Cheap Insurance Mississippi
Driving in Mississippi
Mississippi residents have the lowest per-capita income of any state in the nation, but unfortunately this isn't reflected in the state's auto insurance premiums. Our research puts the average car insurance premium at around $100/month (for full coverage on a late-model Toyota). This has caused the rate of uninsured motorists to rise to almost 30% statewide. With an unemployment rate that has reached as high as 10% in recent years, every driver should explore every option for cheap insurance Mississippi companies can offer.
The best way to find the cheapest rates is to get as many quotes as you can before you make a decision. Also, be sure to ask about the following discounts:
- Good Driver - you are eligible if you don't have more than 1 point on your record
- Billing discounts, such as EFT (electronic funds transfers) can save you $5-$10 by having your monthly payment come directly out of your bank account or credit card.
- Mature Driver- given to drivers over 55 who have taken a state approved safety course.
Out of the 1.9 million registered drivers in the state, about 570,000 of them do not carry adequate insurance (or any). This makes purchasing uninsured motorist coverage highly recommended.
Mississippi state law requires any vehicle that spends a majority of it’s year in use, stored or garaged within state borders to carry a Mississippi motor vehicle registration.
State Car Insurance Requirements
- The mandatory minimum for bodily injury coverage per person in Mississippi is $25,000.
- The mandatory minimum for bodily injury coverage per accident in Mississippi is $50,000.
- The mandatory minimum for property damage coverage in Mississippi is $25,000.
Did you know?
- If you get thirsty while driving through Biloxi, Mississippi, stop in for a nice cold root beer. Root beer was invented Biloxi by Edward Adolf Barq, Senior in 1898.
- The state of Mississippi has the highest poverty rate in the nation with almost 21.9% of its citizens living at or below the poverty line.
Many vehicle matters are split among various departments in Mississippi. New registrations are handled by the local county Tax Collector, although renewals are handled by the State Department of Revenue. Driver licenses, moving infractions and enforcement are handled by the Department of Public Safety. The Mississippi DPS website may be found here.
New vehicle registrations are conducted at your local county Tax Collector’s office. New residents must register their vehicles within 30 days of becoming a resident.
We Have Your Town Covered!
Average Annual Premiums in Mississippi = $1,502 | via Insure.com