Missouri

Here at CheapInsurance.com, we bring you the most up-to-date information for cheap car insurance in Missouri.

 

A 2022 study recently ranked Missouri as the ninth worst state to drive in. This statistic is made up of various factors which include:

  • Road conditions.
  • Car theft.
  • Traffic.
 

Missouri also ranked 49th in the U.S. when it came to traffic safety.

When it comes to your car insurance, these statistics are concerning. The greater the number of traffic violations and accidents in your state, the higher your car insurance premiums will be.

Being a safe driver not only lowers your own car insurance rates, but also the rates for everyone across the state.

If you have been involved in a major accident or been convicted of numerous traffic violations, you will be considered a high-risk driver in Missouri.

In addition to your comprehensive car insurance, this is when you will also need SR-22 insurance.

What Is SR-22 Car Insurance in Missouri and What Does It Mean for You?

SR stands for ‘Safety Responsibility. Although it’s sometimes referred to as ‘financial responsibility insurance’, SR-22 insurance is not actually an insurance policy.

An SR-22 certificate, also known as an SR-22 endorsement, is a document registered with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Missouri, which verifies that you carry the state’s minimum amount of car insurance liability.

Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability Coverage

Auto liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or the injury/death of a third party while driving.

Each U.S. state has different minimum liability requirements, but there are always three key aspects that are included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

The minimum auto liability requirements in Missouri are:

  • Property damage liability: $10,000 per accident.
  • Bodily injury liability: $50,000 per accident and $25,000 per person.
 

This is also commonly referred to as 25/50/25 liability insurance. In 17 states across the U.S. this is the minimum car insurance required.

Key Point: Can I Drive My Car without Minimum Auto Liability Insurance?

It’s illegal to drive a motor vehicle in Missouri without minimum auto liability insurance.

A driver must, upon request, show proof of insurance to any law enforcement official or a traffic ticket will be issued to the driver.

Who Needs SR-22 Insurance in Missouri and for How Long Is It Needed?

Each state has its own list of violations for which SR-22 insurance is needed.

In Missouri, there is a traffic violation point system in place for moving violations.

Each Missouri driver’s license has a total of 12 points. These points can be lost by committing one of the moving violations below.

The more points you accumulate, the more likely you are to face consequences such as having your driving license suspended or revoked.

Moving violations

A moving violation is any traffic offense committed while you are driving the car.

These include:

  • Speeding.
  • DUI (driving under the influence).
  • Driving with a suspended driver’s license.
  • Driving without a license.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Running a red light.
  • Following too closely.
  • Not carrying the correct car insurance.
  • Driving without a drivers license car on hand.
  • Driving with an expired driver’s license.
  • Leaving the scene of an accident.
  • Hit and run accidents.
  • Outstanding warrants for unpaid traffic tickets.
 

These types of violations will incur points on your driving record.

Non-moving violations

A non-moving violation is any other sort of violation that you commit with a stationary vehicle.

These include:

  • Parking in a no-parking zone.
  • Parking near a fire hydrant or too far from the curb.
  • Failure to prove insurance coverage.
  • Failure to properly display vehicle license plates on the front or back.
  • Possession of marijuana.
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia.
  • Minor in possession of alcohol.
  • Failure to register a motor vehicle with the Department of Revenue.
  • Transporting children and/or self without the use of seat belts or approved restraint systems.
  • Failure to display a fuel license/permit.
  • Littering from a moving vehicle.
 

These types of violations do not incur points on your driving record.

What does the point system in Missouri mean for you?

If you accumulate a total of 4 points in 12 months, the Department of Revenue will send you a point accumulation advisory letter.

Driving license suspensions

If you accumulate a total of 8 or more points in 18 months, the Department of Revenue will suspend your driving privileges.

  • 1st suspension – 30 days.
  • 2nd suspension – 60 days.
  • 3rd or additional suspensions – 90 days.
 

Driving license revocations

The Department of Revenue will revoke your driving privilege for one year if you accumulate:

  • 12 or more points in 12 months.
  • 18 or more points in 24 months.
  • 24 or more points in 36 months.
 

Every year you drive without getting new points on your record, the points will be reduced.

  • 1 year — total remaining points reduced by one-third.
  • 2 years — remaining points reduced by one-half.
  • 3 years — points reduced to zero.
 

Although your points may be reduced to zero, certain types of convictions must remain listed permanently on your Missouri driver’s record.

To see a full list of traffic violation points in Missouri, you can download form 899 from the Missouri Department of Revenue.

You can also find out what is on your Missouri driver’s record by calling the Missouri State interactive voice response system at (573) 526-2407. This line is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

In Missouri, if your driving privileges are suspended or revoked, you may require SR-22 insurance to regain your driving privileges.

Your insurance provider must file proof of future financial responsibility with an SR-22 form at the Drivers License Bureau.

You will need to maintain an SR-22 with your insurance company for two years from the starting date of the suspension.

How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Missouri?

If you have been convicted of a traffic violation, your car insurance company will need to file an SR-22 form on your behalf.

You will need to take the following steps to file for SR-22 insurance in Missouri State:

  1. Find an authorized insurance provider: Not all insurance companies are able to offer you SR-22 insurance. If you already have car insurance, check with your provider whether they will issue an SR-22 form for you. If they don’t, you will need to find an insurer that does.
  2. Pay the SR-22 filing fee: Your insurer will charge you a filing fee for managing the SR-22 form on your behalf. This is a one-time fee of approximately $25.
  3. Verify your coverage: Ensure that your insurance policy meets the minimum requirements of Missouri State.
  4. Let your insurer submit your SR-22 form on your behalf: Your insurer should file your SR-22 form with the Drivers License Bureau and provide you with verification once the form is filed.
  5. Wait for confirmation: Once the state accepts your SR-22 form, you should receive a confirmation letter from the Drivers License Bureau and one from your insurance company. You will then be legally eligible to drive again.
 

It’s important to note that if you allow your SR-22 insurance to lapse, your insurance provider is required to report it to the Drivers License Bureau.

Types of SR-22 Insurance in Missouri

When you apply for SR-22 insurance, you will need to specify the exact type of SR-22 insurance you need, depending on your circumstances.

Operator SR-22 insurance

If you do not own a car but still drive a car, you will need to file for operator car insurance. This is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to drive on occasion (e.g. a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).
 

Owner SR-22 insurance

Owner SR-22 insurance is for Missouri drivers who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who does own a car.
  • Want to reinstate their driver’s license.
 

Owner/operator SR-22 insurance

If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry owner/operator SR-22 insurance.

Which Is the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Missouri?

Finding a car insurance company in Missouri that will file your SR-22 insurance with the Drivers License Bureau can be challenging. Luckily, we’ve done the hard work for you.

If your car insurance company is not able to assist you with your SR-22 insurance filing, consider one of the two providers below, or reach out to us for a provider in your county.

Here are the cheapest SR-22 car insurance rates in Missouri.

According to our recent research, The General provides the cheapest SR-22 car insurance in Missouri, with average monthly premiums of $356.

Provider Average Monthly Price Monthly cost in St. Louis County Monthly cost in Jackson County  Monthly cost in St. Charles County Monthly cost in St. Louis City County Monthly cost in Greene County
The General $356 $441 $385 $336 $336 $284
Bristol West $592 $692 $691 $540 $540 $498

Remember to never settle for the first car insurance quote you get. Shop around and find the cheapest car insurance in Missouri.

In fact, it’s best to get a completely personalized insurance quote as we all have different needs and circumstances. Most reputable insurers will tailor your insurance quote to your needs.

Get a personalized car insurance quote.

Key Point: What Makes Up Your Car Insurance Quote

Car insurance companies usually look at your driving record, past claims, and vehicle model when deciding on car insurance rates.

In Missouri, car insurance companies will also look at the following factors:

  • Your location.
  • Your marital status.
  • Your employment status.
  • Your credit history.
  • Your vehicle.
  • The miles you cover.
  • The extra driving courses you took.
  • Where you keep your vehicle.

How Does an SR-22 Impact Your Insurance in Missouri

We looked at the car insurance rates offered by various insurers for low-risk drivers, to compare them to the rates they offer to drivers who have been convicted of driving-related violations.

This is how much drivers in Missouri with a clean driving record can expect to pay for car insurance:

The cheapest insurance provider is Clearcover at an average of $171.

Provider St. Louis County Jackson County St. Charles County St. Louis City County Greene County Average
Liberty Mutual $198 $197 $165 $172 $183 $183
Clearcover $191 $194 $162 $156 $153 $171
State Auto $216 $199 $203 $200 $184 $200
Bristol West $449 $455 $347 $240 $334 $365

Here’s how much drivers in Missouri can expect to pay if they are considered a high-risk driver:

The cheapest insurance provider is The General at an average of $353.

Provider St. Louis County Jackson County St. Charles County St. Louis City County Greene County Average
The General $441 $385 $336 $320 $284 $353
Bristol West $635 $635 $496 $446 $457 $533

Get a personalized car insurance quote.

How to Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Missouri

Missouri is not the most expensive state when it comes to SR-22 insurance in the U.S.

In fact, Missouri drivers pay 6.5% less for full coverage than the national average cost of car insurance.

Although Missouri has cheaper car insurance than other states in the U.S., there are a few ways that you can save money on car insurance.

Here are some tips that will help you get the best rate for your SR-22 insurance in Missouri.

  • Maintain a good credit history: Many insurers use credit information to price car insurance policies. Research has shown that people with better credit histories make fewer claims.
  • Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, opt for insurance that charges you based on how many miles you drive per month.
  • Raise your deductibles: A deductible is the amount you pay out-of-pocket when you make a claim. If you raise your deductibles, your insurer will likely reduce your premiums.
  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Opt for insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one company.
  • Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: Enjoy a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.
  • Shop around for your car insurance: We’ll show you a few price comparisons for car insurance in Missouri. It’s worthwhile getting at least three quotes from insurance companies so that you can make an informed decision.
 

Apart from SR-22 Car Insurance in Missouri, What Else Do You Need to Have?

The only type of car insurance that you are required to carry in Missouri is liability coverage. This insurance pays for damages to others when an accident is your fault.

With liability insurance though, you won’t be able to cover the cost of repairing your own vehicle if you are in an accident.

Liability insurance will also not pay for medical expenses when you or others are injured.

For this coverage, you need the following types of insurance:

Collision and comprehensive insurance. If you get into a car accident, or your vehicle is in any way damaged, collision and comprehensive insurance will settle the repair costs to your car.

Medical payments insurance. Medical payments insurance, otherwise known as MedPay, pays the hospital bills for you and your passengers after a car accident.

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Missouri

To help you find cheap SR-22 car insurance in Missouri, we at CheapInsurance.com rounded up the most frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance:

What is an SR-22 in Missouri?

In Missouri State, an SR-22 form needs to be applied for and filed for any driver that has committed a serious traffic offense.

How do I get an SR-22 Certificate in Missouri?

Your insurance provider must file an SR-22 form on your behalf. If you are a high-risk client, they may be unwilling to do this and you will need to find another insurer.

How much more do I need to pay for SR-22 insurance in Missouri State as compared to standard insurance?

In general, a policy with SR-22 is more expensive than standard insurance cover.

A good driver can expect to pay around $229 per month, whereas a high-risk driver may look at premiums of around $443.

Who has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Missouri?

According to our research, The General offers the best option for cheap car insurance in Missouri State. The average premium across good and high-risk drivers is $356.

For how long do Missouri drivers need SR-22 car insurance?

The minimum required time for SR-22 insurance is two years for drivers convicted of a traffic offense.

Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in Missouri?

Why not get a personalized car insurance quote today?