Cheap Insurance Missouri
Driving in Missouri: Statewide Stats
Every 9.6 minutes someone is injured in a traffic accident in the state. The increased number of incidents in urban areas are mostly credited to drivers texting or talking on their cellphones. This has led to insurance rates rising to an average of $90/month (for full coverage on a late model Toyota, with liability at 100/300/50). While that is still lower than many states, you should still take the time to compare all the available options for cheap insurance Missouri agents can find you.
The average annual 12-month car insurance premium in Missouri was $1,207 as of February of 2014.
Drive carefully! In Missouri, an average of one person is killed in an automobile accident every 10.7 hours.
State Car Insurance Requirements
- The mandatory minimum for bodily injury coverage per person in Missouri is $25,000.
- The mandatory minimum for bodily injury coverage per accident in Missouri is $50,000.
- The mandatory minimum for property damage coverage in Missouri is $10,000.
- Missouri also requires Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage with limits of $25,000/$50,000
Did you know?
- St. Louis hosted the World’s Fair in 1904, which is most memorable for the invention of the ice cream cone, when a desperate ice cream vendor ran out of cups and asked a waffle maker for help.
- The four largest urban areas are St. Louis, Kansas City, Springfield, and Columbia.
- Like Tennessee, Missouri border 8 separate states.
- The Gateway Arch, in St. Louis, is the world’s tallest arch.
- Major state industries include aerospace, manufacturing of transportation equipment, food processing, and beer.
Most automobile matters in Missouri, such as licensing and registration, are handled by the Department of Revenue. Their website may be found here.
New vehicle registrations are handled by Missouri’s Department of Revenue. Their website may be found here.
New residents have up to 30 days of becoming a resident to transfer their vehicle registration. Failure to do so can result in a penalty fee of up to $200.
Starting in March of 2014, Missouri requires ignition interlock devices to be installed in the vehicles of any person convicted of drunk driving. M.A.D.D. reports that, in 2012, there were 280 drunk driving fatalities, representing 34% of all traffic fatalities.
If you are convicted of drunk driving, you will face the following minimum penalties:
- up to 6 months in jail.
- fines of up to $500
- license suspension of 30 days
- Installation of an ignition interlock device.
More information can be found here.
The Bottom Line
Insurance rates are about average in Missouri. It’s not too crowded, and traffic is only a real concern in one of the four major urban areas. Still, uninsured motorist rates are higher than they should be, as are DUI rates, so it pays to be careful.
If you are new to the state, or are simply interested in paying lower auto insurance premiums, give us a call! One of our licensed professionals can review your policy, explore all possible discounts, and ensure you are paying the cheapest possible rates.
Or, if you prefer, check out one of our city pages below for local help!
We Have Your Town Covered!
Average Annual Premiums in Missouri = $1,455 | via Insure.com
Have questions about auto insurance in your state? Want a quote for car insurance?
Start with your zipcode for a fast, free quote.
OR speak to an agent:
Local Missouri agencies we can beat in price.
1312 S Noland Rd
Independence, MO 64055
5 Victory Ln Ste 102
Liberty, MO 64068
1130 Westport Rd
Kansas City, MO 64111
16012 E 23rd St
Kansas City, MO 64116