Cheap Insurance Florida
Driving in Florida: Statewide Stats
Be sure to search all the options for cheap insurance Florida can offer before you buy your next policy. The average 12-month auto insurance premium in Florida as of December, 2013 was $1,830. That's a $300 increase over the 2011 rates, which is due in part to claims arising from the high number of uninsured drivers.
Driving without insurance in Florida can result in a suspension of your registration or driving privileges, and a reinstatement fee of between $150 and $500, plus the cost of insurance.
Florida has one of the highest uninsured motorists rates in the country (as high as 24% according to some sources) despite its low coverage requirements in comparison to other states in the nation. According to the state's Department of Transportation, there are over 15 million registered vehicles on the road. Being the fourth most populated state in the nation, that's a lot of uninsured drivers.
State Car Insurance Requirements
- Florida state is a "no-fault," meaning that an individual's insurance company covers their losses regardless of fault.
- Florida requires a minimum of $10,000 for Personal Injury Protection.
- Florida also requires a minimum of $10,000 Property Damage Liability.
Did you know?
- When driving in Florida, watch out for hazards! There are over 30,000 lakes and more than 1,000 golf courses located in the Sunshine State.
- International trade and tourism are the two major Florida industries.
- Florida has a population of over 19 million
- The distance between Pensacola and Key West is 792 miles.
- 1,000 people move to Florida each day.
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles has authority over most auto-related matters; their website may be found here. A full list of office locations by county may be found here.
- According to the Century Council, there were a total of 44,894 DUI arrests in 2012.
- Mothers Against Drunk Driving reported 697 drunk driving fatalities, and 17,199 alcohol related crashes, for a total taxpayer subsidy of $3.6 billion.
- Florida law mandates that any driver with a DUI conviction must have an ignition interlock installed in their vehicle.
- Penalties for first-time DUI offenses include a fine between $250 and $500, 50 hours of community service, up to 1 year of probation, and a minimum license revocation of 180 days.
Florida state law requires out of state vehicles to be registered within 10 days of new residents engaging in an occupation or registering a child in a Florida school. Registration is conducted by local county tax collectors, a full listing of whom may be found here.
The Bottom Line
If you are new to Florida, or are a current resident needing to register a vehicle, you may need insurance. Call us to speak with a live agent who can help guide you through the process and ensure you are getting the lowest possible rates for your area.
We Have Your Town Covered!
Average Annual Premiums in Florida = $1,654 | via Insure.com
Have questions about auto insurance in your state? Want a quote for car insurance?
Start with your zipcode for a fast, free quote.
OR speak to an agent:
Local Florida agencies we can beat in price.
903 North Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32303
2765 W Cypress Creek Rd Ste B
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33309
800 East Cypress Creek Rd Suite 400
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334
927A N Federal Hwy
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
8600 NW 17 St Ste 170
Miami, FL 33126
P.O. Box 694120
Miami, FL 33269