minimum auto liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or the injury/death of a third party while driving.
Each U.S. state has different minimum liability requirements, but there are always three elements that are included:
To reinstate your license, like many other states, South Carolina requires you to obtain SR-22 insurance coverage.
SR-22 insurance proves to the state that you are following their insurance laws and can legally drive on their roads.
South Carolina Minimum Amounts of Liability Coverage
South Carolina law requires you to carry a mandatory minimum amount of liability coverage.
Failure to carry the mandatory minimum car insurance can result in severe punishment, including the loss of your driving privileges, high fines, and the requirement to carry SR22 insurance.
The mandatory minimum liability coverage in South Carolina is:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury.
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury.
- $25,000 property damage.
What Are the Penalties in South Carolina for Driving without Car Insurance?
At the best of times, car accidents are expensive. However, having an accident when you don’t have auto insurance can lead to even higher expenses.
A ticket for driving without insurance in South Carolina is among the most expensive traffic citations.
If you are in a car accident and you don’t have insurance, you can face the following penalties:
- On your first offense, law enforcement can issue you a fine of $550 for being an uninsured motorist and add additional fines.
- You can also be imprisoned for up to 30 days.
- Your license and registration can even be suspended, resulting in a reinstatement fee of $200.
- You will also need to cover any of your responsibilities from damages sustained in the accident.
With second and third citations, you can face higher fines and longer prison time with a charge for each day that your coverage has lapsed.
In addition, you may have to pay for SR-22 insurance to reinstate your driving privilege.
General Information About SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina
An SR-22 is proof of insurance that shows the state of South Carolina you are complying with their auto insurance laws.
By submitting this proof of insurance, you will get your driver’s license reinstated.
It’s your responsibility to inform your insurance company when you need to file this proof of insurance. Your insurance provider does the rest of the work by informing the state.
To keep your SR-22 insurance valid, all you need to do is keep up with your regular car insurance coverage payments.
This will prove to them that you have auto insurance that can cover another driver’s injuries or damages if you happen to be at fault during an accident.
Generally, insurance companies will charge around between $25 and $50 to submit the SR-22 certificate to the state department on your behalf.
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina?
If you practice safe driving, you reduce the chances of having to show proof of insurance.
SR-22 insurance will likely be required if you are convicted of a major traffic violation that has resulted in your driver’s license being suspended.
Some examples include:
- Driving under the influence (DUI).
- Driving without insurance.
- Multiple traffic violations.
- Reckless driving.
- Failing to pay for damage after an accident.
- Accumulating multiple minor traffic violations.
How Long Must You Carry SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina?
On average, in South Carolina, drivers must carry an SR-22 for at least three years.
The required filing period may be longer than three years, depending on the severity of your violation.
You will be informed about when to cancel your proof of insurance upon receiving your filing requirement.
When the expiration date arrives, you are required to contact your insurance company to let them know you no longer need SR-22 insurance.
They will cancel the insurance and notify the state.
If you allow your car insurance policy to lapse during that time, your insurance company must notify the DMV, and the time frame on your SR-22 will reset.
Failure to maintain your SR-22 in South Carolina can result in your license being suspended once again.
A comprehensive list of traffic violations, including misdemeanors, is available on the South Carolina government website.
Key Point: South Carolina’s Driver License Point System
After a period of one year, your points will be reduced by half, but with serious traffic offenses or multiple citations within a one-year period, your driving privileges may be suspended.
What Types of SR-22 Insurance Are There in South Carolina?
When you apply for SR-22 insurance, you will need to specify the exact type of SR-22 insurance you need, depending on your circumstances.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance
If you drive but don’t own a vehicle, you will need to get South Carolina non-owner insurance coverage that meets the state’s minimum liability requirements.
Not owning a car does not mean you can skip getting car insurance. To fulfill your SR-22 filing requirement, you will need to purchase non-owner car insurance.
Non-owner car insurance offers drivers state-required insurance coverage, and obtaining such an auto policy fulfills your proof of insurance requirement.
Non-owner insurance is typically recommended for people who frequently borrow or rent vehicles. But if you are in the habit of borrowing or renting cars, you should already have car insurance.
Since it’s illegal for any driver in South Carolina to be on the road without coverage, it’s better not to wait until you get in trouble with the law before you start shopping for car insurance coverage.
Owner/operator SR-22 insurance
Owner SR-22 insurance is for South Carolina drivers who:
- Already own a car or plan to buy one.
- Share a household with someone who does own a car.
- Want to reinstate their driver’s license.
If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry owner/operator SR-22 insurance.
Where Can You Get the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in South Carolina?
If your license has been suspended or revoked in the state of South Carolina and you want to get it reinstated, you’ll need to get SR-22 insurance through your car insurance company.
It’s important to note that not all auto insurance companies are willing to insure who they consider to be high-risk drivers (people needing an SR-22 certificate).
Generally, those car insurance companies that are prepared to offer car insurance to someone needing an SR-22 certificate, will charge higher car insurance premiums.
Let’s take a look at a few of the cheapest SR-22 auto insurance rates in South Carolina.
According to our research, Liberty Mutual provides the cheapest SR-22 car insurance in South Carolina, with average monthly premiums of just $242.40.
Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in South Carolina
|Provider||Grenville County||Richland County||Charleston County||Horry County||Spartanburg County||Average|
Get a free car insurance quote.
How Does an SR-22 Certificate Impact Your Car Insurance Coverage in South Carolina?
If you are a high-risk driver, South Carolina insurance companies could increase the cost of your car insurance.
We’ve looked at rates paid by high-risk drivers who have been convicted of driving-related violations.
Here are some car insurance costs that South Carolina high-risk drivers can expect to pay.
Cheap auto insurance for bad drivers in South Carolina
|Provider||Greenville County||Richland County||Charleston County||Horry County||Spartanburg County||Average|
Get a personalized SR-22 insurance quote.
Key Point: What Is a High-Risk Driver?
Insurance companies use the term ‘high risk’ to describe drivers who are more likely to make a claim against their car insurance policy.
Some of the offenses that may lead to being considered a high-risk driver in South Carolina include:
Why Is My Car Insurance Premium So High?
The amount of money you will pay for your car insurance premium is influenced by a variety of factors.
Here’s a list of what commonly determines the bottom line of your car insurance policy in South Carolina:
Your driving record:
If you have had accidents or traffic violations, it is likely that you will pay more than someone with a completely clean driving record.
How much you use your car:
The more you drive, the greater the chances are of having accidents, so your premium will increase accordingly.
Due to higher rates of vandalism, theft, and accidents, drivers in urban areas pay more than those living in small towns and rural areas.
Mature drivers tend to have fewer accidents than younger ones, which means that their car insurance may be cheaper.
Statistically, women get into fewer accidents than men and have fewer traffic violations overall, so women often pay less for car insurance.
The car you drive:
The cost of your car is a key factor in what it costs to insure it. Any enhancements will attract a higher fee, as will the popularity of the vehicle for theft.
Your claims history:
How often you have claimed from insurance will impact your insurance rates. This can drive up your car insurance premiums.
At the end of the day, remember that we all pay different insurance rates and what we have provided in this article is a guide so that you can see who is generally the most affordable insurer in the state of South Carolina.
Why not get a personalized car insurance quote today?
How Can I Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in South Carolina?
Although you will end up paying higher rates for SR-22 insurance in South Carolina, you can still save money. Here’s how:
- Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, opt for insurance that charges you based on how many miles you drive per month.
- Raise your deductibles: If you do this, your insurer will likely reduce your premiums.
- Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Choose insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one company.
- Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: Enjoy a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.
Apart from SR-22 Car Insurance in South Carolina, What Else Will You Need to Have in Place?
If you have your car on lease or loan, you will most likely need collision and comprehensive cover in South Carolina.
- If you get into a car accident, or your vehicle is in any way damaged, collision and comprehensive insurance will settle the repair costs to your car.
- If someone crashes into you and they don’t have car insurance, uninsured motorist coverage will pay for your medical expenses.
FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in South Carolina.
To help you find cheap SR-22 car insurance in South Carolina, we’ve rounded up the most frequently asked questions.
When is SR-22 insurance required in South Carolina?
Not every driver in South Carolina needs to carry SR-22 insurance.
An SR-22 certificate is only necessary if you are convicted of a major traffic violation or are mandated to carry it by a court.
Why would I need to file an SR-22 form?
South Carolina requires an SR22 form to be filed with the state Department of Motor Vehicles after a violation or series of citations.
These violations include driving a vehicle without insurance, operating a vehicle with a suspended license, receiving a DUI or DWI, or after multiple offenses.
How much does SR-22 insurance cost in South Carolina?
The cost of SR-22 insurance in South Carolina depends a lot on the circumstances surrounding your conviction and what insurance company you are with.
You should also keep in mind that SR-22 filings come with a fee.
Your insurance provider can charge anywhere from $15-$50 to electronically file an SR-22. This is on top of the fines and fees issued by the state of South Carolina for driving violations.
You can also expect your premium to increase due to the more expensive high-risk coverage.
Rates vary widely—it’s in your best interest to work with a company that can shop around for you to offer multiple quotes.
How do I get an SR-22 Certificate in South Carolina?
To get SR-22 insurance proof in South Carolina, you will need to fill out some basic paperwork and pay the filing fee. If you do not have insurance, you will need to buy a policy.
The last step is for the insurance company to file the SR-22 form with the South Carolina DMV. You will receive a confirmation once the paperwork has been processed.
How do I get cheap SR-22 insurance in South Carolina?
To find cheap SR-22 insurance in South Carolina, call a few insurance providers that offer SR-22s and ask about their filing fee.
Choose the company that charges the most affordable filing fee, even if it is not your personal car insurance provider.
For how long do South Carolina drivers need SR-22 car insurance?
The minimum required time for SR-22 insurance is three years for drivers convicted of a severe traffic offense. This period may be increased for more serious offenses.
Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in South Carolina?
The best way to find affordable car insurance that suits your needs and pocket is by getting quotes from a number of insurance companies.
This can take time and a lot of effort so why not let us help you find the best SR-22 insurance quote.