Maryland Cityscape

Here at CheapInsurance.com, we bring you everything you need to know about SR-22 car insurance in Maryland State.

Maryland has an annual average of 59 inches of rain in summer and 20.6 inches of snow in the winter.

Slippery and icy conditions are normal and this means that driving in Maryland can be tricky for most of the year.

Whether you are waiting at a traffic light or driving, accidents can happen quickly. We all have those days when our attention slips and we’re not as sharp as we should be.

In many states, if you are convicted of a serious driving violation you will need SR-22 insurance.

In Maryland, however, you will not need this. What you may need is an FR-19 certificate.

This form is filed by car insurance companies and is submitted to the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration.

 

What Is SR-22 Insurance and What Does It Mean for You as a Driver in Maryland?

SR stands for ‘Safety Responsibility’

SR-22 is sometimes referred to as “financial responsibility insurance,” since SR-22 insurance is not really a typical insurance policy.

An SR-22 certificate, which is also known as an SR-22 endorsement, is needed by some states in the U.S. because it verifies that you have minimum auto liability car insurance.

Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability Coverage

Minimum auto liability insurance coverage helps you to pay for any damage you may cause to property, or the injury/death of another person while you are driving.

Each U.S. state has their own set of minimum liability requirements. However, there are always three key aspects that need to be included:

  • Bodily injury coverage per person.
  • Bodily injury coverage per accident.
  • Property damage coverage per accident.

The minimum auto liability requirements in Maryland are:

  • $30,000 per person.
  • $60,000 per accident: bodily injury for two or more people.
  • $15,000 per accident: Property damage.
 

This is also commonly referred to as 30/60/15 liability insurance.

Key point: You always need minimum liability insurance

It’s against the law in Maryland to drive a vehicle if you do not have minimum liability insurance coverage.

What Is an FR-19 Certificate in Maryland?

It’s not necessary for you to have an SR-22 certificate, or SR-22 insurance in Maryland. Instead, you will need an FR-19 certificate.

Also known as the Maryland Vehicle Insurance Certification, the FR-19 certificate proves to the traffic authorities that you meet or exceed the minimum car insurance requirements of the state.

The Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) may send you a letter requesting that you file an FR-19 certificate with them to prove that you have minimum liability car insurance.

You will typically have 15 days to respond to this request.

Your insurance company can file this certificate on your behalf. Once the MVA receives and verifies your FR-19, no further action will be taken against you or your driving privileges.

 

Why Would the MVA Request My FR-19?

If the MVA believes that you could have had a lapse in insurance coverage, they may request proof that you had car insurance at a specific time.

The FR-19 certificate proves that you both currently have, and did have the required insurance cover at a certain time.

 

What Is the Difference Between an SR-22 and a FR-19 Certificate?

Both an SR-22 certificate and a FR-19 certificate are there to prove that you have enough insurance to cover the minimum auto liability requirements.

Let’s look at the differences and details of the two:

 

SR-22 certificate

An SR-22 is also known as a certificate of financial responsibility. It’s a form that is filed with the automobile and transport department in your state.

Once the state has approved the form, you are issued with a certificate that you must carry around with you at all times.

You will need an SR-22 certificate in the following instances:

  • You are convicted for driving under the influence of alcohol or driving while intoxicated. This is also known as a DUI.
  • You have committed serious and/or repeat traffic offenses.
  • You have been at fault in an accident with no insurance.
  • Your license has been suspended or revoked.
 

When you need an SR-22, your insurer will typically charge you more for your insurance. We discuss this later on in the article.

Your insurer can file the SR-22 for you, but may charge between $25 and $50 to do so.

 

FR-19 certificate

An FR-19 certificate proves to the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) that you have car insurance.

It also verifies that you had insurance at the time that your FR-19 certificate was filed.

To get an FR-19 certificate, you will need to apply for it with the MVA first. Your insurance company will need to submit your FR-19 application form on your behalf—you can’t do it yourself.

You will need an FR-19 certificate in the following instances:

  • Renewing your license: When you go to the MVA to renew your license they will ask you for your FR-19 certificate, so you will need to have this on hand.
  • You’re involved in a car accident: The MVA has the right to audit your insurance at any time. This is usually done if you are in a car accident.
  • Policy rewrite: If you change any type of cover on your car insurance you will need to prove to the MVA that you have the right insurance for minimum liability cover.
  • Switching insurance companies: If you change to another insurance company you may be asked to submit an FR-19 form. When this form is submitted you will receive a FR-19 certificate proving your insurance cover.
  • You bought a new car: If you have changed cars on your auto insurance policy, you may be asked to prove cover with an FR-19 certificate.
 

If you receive a request to submit an FR-19 form from the MVA, you will need to provide your car insurance company with the following information:

  • Case number.
  • Title number.
  • Insurance verification date.
 

SR-22 Insurance Maryland: How Do You Get It?

Remember, an SR-22 endorsement is not required in Maryland. You will need an FR-19 certificate in some cases if you live in the state.

An SR-22 could be necessary if you relocate to another state, or drive in another state that requires SR-22.

If you have committed a serious traffic violation in Maryland, the state that you are relocating to may need an SR-22 endorsement.

Most states need an SR-22, with the exception of:

  • Maryland.
  • Delaware.
  • Kentucky.
  • Minnesota.
  • New Mexico.
  • New York.
  • North Carolina.
  • Oklahoma.
  • Pennsylvania.
 

If you are a resident of Maryland, you will need to ask your insurer to issue your SR-22 form for you.

Some insurance providers may not want to do this in Maryland, because they are not required to process SR-22 endorsements for the state.

To meet the SR-22 requirements of the state that you are relocating to or driving in, you will need to ask your insurer to send the necessary paperwork to the state’s DMV (Department of Motor Vehicles).

Key Point:

Your insurer is obliged to submit the application for the SR-22 certificate to the DMV of the state you are going to.

What Types of SR-22 Insurance Are There?

When you apply for an SR-22 certificate in another state, you will need to specify the exact type of car insurance that you need.

The insurance that you need and the SR-22 certificate that you apply for will depend on your circumstances.

 

Non-owner SR-22 insurance

If you do not own a car but still drive a friend or family member’s car, you will need to file for non-owner car insurance. This is for drivers who:

  • Don’t plan to own a car.
  • Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
  • Still want to drive on occasion (e.g., a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).
 

Owner SR-22 insurance

Owner SR-22 insurance is for drivers who:

  • Already own a car or plan to buy one.
  • Share a household with someone who does own a car.
  • Want to reinstate their driver’s license.
 

Owner/operator SR-22 insurance

If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry owner/operator SR-22 insurance.

Where Can You Get Cheap Car Insurance in Maryland?

While you will not need an SR-22 in Maryland, your car insurance rates will still be affected if you are considered a high-risk driver.

We compared the insurance quotes of six different insurance companies.

The comparisons below will give you some idea as to what you will be paying for car insurance as a driver with a clean driving record.

 

Cheap Car Insurance in Maryland for Drivers with Clean Driving Records

Drivers with a clean driving record are in a better position to find cheap car insurance. These drivers are considered to:

  • Have not been the cause of any car accidents.
  • Have no traffic offenses.
  • Have a good credit score.
  • Have no speeding tickets.
  • Have no reckless driving charges.
  • Have no DUI convictions.
 

To save even more money, you can bundle your car insurance with other insurance products such as homeowners insurance.

Insurance companies are usually very happy to provide discounts for bundled insurance.

Cheapest Car Insurance for Good Drivers (Clean Driving Records) in Maryland.
ProviderMontgomeryCounty

Prince George’s

County

Baltimore County

Anne Arundel

County

Baltimore City/CountyAverage
Elephant$165$176$218$163N/A$180
State Auto$256$315$280$199$431$296
Bristol West$470$522$555$413$942$580
AAA Insurance$161$273$231$229$400$258
Liberty Mutual$179$196$186N/AN/A$187
Allstate$210$220$228$231N/A$222

Cheap Car Insurance in Maryland for High-Risk Drivers

Insurance companies use the term “high risk” to describe drivers who are more likely to make a claim against their car insurance policy.

Some of the offenses in that may lead to being considered a high-risk driver in Maryland include:

  • Receiving a DUI conviction.
  • Reckless driving.
  • Speeding tickets.
  • Having too many points on your driving record.
  • Driving without meeting the minimum liability coverage requirements.
  • A poor credit score.
  • Unpaid insurance policy premiums.
 

If you are a high-risk driver, Maryland insurance companies may increase the cost of your car insurance.

 

Why Is My Car Insurance Premium in Maryland So High?

The amount of money you will pay for your car insurance premium is directly influenced by a number of different factors.

Here is a list of incidents that commonly increase the cost of your insurance policy in Maryland:

An at-fault collision: If you are at fault for causing a car accident in Maryland, you can expect your insurance to increase. An at-fault car crash will remain on your insurance profile for three years.

The reason why your insurance premium will increase is because in Maryland, after an at-fault accident you will be responsible for damage to property, injuries and lost income.

Speeding: If you receive a speeding ticket in Maryland and have this on your driving record, your insurance company may increase your premiums.

Maryland has an absolute speed limit. This means that even one mile per hour over the required speed limit is considered a violation.

These are the maximum speed limits in Maryland:

  • 65 mph – the maximum highway speed limit.
  • 55 mph – interstate highways or expressways.
  • 50 mph – undivided highways in urban districts.
  • 35 mph – divided highways in residential districts.
  • 30 mph – highways in business districts.
  • 30 mph – undivided highways in residential districts.
  • 15 mph – in alleys (Baltimore County).
 

Distracted driving: If you are found guilty of distracted driving and receive a ticket from Maryland’s law enforcement, you could pay more for your insurance.

Distracted driving includes the following instances where your attention is taken off the road:

  • Talking on a cell phone.
  • Writing or reading a text message.
  • Chatting with passengers.
  • Eating and drinking.
  • Changing the radio station.
 

Maryland driving law prohibits the use of any handheld device while driving. If you are found to be using one, you will pay a hefty fine.

If the use of a cell phone or mobile device while driving causes serious injury or death, you could receive a fine of $5,000 or spend three years in prison.

Reckless driving: This is among the most serious traffic violations. In Maryland, it’s considered to be the “willful disregard of persons and property.”

If you have received a reckless driving citation, you can expect your insurance costs to increase.

You are guilty of reckless driving in Maryland if you violate three of the following rules of the road during a trip:

  • Overtaking and passing vehicles.
  • Passing on the right.
  • Driving on laned roadways.
  • Following too closely.
  • Failure to yield the right of way.
  • Exceeding the speed limit.
 

The car you drive: The cost of your car is a key factor in what you’ll pay to insure it. Any enhancements will attract a higher fee, as will the likelihood that the vehicle may get stolen.

Your claims history: How often you have claimed from insurance will impact your insurance rates. This can drive up your insurance premiums.

Why not get a personalized car insurance quote today with CheapInsurance.com?

 

FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Maryland

To help you find cheap SR-22 insurance in Maryland, let’s take a closer look at some of the questions that we have been asked most frequently:

 

Do I need personal injury protection in Maryland?

Personal injury protection (PIP) is not mandatory in Maryland.

Insurance companies in Maryland are, however, required to offer a minimum of $2,500 of PIP coverage when preparing car insurance policies.

Personal injury protection is also known as “no-fault insurance.”

PIP insurance covers medical expenses and any lost wages when you or any of your passengers are injured in a car accident. PIP is optional in most states.

 

Do I need SR-22 insurance in Maryland?

An SR-22 form is not needed in Maryland. Instead, you may need an FR-19 certificate to prove to the MVA that you have insurance cover.

If you live in Maryland and are a high-risk driver, you will need an SR-22 certificate when moving to another state.

Your insurance provider will need to apply for the SR-22 for you with the Department of Transportation in the relevant state.

 

What is an SR-22 in Maryland?

The term “SR-22” refers to a certificate of insurance or future financial responsibility. This certificate is not needed in Maryland.

Instead of an SR-22, you will need an FR-19 certificate in Maryland to prove that you have car insurance.

Your insurer is obliged to apply for an SR-22 certificate if you are a high-risk driver and are driving to a state that does need one.

 

My insurer won’t issue my SR-22. What should I do?

Because SR-22 certificates are not a requirement in Maryland, some insurers are either unfamiliar with them or unwilling to issue them.

Under the rules and regulations of the Maryland Department of Transportation, however, issuing an SR-22 certificate is mandatory on request.

 

Are You Looking for Cheap Car Insurance in Maryland?

Are you moving to Maryland? Or are you looking for a competitive car insurance quote as a resident?

Maybe you are driving to another state from Maryland and are looking for an insurer that will provide you with an SR-22 certificate.

Luckily, you’ve come to the right place.

Get a personalized car insurance quote with us and select the option best suited to your individual needs.