Cheap Insurance Tennessee
Driving in Tennessee: Statewide Stats
While it is not usually associated with car culture, Tennessee has a rich automotive history. Residents love their cars! Because rates can get pricey in the state, we recommend re-shopping your policy biannually. There are many online resources to explore all the options for cheap insurance Tennessee has available.
Getting rate comparisons and competing quotes is the best way to save money!
The 16th state to join the Union, Tennessee has become the “Detroit” of the south with the automobile manufacturing center near Chattanooga employing 106,500 Tennesseans.
Tennessee’s 12-month average car insurance premium as of December, 2014 was $1,397. The percentage of uninsured drivers in the state hovers around 24% however, which increases the cost of auto insurance in the state a great deal.
There are roughly 4.5 million licensed drivers in the state, with 5.4 million registered vehicles on the road (most recent available statistics are from January 2014)
Tennessee Car Insurance Requirements
- Minimum bodily injury coverage limit per person= $25,000.
- Minimum bodily injury coverage limit per accident= $50,000.
- Minimum property damage coverage limit per accdient= $15,000.
Did you know?
- Tennessee has been, and remains, a hub for many different musical genres, including rock and roll, blues, country, and rockabilly.
- Tennessee borders a total of 8 other states!
- Tennessee still has over 82,000 farms (most of them are beef cattle farms).
- Textiles, cotton, and electrical power make up much of the economic output.
- Some of the silliest laws on the books in Tennessee include the following: It is illegal to hold hands while at school, it is illegal to share your Netflix password, hollow logs may not be sold, and you cannot catch fish with a lasso!
- Oh, and skunks may not be carried into the state.
Online DMV services are handled by the Department of Safety website, which can be found here.
Online titling and registration services can be found on the Department of Revenue’s site, here.
In 2011 there were over 25,000 drunk driving arrests. Mothers Against Drunk Driving reports 295 drunk driving deaths in the state in 2012 (representing 29% of all traffic deaths).
If you are convicted of a DUI in Tennesse you will face the following penalties:
- 48 hours, up to 11 months in jail
- 1 year license revocation
- required drug and alcohol treatment
- $350-$1,000 in fines
- Possible required ignition interlock device
- More information on total costs and penalties can be found here.
The Bottom Line
Tennessee is one of the most beautiful states in the nation! It continues to attract new residents to its cities, but, aside from some major corporations such as FedEx and AutoZone, its economy isn’t as diversified as some states.
If you think you may be paying too much for your car insurance, or are a new resident that needs to register a vehicle, give us a call! A licensed professional can guide you through the process and help make sure your rates are as low as possible.
If you prefer local help, head to one of our city pages below for a list of agents in your area.
We Have Your Town Covered!
Average Annual Premiums in Tennessee = $1,228 | via Insure.com
Have questions about auto insurance in your state? Want a quote for car insurance?
Start with your zipcode for a fast, free quote.
OR speak to an agent:
Local Tennessee agencies we can beat in price.
59 N 3rd St
Memphis, TN 38103
2564 Covington Pike
Memphis, TN 38128
1985 Madison Ave Ste 3
Memphis, TN 38104
2951 Elmore Park Rd
Memphis, TN 38134
5986 Knight Arnold Rd
Memphis, TN 38115