Find Out How To Get Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance For Minnesota In 2022

CheapInsurance.com will help you find the cheapest SR-22 insurance quotes in Minnesota.

Art Museum in Minnesota

Accidents happen out of the blue when you least expect them, often resulting in damage to your vehicle or that of the other party involved.

Whether the accident was due to a momentary lapse in your or the other driver’s concentration, having the right car insurance is important to help you cover any unforeseen costs.

Most states require drivers to have standard car insurance, but SR-22 car insurance is also something that you may need if your license is suspended or revoked.

In this article, we take a closer look at everything you need to know about SR-22 car insurance in Minnesota.

Firstly, What Is SR-22 Car Insurance?

An SR-22 is a certificate of financial responsibility required for some drivers by their state or through a court order.

It’s not actually a type of insurance, but a form filed with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Minnesota and issued to drivers who have contravened specific traffic rules.

An SR-22 form serves as proof that you have met the car insurance requirements in line with state law in Minnesota.

If your license is suspended or revoked, you are required to carry the SR-22 certificate with you for a period of 3 years.

Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability Coverage

Auto liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or the injury/death of athird party while driving.

Although each state in the U.S. has different liability insurance requirements, there are always three essential elements that are included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

The minimum auto liability insurance requirements in Minnesota are:

  • $30,000 per person for bodily injury, with up to $60,000 for all injuries per accident.
  • $10,000 in property damage coverage.
  • $40,000 in personal injury protection.
  • $25,000 for uninsured motorist coverage and $50,000 per accident.
  • $25,000 for underinsured motorist coverage and $50,000 per accident.
 

While most states require bodily injury and property liability damage, approximately half of them also require drivers to have personal injury protection (PIP), underinsured liability, and uninsured liability.

Let’s take a closer look at these types of insurance coverage.

Bodily injury: If you are responsible for a car accident, bodily injury liability coverage pays for the medical costs of the people who are injured (excluding yourself). This coverage also helps cover payment for legal defense in the event that you are sued for damages.

Property damage: This insurance typically helps cover the cost of repairs if you are at fault in a car accident that damages another vehicle or property such as a fence or building front. Property damage liability coverage usually does not cover damage to your own vehicle.

Personal injury protection (PIP): This coverage pays for your and your passengers’ medical expenses and lost wages if you are involved in a car accident, whether you are at fault or not.

The minimum PIP coverage in Minnesota is $40,000 per person, per accident. This amount is split evenly between medical expenses coverage and non-medical costs.

Underinsured: This coverage applies to medical expenses for those on your policy if they are involved in an accident where the other driver is at fault. It can cover any additional expenses if the other party’s insurance is insufficient. The minimum coverage is $25,000 for injuries to a single person and $50,000 for injuries to multiple individuals.

Uninsured: This coverage can cover medical expenses for you and those on your policy if you are involved in an accident with an at-fault and uninsured driver. The minimum requirements in Minnesota are $25,000 for injuries to one person and $50,000 for injuries to two or more individuals.

If You Do Not Have Minimum Liability Insurance in Minnesota, You Must Have SR-22 Insurance

It’s compulsory for drivers to carry minimum liability insurance in Minnesota and those that fail to meet these requirements can be fined or their license may be suspended.

There are some drivers who will also need to carry an official SR-22 insurance form which proves that they have an adequate auto insurance policy.

This SR-22 form is necessary to reinstate suspended licenses and demonstrates that the driver has insurance that meets the state’s minimum liability insurance requirements.

If you haven’t been ordered to carry SR-22 insurance and don’t have a revoked or suspended driver’s license, then you don’t need to carry an SR-22 certificate.

Key Point: How Much Does SR-22 Insurance Cost?

While drivers subject to SR-22 requirements pay more than drivers with clean records, the exact cost of the policy varies based on the seriousness of the offense.

For example, a driver convicted of a DUI or hit-and-run will pay much more than someone with multiple outstanding speeding tickets.

In addition, drivers who need SR-22 coverage will have to pay a one-time fee to file the form and lose access to good driving discounts.

Who Needs SR-22 Insurance and How Long Do They Need It For?

It’s important to note that every state in the U.S. has its own set of traffic violations for which an SR-22 certificate is needed.

In Minnesota, traffic violations are classified as either petty misdemeanors or misdemeanors.

Petty misdemeanors are the less serious of the two and carry a maximum fine of $300.

Misdemeanors are more serious offenses that can result in fines of up to $1,000 and up to 90 days in jail.

Minnesota doesn’t use a point system, but the state does record each moving violation on your driving record. Each subsequent violation carries additional harsher penalties.

The number of demerits added depends on the severity of the offense, but if you drive recklessly and gather enough violations against your record, your driving license could be suspended.

If this happens, you will require an SR-22 as proof that you have taken on the financial responsibility of complying with minimum auto liability insurance coverage.

SR-22 insurance in Minnesota will cost you more than standard insurance coverage because drivers with an SR-22 are considered to be a higher risk.

Common Minnesota traffic violations that you can be fined for and which will add demerits to your driver’s license include:

  • Careless/reckless driving.
  • Distracted driving.
  • Hit-and-run.
  • Passing an emergency vehicle.
  • Speeding.
  • Drinking and driving violations.
  • Driving without a license / with a suspended license.
  • Driving without registration / with expired registration.
  • Illegal U-turn.
  • Mechanical violations.
  • Running a red light / stop sign.
  • Seat belt / child restraint violations.
 

Violations that can lead to a suspended license in Minnesota:

  • Possessing a fake or altered license.
  • Driving without insurance.
  • Being convicted of underage drinking and driving.
  • Failing to stop for a school bus with its stop arm extended and red lights flashing.
  • Failing to report a medical condition that would result in cancellation of driving privileges.
  • Committing a traffic offense in another state that would be grounds for suspension in Minnesota.
  • Being convicted for a violation causing a traffic accident resulting in death, injury, or property damage.
 

There are also certain situations where you will need to have non-owner SR-22 insurance—for example, if you don’t own the vehicle you drive, such as when you are borrowing someone else’s car or driving a rental.

How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Minnesota?

To get an SR-22 certificate in Minnesota, you will have to request one from your insurance carrier. They will file the form with the state on your behalf.

Some insurance providers will not do this for you because they may consider you to be too much of a risky driver.

If your insurer does not offer this service, you will have to shop around and look for a provider that does.

It’s important to note that if you allow your SR-22 insurance to lapse, your insurance carrier is required to report this to the Department of Licensing.

Since an SR-22 certificate proves that you have sufficient car insurance, a lapse in cover would mean that you are not insured.

If this happens, some states will revoke your registration or suspend your license. Others may issue a fine if you fail to have an SR-22 certificate.

You may also find that your premiums go up if you allow your policy to lapse.

If you are unable to pay the SR-22 premiums, contact your auto insurance provider as soon as possible to find out what you can do to prevent your license being suspended.

Types of SR-22 Insurance in Minnesota

When you apply for SR-22 insurance, you will need to specify the exact type of SR-22 insurance you need, depending on your circumstances.

Non-owner SR-22 insurance

If you drive a car you do not own, you will need to file for non-owner car insurance. This is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to enjoy driving privileges and drive on occasion (e.g. a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).
 

Owner SR-22 insurance

Owner SR-22 insurance is for drivers in Minnesota who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who does own a car.
  • Want their license reinstated.
 

Owner/operator SR-22 insurance

If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry owner/operator SR-22 insurance.

Which Is the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Minnesota?

Let’s look at a few of the cheapest SR-22 Minnesota car insurance rates for 2022.

According to our recent research, Bristol West provides the cheapest SR-22 car insurance rates in Minnesota, with average monthly auto insurance premiums of just $574.

Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Minnesota
ProviderAverageHennepin County Ramsey County Dakota County Anoka County Washington County 
The General$714$737$762N/A$678$680
Bristol West$574$744$763$465$427$470

Since we all have different requirements, it’s a good idea to get a personalized SR-22 insurance quote. A good insurance carrier will make sure that your policy suits your needs.

Get your customized SR-22 car insurance quote.

Key Point: What Will Affect the Cost of Car Insurance?

A car insurance company usually looks at your driving record, past claims, and vehicle model when deciding on car insurance rates.

In Minnesota, car insurance companies will also look at the following factors:
  • The kind of car you drive.
  • The amount of coverage you need.
  • The city you live in/your location.
  • Your age.
  • Driving record.
  • Credit rating.
  • Occupation.
  • Gender.
  • Marital status.

How Does an SR-22 Impact Your Insurance Rates in Minnesota?

We’ve looked at a number of insurance companies in order to compare the rates of good drivers to those paid by drivers who have been found guilty of repeated driving violations.

This is how much drivers in Minnesota with a clean driving record can expect to pay for car insurance:

Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Minnesota for Good Drivers
ProviderAverageHennepin County Ramsey County Dakota County Anoka County Washington County 
Liberty Mutual$159$174$191$132$136$160
Travelers$213$232$247$183N/A$190
The General$410$457$476$323$396$400
Bristol West$381$491$502$295$268$350

Here’s how much drivers in Minnesota can expect to pay if they are considered high-risk drivers:

Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Minnesota for Bad Drivers
ProviderAverageHennepin County Ramsey County Dakota County Anoka County Washington County 
The General$702$725N/A$651$655$683
Bristol West$709$728$465$406$410$544

If you are regarded as a high-risk driver and you have been convicted of more than one traffic violation, it’s a good idea to consult a number of car insurance companies to find the best one suited to your needs.

Shop around to find car insurance that meets your requirements.

4 Ways To Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Minnesota

Although you will end up paying higher rates as a high-risk driver with an SR-22 certificate in Minnesota, you will still be able to save some money. Here’s how:

  • Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, choose auto insurance coverage with premiums that are based on how many miles you drive per month.
  • Raise your deductibles: A deductible is the amount of money that you will need to first pay out-of-pocket before your insurance will kick in. If you are willing to pay more for expenses yourself, your insurer will lower your premiums.
  • Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Choose insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one company.
  • Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: You could get a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.
 

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Minnesota

What is an SR-22 in Minnesota?

An SR-22 in Minnesota is a certificate that you are required to get if you commit a serious traffic violation and your license has been suspended or revoked.

In Minnesota, an SR-22 form needs to be submitted to the DMV. Once the form is submitted, you will receive an SR-22 certificate which you will need to have with you when driving.

It is an additional form that your insurer files with the state to ensure that your insurance policy coverage complies with the minimum requirements.

Is SR-22 Coverage expensive in Minnesota?

SR-22 coverage in Minnesota can be expensive. Even though the filing fee for the SR-22 form isn’t too costly, repeated traffic violations increase your auto insurance premiums.

How do I get an SR-22 certificate in Minnesota?

Your insurance carrier will need to file an SR-22 form with the Minnesota DMV for you. As a high-risk driver, they may not be willing to do this.

If this is the case, you will need to find another insurer who will file the SR-22 form for you.

Why is the SR-22 expensive?

SR-22 insurance is costly because it’s mainly required for high-risk drivers who have recently

been convicted of a major moving violation, like DUI or reckless driving.

Drivers considered to be high-risk will inevitably pay higher premiums due to their increased likelihood of filing a claim.

What is the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Minnesota?

According to our research, the cheapest insurance rate for drivers who need SR-22 insurance is from Bristol West at $574 on average per month.

How long do Minnesota drivers need SR-22 car insurance for?

The minimum required time that you need to keep your SR-22 certificate up-to-date, is for three years but this may vary depending on your conviction.

What is non-owner SR-22 insurance?

After a serious driving offense, your license may be suspended.

You’ll need to file an SR-22 form and purchase an insurance policy that meets the state’s minimum liability requirements.

This is true even if you don’t own a car, but you need to rent one or borrow someone else’s.

In these instances, it’s best to buy a non-owner SR-22 insurance policy. This will provide you with proof of insurance, allowing you to drive when necessary.

As a bonus, these non-owner SR-22 policies usually cost less than traditional SR-22 ones.

Can I drive in Minnesota with an out-of-state license?

To legally drive in Minnesota, any new residents need to transfer their out-of-state license within 60 days of moving there.

If you’re a student or part of the military, you may be allowed to drive with a valid license from your home state or country.

Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in Minnesota?

Why not get a car insurance quote to meet your needs today?