Find Out How To Get Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance For Colorado In 2022
Here at CheapInsurance.com, we’ve got you covered with the cheapest SR-22 insurance quotes in Colorado.
Accidents can happen quickly and unexpectedly, and they always come as a shock.
Whether it’s the fault of another driver, or because your attention slipped a little while driving, it’s important to have the right car insurance to help you pay for any unexpected costs.
While you must have standard car insurance, SR-22 car insurance is something that you may also need at some point.
For example, if you have to reinstate your driver’s license after it has been suspended or revoked, you may need to get SR-22 insurance from your insurer.
In this article, we will cover everything you need to know about SR-22 car insurance in Colorado.
What Is SR-22 Car Insurance and What Does It Mean for You?
There tends to be a lot of confusion around what SR-22 insurance actually is.
SR-22 insurance is also sometimes referred to as ‘financial responsibility insurance’, but it’s not really an insurance policy at all.
Instead, SR-22 is a certificate that your car insurance company will file with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) in Colorado.
This certificate is an official form that you will need to carry around with you to prove that you have enough car insurance to meet the minimum auto liability coverage requirements of Colorado State.
Key Point: Minimum Auto Liability Coverage
Auto liability coverage is a type of insurance that helps to pay for any damage you may cause to property or the injury/death of a third party while driving.
Each U.S. state has different minimum liability requirements, but there are always three essential elements that are included:
The minimum auto liability insurance requirements in Colorado are:
- $25,000 for bodily injury to one person.
- $50,000 for bodily injuries to two or more people.
- $15,000 for property damage.
This is also referred to as the 25/50/15 rule in Colorado.
Every driver in Colorado will need to meet the minimum liability requirements that we have outlined here.
There are some drivers that will also need to carry an official form which proves that they have enough insurance to cover these requirements.
This form is often referred to as SR-22 insurance.
If you haven’t been ordered to carry SR-22 insurance and don’t have a revoked or suspended driver’s license, then you don’t need to carry an SR-22 certificate.
Who Needs SR-22 Insurance and How Long Do They Need It For?
Each state in the U.S. has its own set of violations for which an SR-22 certificate is needed.
In Colorado, the state classifies violations into what they call Class A and Class B misdemeanors.
Colorado works on a point system, so if you commit certain violations, points will be added to your driver’s license.
Class B misdemeanors do not incur any points, but Class A violations do.
These are some of the Class A misdemeanors that you can be fined for, and which will add points to your driver’s license:
- Driving under restraint due to an outstanding judgment.
- Underage DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol).
- Failure to dim high beams.
- Turning left in front of oncoming traffic.
- Failure to yield right of way at an intersection.
- Failure to yield to an emergency vehicle.
- Stopping in a crosswalk or intersection.
- Driving through a safety zone.
- Failure to exercise due care to pedestrians.
- Driving on the left side of the road.
- Driving the wrong way on a one-way road.
- Unsafe lane changing in a motor vehicle.
- Driving on the wrong side of the road.
- Speeding violations (less than 25 mph over the limit).
- Driving with an open container of alcohol.
- Driving with an open container of marijuana.
When you collect enough points on your driver’s license, it will be suspended. If you fail to pay the fine for any of the violations above, your license will also be suspended.
You will also need an SR-22 if you commit any one of the following violations:
- Driving without insurance coverage.
- Reckless driving.
- DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol).
You will need to keep your SR-22 certificate for a minimum period of 36 months (3 years) in Colorado.
If you do not renew your car insurance at least 15 days before the expiration date of your cover, your insurer will notify the state in writing.
There are also certain situations where you will need to have SR-22 insurance even if you don’t own a vehicle.
If, for example, you are driving someone else’s car or a rental, you will still need non-owner SR-22 insurance.
How Do You Get SR-22 Insurance in Colorado?
If your license has been revoked, you have committed one of the violations above, or have 12 or more demerit points on your license, your car insurance company will need to file an SR-22 form with the DMV on your behalf.
Some insurers are not really willing to do this as they may consider you to be a high-risk driver.
Once you receive an SR-22 certificate, you will have to pay much higher car insurance rates than before you committed your violation.
You will need to take the following steps to file for SR-22 insurance in Colorado:
- Find an insurance provider: If you already have insurance, check with your provider whether they will issue an SR-22 form for you. If they don’t, you will need to find an insurer that does.
- Pay the SR-22 filing fee: Your insurer will charge you a filing fee for managing the SR-22 form on your behalf. This usually ranges between $15 and $35.
- Verify your coverage: Ensure that your insurance policy meets the minimum requirements of Colorado.
- Submit your SR-22 form: Your insurer should file your SR-22 form with the DMV and provide you with a verification once the form is filed.
- Wait for confirmation: Once the state accepts your SR-22 form, you should receive a confirmation letter from the DMV and one from your auto insurance company.
It’s important to note that if you allow your SR-22 insurance to lapse, your insurance provider is required to report this to the Department of Licensing.
Once you have your SR-22 certificate in place, it’s important to avoid having any lapses in your insurance coverage.
An SR-22 certificate proves that you have sufficient car insurance. A lapse in cover would mean that you are not insured.
If you decide to change your policy or insurance company, make sure you do not have any periods of time without coverage.
Types of SR-22 Insurance in Colorado
When you apply for SR-22 insurance, you will need to specify the exact type of SR-22 insurance you need, depending on your circumstances.
Non-owner SR-22 insurance
If you drive a car you do not own, you will need to file for non-owner car insurance. This is for drivers who:
- Don’t plan to own a car.
- Don’t share a household with someone who owns a car.
- Still want to drive on occasion (e.g. a rental or borrowing a friend’s car).
Owner SR-22 insurance
Owner SR-22 insurance is for Colorado drivers who:
- Already own a car or plan to buy one.
- Share a household with someone who does own a car.
- Want to reinstate their driver’s license.
Owner/operator SR-22 insurance
If more than one car is registered in your name or you need to drive cars you do not own as part of your job, you will need to carry owner/operator SR-22 insurance.
Which Is the Cheapest SR-22 Car Insurance in Colorado?
In Colorado, you will find a wide range of weather conditions and an equally wide selection of terrain.
Driving in Colorado can be enjoyable, but because it snows so much, it can also be dangerous.
Fortunately, this article from way.com offers guidance on how to drive in Colorado during the winter.
When you get an SR-22 certificate, your car insurance costs will increase as you are now considered a high-risk driver.
It’s important to never settle for the first car insurance quote that you get. We recommend that you shop around and find the cheapest SR-22 car insurance.
Let’s take a look at a few of the cheapest SR-22 car insurance rates in Colorado.
According to our recent research, Sun Coast provides the cheapest SR-22 car insurance in Colorado, with average monthly premiums of just $241.
|Provider||Average Monthly Price||Monthly Price in El Paso County||Monthly Cost in Denver County||Monthly cost in Arapahoe County||Monthly cost in Jefferson County||Monthly cost in Adams County|
Besides shopping around for the cheapest SR-22 insurance, it’s best to get a completely personalized insurance quote. We all have different needs and circumstances.
Most good insurers will tailor your insurance quote to your needs.
Key Point: What Affects the Cost of Car Insurance?
Car insurance companies usually look at your driving record, past claims, and vehicle model when deciding on car insurance rates.
In Colorado, car insurance companies will also look at the following factors:
How Does an SR-22 Impact Your Insurance in Colorado?
We’ve looked at the auto insurance rates offered by various insurers for low-risk drivers, to compare them to the rates they offer to drivers who have been convicted of driving-related offenses.
This is how much drivers in Colorado with a clean driving record can expect to pay for car insurance:
|Provider||El Paso County|| |
|Arapahoe County||Jefferson County||Adams County||Average|
Here’s how much drivers in Colorado can expect to pay if they are considered high-risk drivers:
|Provider||El Paso County|| |
|Jefferson County|| |
Remember: Don’t settle for the first quote that you find for your car insurance, especially if you are a high-risk driver. Shop around and ideally get a personalized quote that suits your needs.
How To Save Money on SR-22 Insurance in Colorado
Although you will end up paying higher rates as a high-risk driver with an SR-22 certificate in Colorado, you can still save money. Here’s how:
- Consider usage-based car insurance: If you don’t drive very often, choose an insurance policy with premiums that are based on how many miles you drive per month.
- Raise your deductibles: A deductible is the amount of money that you will need to first pay out-of-pocket before your insurance will kick in. If you are willing to pay more for expenses yourself, your insurer will lower your premiums.
- Bundle your car insurance with other policies: Choose insurers who can offer you great prices on your other insurance needs as well, and go with one company.
- Pay your premium in full instead of monthly payments: You could get a percentage discount when you pay your annual insurance premium in full instead of monthly.
Apart from SR-22 Insurance in Colorado, What Else Do You Need to Have?
Colorado law only requires minimum liability insurance coverage to drive legally in the state, but driving with this cover alone is not recommended.
If you are involved in an accident, the costs for repairs and medical attention tend to cost much more than the cover provided with minimum liability coverage.
Some of the common options for additional coverage include:
Comprehensive cover: This will pay out for vehicle damages caused in non-collision circumstances such as theft or weather-related events.
Collision: If you are involved in a collision, this cover will pay out whether the collision is with another vehicle or a stationary object.
Medical payments: If you are in an accident, this coverage will help pay toward the medical expenses for both you and those in your vehicle. This coverage is available regardless of fault.
Roadside assistance: This coverage helps if you need a tow, have a flat tire, have a dead battery, or if your car has broken down for any other reason.
FAQs about SR-22 Car Insurance in Colorado
To help you find cheap SR-22 car insurance in Colorado, we at CheapInsurance.com rounded up the most frequently asked questions about SR-22 insurance:
What is an SR-22 in Colorado?
In Colorado, an SR-22 form needs to be submitted to the DMV. Once the form is submitted, you will receive an SR-22 certificate which you will need to have with you when driving.
This certificate is only needed if you have committed a serious traffic violation.
How do I get an SR-22 Certificate in Colorado?
Your insurance provider will need to file an SR-22 form with the Colorado DMV for you. As a high-risk driver, they may not be willing to do this.
If this is the case, you will need to find another insurer who will file the SR-22 form for you.
How much more do I need to pay for SR-22 insurance in Colorado as compared to standard insurance?
In general, a policy with SR-22 is more expensive than standard insurance cover.
A good driver can expect to pay around $265 per month, whereas a high-risk driver with an SR-22 certificate may see premiums of around $343.
Who has the cheapest SR-22 insurance in Colorado?
According to the research that we did recently, the cheapest insurance rate for drivers who need SR-22 insurance was from Sun Coast at $241.
For how long do Colorado drivers need SR-22 car insurance?
The minimum required time that you need to keep your SR-22 certificate up-to-date, is for three years, or 36 months.
It’s important to remember that you cannot have a break in insurance cover while you have an SR-22 certificate in place.
If you are found without insurance, your driver’s license will be suspended. Your license will remain suspended until you are insured. Driving with a suspended license is a crime.
Are You Looking for Cheap SR-22 Car Insurance in Colorado?
Why not get a personalized car insurance quote for your car insurance today?